Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swedish Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swedish Brownies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2009

      YAY Stewie! These Blondie/Brownies were tasty, tasty, tasty! I made ours with almond extract and topped them with sliced almonds. When cool, I dusted them with powdered sugar. Elegant and delicious! Thank you! UPDATE: 7-09-09 ... Although I've made these twice already as brownies, I was asked to make them again for a dinner party. Not wanting to be a "one trick pony" I doubled the recipe, baked it off in 2 9" round cake pans (30-33 minutes); split the layers and filled with seedless raspberry jam; then stacked them and iced the cake with chocolate frosting. Kinda like rainbow cookies but on a grander scale. Incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      They are addicting and I couldn't eat just one, but they weren't over-the-top delicious. However, they are so stinkin' easy to make with ingredients always on hand that this recipe is a definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      These are absolutely great. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1 tsp almond and 1 tsp vanilla extract and my daughter and I loved it. Definitely going into my recipe box!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      These are wonderful. Yes, it's very hard to eat just one. I used coconut extract (was out of almond) and frosted with a powdered sugar glaze with shredded coconut mixed it. Great recipe to have since everyone usually has all the ingredients on hand. Yummo! I'll be making these for our annual camping trip in a few weeks, they will be a hit for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      OK, these were fantastic. I have made about 8 batches in a week. Vanilla extract, Coconut extract (w/ fresh grated coconut on top), Lemon extract (in a round pan, with orange and yellow sugar around the edges, looked like the sunshine!) and Vanilla-Almond. All were great! I think I need to make some more right now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Made these tonight to see if I wanted to use it for Holiday gifts for the neighbors. My family loved this recipe. I modified the recipe by using 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract like another reviewer did. Delicious! The recipe is super easy and fast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      unbelievably amazingly delicious! I topped with old fashion caramel dressing from this recipe....I received many, many compliments.
      http://www.food.com/recipe/toasted-almond-cupcakes-with-caramel-frosting-277814

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Oh wow! These are delicious and super easy to make. Everybody loved them. This recipe is a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      My husband absolutely loved these. I found 1 tsp of almond essence a little strong for my taste. I iced with a lemon icing. Nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I love this dessert, but I have started to call the Swedish "Brownies" Swedish BLONDIES -- too many fans kept asking me why they were not brown. I was so happy to find a recipe that my husband said "matched" a dessert his Swedish grandmother used to make. Our daughter's daycare had a multicultural dinner last night, and these were a hit. I brought the rest of the tripled recipe bars to work today and now it is a hit at the office! I will be making these a lot in the future. One note . . . I used a metal 13x9 pan and cooked them 4 minutes longer, but probably should not have. They would have been fine at 35 minutes. However the 8x8 glass pan at 35 minutes was just a little underdone in the middle. I am going to try this again and see if I repeat the results. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! I just used 1 egg 'coz it's all we have and it turned out delish! I also put confectioner's sugar and chopped walnuts and my whole family just can't get enough! I'll surely be making this recipe again! Thanks, Stewie for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Great flavor. I accidently overcooked mine. Great dunked in milk or tea when overcooked ;) I doubled this for a 9x13 pan. I cooked these for suggested time of 30 minutes which was too long. I think 15 to 20 minutes and then check often after that. Kids loved them. AND SO EASY! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      In the oven as I'm writing this. Smells wonderful! I did add a pinch of salt to this and sprinkled sliced almonds on top before I put in oven. I'm sure it will come out perfect! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I call this a desperation dessert - you almost always have the ingredients on hand, and it is so easy to put together. This is a great recipe when you need to bring a last minute dessert somewhere, but don't want to do store bought. I doubled it and baked it in a 9x13, and only had to add 5 minutes to the baking time. I also sprinkled it with almonds and powdered sugar after baking. Delicious and attractive - would be lovely on a tea platter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This recipe is terrific - and using 1/2 C vanilla sugar and 1/2 C regular makes them extra special. I never seem to get 18-20 bars out of a single batch, though...when I make them, an 8x8 pan gets cut into 9 pieces and they're gone before I know it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      These turned out great! My family doesn't like almond extract, so I used vanilla extract instead. It was a great hit, so I baked some for my church, and they were a great hit there, too. Thanks so much for the recipe! ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      Great recipe! Very easy to make, and wonderful taste! You can't go wrong with these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      My Gran was from Sweden and she used to make a white brownie very near this one. I loved this recipe and so easy. I added a drop of almond oil to the batter and I sprinkled the top with slivered almonds and powdered sugar when done. Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      This is so easy, fast and delicious - a winning combination. I sprinkled sliced almonds over the top before baking and then sprinkled confectioner's sugar over it once it had cooled. Served it with whipped cream and a dollop of raspberry preserves. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      We LOVED this recipe!! I put whole raw almonds on the top, PERFECTO! And you are correct in saying that no one can eat just one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swedish Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (543 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.9
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    42%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 53.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites