10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Finely Chopped Celery, is also in the recipe at the Scandinavian festival in Oregon along with the finely chopped onion.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diane48000 August 14, 2011

I'm rating my 5 stars on the crust cause I didn't have all the stuffs for full recipe. I used potatoes, carrots, onion,garlic,and ground beef with salt pepper thyme and rosemary. These pies were excellent. Would also be good with Swedish meatballs too. They also serve those at scandy fest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
penelopiepink_12108800 April 09, 2014

Made this as I was looking for a meat and potato pie that was different. This was absolutely fabulous!! I made it as one big pie, added some peas in, with a top crust only and there were no leftovers what-so-ever!! Not too stodgy or heavy and every my finicky little one was getting stuck in. A

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlygraffin August 30, 2010

YUM! These were great! I changed a few things, instead of ground beef I used ground turkey, and I used an egg wash for the top. DEEELISH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali May 20, 2010

These are fantastic!!! We eat them very often although I add a little sourcream to the filling to make it creamier. But either way they are made They get eaten super fast in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty_brks May 15, 2010

I hunted up this recipe as a surprise for a friend who goes to the festival and loves these. They are FANTASTIC! I've made them 3 times in 2 weeks now! The first batch was made exactly according to recipe. Yum. The second we doubled and substituted lean ground turkey for the beef... Still Yum! The third batch was again doubled and we used Morningstar vegetarian sausage crumbles instead of meat and soy sour cream in the crust..they were great! The pastry is wonderful! Obviously, these will be made very often in this house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deetdee March 29, 2010

I made this and the only thing I did was to put milk on the crust to make it shine and brown nicely, which it did! My DH and I thought this pie was just perfectly spiced. We loved all the flavors together and each mouthful was better than the first! Thanks Patti!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny In Florida September 04, 2008

wowowow. I will make these often. Scaled it down to half, which was a mistake because i want 10 in the freezer :) totally understand why ppl would line up for them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 11, 2008

I'm floored. These are really, REALLY good! (And I'm one of the lemmings who stand in line every year at the Scan Fest in Junction City, waiting for what I can now make, BETTER, at home. Next time, I'll increase the seasonings, including salt & pepper, and brush top with eggwash. The horseradish sauce with sour cream & mayo was just the right touch. BLESS YOU! Thanks so much. POST SCRIPT: I *know* how weird this must sound, but I re-heated a left over meat pie, and at it with some cilantro pesto and tomato vinagrette from Sassy Chicken Wraps W/Cilantro Pesto It was SO fabulous! Kind of a Swedish/Latino fusion thing 8-) Whooda-thunk?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin July 16, 2007

These were good. I seasoned with salt and pepper, and next time I would brush top with an eggwash to make it golden. I served it with a horseradish sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 26, 2007
Swedish Meat Pies