31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this today and it was great! First off, mine looked nothing like any of the pictures posted here...my fault! I used 5 granny apples (too many) didn't drain it long enough (too runny) and the pie shell wasn't nearly large enough. My crumbs came out as melted butter (kitchen too warm). Other than that, it cooked up with just a little jiggle in the middle but it was killer!! Can't wait to make it the proper way next time LOL Thanks Leslie for a yummy pie recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter November 01, 2009

Great recipe!!! I tweaked it a bit, I peeled, cored, sliced and baked the apples with some water and cinnamon instead of boiling since boiling would cook off the nutrients. So since I didn't drain the water off I doubled the regular flour to 4 tbs and added 2 tbs whole wheat flour. Now since everyone had issues with the topping I did my own. 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 2tbs butter and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also made a icing to go on top of the crumb topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmoni October 06, 2010

This turned out great. My mother was in heaven!! Last time I made it I did NOT boil the apples, it wasn't as good. I could have maybe boiled them another 1 or 2 minutes, but my family likes their apples a little crunchy in their pies (I don't). The texture is a wonderful creaminess, and lovely. The REAL vanilla really set off the apple perfectly! OH, I also cut the sugar down to only 1/2 cup, because last time I used what the recipe called for and it was too sweet. My only complaint was that my topping wasn't like a struesel like I expect. I will try cutting the butter down for the top next time. I used a shortbread crust: 1 1/4 cup flour 1/4 cup powdered sugar 1/4 cup butter 1/4 cup shortening Mix dry, cut in butter and shortening, press into pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz December 01, 2008

Very very good. The only issue I had was that I found the flavour of vanilla was a little too strong for our tastes, will halve it next time and will be making this pie for years to come. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprinkledpink January 08, 2008

great pie followed your recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poobar7893 November 30, 2007

This was really good. I didn't bother with a crust and we didn't miss it any. Will make again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec October 31, 2007

I was hesitant to try this recipe because my husband and kids hate sour cream. I made a traditional apple pie and then changed my mind. After all, I LOVE sour cream, so I decided to do your version. I blended one egg and the sour cream and poured it over the pie filling. Then, I sprinkled the topping over it, with the addition of one packet of french vanilla instant oatmeal (at the suggestion of another reviewer-for the added crunch). I baked the whole thing for 40 mins. It ended up being SUPERB! If I must say so myself, I make great pie, but this was probably the best pie I have EVER made. The sour cream layer sits on top and tastes like an italian cheesecake. The crumb topping is crunchy and super sweet. The apple pie layer is like traditional comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thursday Next October 02, 2007

A really nice new apple pie version. I used fromage blanc instead of the sour cream and it seemed to work fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose September 13, 2007

Smelled good but I can,t cut or taste it as I,m taking it to a church supper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie July 09, 2007

This was just wonderful. Loved the texture in the middle and the crunch of the crust is awesome. Dave loved it and so did I. Thanks Leslie for a real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 04, 2007
Swedish Apple Pie