8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was pretty good, and fairly easy as well. I underbaked my cookies by 2 minutes and they were perfectly chewy, even a week later! my only complaint is the crystallized ginger. I felt this made them too "gingery", almost soap tasting. Next time i make this recipe i will omit the crystallized ginger and only use the powdered ginger. this is just my personal preference though, everyone else who tasted the cookies thought they were the best gingersnaps ever! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollilicious! December 05, 2008

These did not puff up. They spread out and sort of melted. They didn't split on the top and were generally very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madeline B. December 20, 2014

excellent. I cut sugar in half, used whole wheat flour and still delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka November 21, 2014

OMG, these are so good. We really enjoyed this treat, they were perfection, sweet and spicy. These tasty cookies were quick and really easy to make. The end result is out of this world good. I am wishing that I would have made another batch, maybe tomorrow. Made exactly as written, I wouldn't change a thing. The cookies were crisp yet chewy. The children ate them up just as quickly as the adults did. Kudos on your wonderful recipe and for making me look like a star. Made for Sweet Dreams 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 28, 2013

The best ginger snaps EVER!!. I left them in the oven for about 15 and now I have some nice crispy ginger snaps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather August 09, 2012

These are absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great, tasty and chewy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myriam.larose February 08, 2010

This is a great little cookie! They're fairly quick to prepare and the recipe makes a lot (I ended up with 75 cookies). I've started using parchment paper as directed in this recipe for all my cookie baking and it makes clean-up a snap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 20, 2009

I made these to bring to work. News about the cookies traveled fast and people literally descended on my office, then came back with friends. I mostly made as directed, but had no cloves so subbed about 1/4t nutmeg. I didn't bother with the rolling in sugar and just made little teaspoon-sized drop cookies, yield was about 3 dozen from a half-recipe. They're like a thin, chewy gingersnap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprout 13 January 13, 2008
Swedish Ginger Cookies With Crystallized Ginger