47 Reviews

This was the best apple pie I have ever tasted and the easiest to make! The self made crust was so tasty!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri Lee December 04, 2002

This smells delicious while baking and tastes really good. I made it gluten free by using a rice flour mix (white rice flour & half the amount of tapioca starch, no gum) I used granny smith apples, dark brown sugar on top of the apples and white sugar in the crust, I reduced both by about half along with the butter like another reviewer on this one> Appelpaj Swedish Apple Pie. Doing that made the batter unable to be poured, but I spooned it on top and it worked out fine. I would make this again and would like to try with more butter than I did but keep the sugar at about half.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 21, 2010

This was beyond excellent! From the first taste, my hubby was hooked, and that's saying a LOT about my apple pie "connoiseur", lol! But we gobbled it up so fast, we couldn't get over how yummy it was. Hubby told me to use half brown suger and half granulated suger, which made an almost caramel-like sauce after it was baked. Yum! Will make this over and over again...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meridien March 16, 2006

I love this pie it is great! You can also make it with blueberries. For more Swedish cookie recipes I would like to recommend this site

http://kafferep.com

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malols October 16, 2012

This was so easy to make, simple and fun! Great for anyone that hesitates to make pie. I had some bowls of sliced apples with grapes given to me so that is what I used. I cut them into chunks and left the peal on the apples. Next time I think I'll mix the fruit with the sugar and cinnamon instead of just sprinkling them over the top. DH loved this so much he ate half the pie in one sitting!! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell February 15, 2012

Unfortunately, instead of following the recipe exactly I considered a couple of the reviews written about this recipe. I would not recommend cutting back the sugar (not with tart apples at least)or butter nor increasing the apples or cutting back the batter. The result will be baked apples which is disappointing as I prefer the sweetness and decadence of a pie. I may try this recipe again but will follow it rather than the reviews. Thanks Amy D.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey, Good Cookin'! January 14, 2012

This was delicious!! Have abundant apples from our tree so will be making lots more of this. Love the cinnamon. Followed the directions exactly, using egg substitute equivalent to one egg. Hubbie kept raving as he was eating!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckorkow September 25, 2007

This is excellent, it was fast, easy and delicious. I made it almost exactly as written except I mixed the 1/4c. of sugar and the 3 t. of cinnamon together then mixed it into the apples with about 1 t. lemon juice. I also added about 1 t. vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg to the batter and baked it in a springfoam and pan and it was perfect. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria October 30, 2005

Absolutely delicious. I had 2 people tell me that it was the best apple pie they ever ate. I also had to give the recipe to 2 other people. I thought that I would try it because it sounded so easy to make, and it was. Easy and delicious, you can't beat that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Winnie August 21, 2012

Absolutely delicious, easy and inexpensive to make. Family loved it and I will save this one in my personal favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rochellekim January 02, 2012
Swedish Apple Pie