Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Suzy Q Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Suzy Q Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      This is a good recipie - tastes great - yet not too sweet.<br/>I beat the crisco and sugars together for a LONG time in the Kitchenaid, then when I combined the sugar/crisco mixture with the flour/milk mixture I again let it mix for a Long time (probably 10 min) in the Kitchenaid. I think that helped a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Great recipe... I made this tonight for my mother in laws birthday tomorrow.. suzie q's are her most favorite snack cake and when I found this recipe I knew this was definitely for her..I did have an issue with making the filling.. only because I goofed the instructions,,, so I dumped it and retried and the second time it came out pretty good.. I don't know if I did something wrong but the texture was kinda lumpy and not like whipped cream.. but I tasted it and it was delish so I filled the cake anyway.. I figure a night in the fridge may help set up the filling just right,, thank you so much for sharing as I know my MIL will love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      The filling for this is the PERFECT "Suzy Q" filling. It is very similar to my aunts "mock cream frosting". I opted to make my own chocolate cake from scratch, but used this filling recipe. Suzy Q's don't have a typical butter/powdered sugar filling, this is the fluffy/rich filling it needs! Reg shortening is recommended, as butter flavored shortening and/or butter/margarine changes the taste; good, but not Suzy-Q-like, IMHO. Next time I am going to try it using coconut oil (not fractionated) instead of the shortening. Thanks so much for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      super delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      ididn't like the frosting either. Opted for a marshmallow fluff frosting instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      The cake for this was great but that depends on your cake mix I guess. I used a Betty Crocker Devil's Food cake mix. The frosting, however, was very gross! Even using 1/2 crisco and 1/2 margarine didn't help. I think the milk/flour mixture I cooked was the problem. Maybe using cake flour would be better? I don't know, all I know is that I used to eat Suzy Q's by the dozen and this in no way tastes like that filling. Try this recipe before you serve it to anyone else to make sure it will turn out the way it has for others. I will keep looking for a recipe that copies the original Suzy Q since the new recipe Hostess uses is awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      We LOVED this cake!!! Easy, & yummy....I used half Smart Balance in the filling & it was really good. I also put a chocolate glaze on top, and it was fantastic. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I thought this sounded fun...I grew up going to the hostess store and thought Suzy Q's were pretty cool as my sisters name is Susan and we always called her Suzy Q. I digress! Great recipe Parsley. I did use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 margarine and it did not taste like shortening at all. I did make the cake into 2 rounds instead and put most of the filling in the center. The kids thought it looked like a giant Oreo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      This tasted good, but the filling combo was exactly what you'd expect when using lots of shortening/sugar. Not exactly light & fluffy--more like sweet lard. If you're truly expecting a Hostess type filling, this is not it. We were a little disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      I made this cake for my daughter's birthday yesterday, and It was a hit!!! Also VERY easy, which is important to me because I'm baking-impaired. Everyone LOVED the filling. I had 12 people for dinner, so I made two 13x9" cakes. I didn't split the layers, just frosted the first one, then put the second one on top and frosted that one. IAteMyGluestick kept sneaking licks every chance she got. DH just took a bunch of it to work with him today for his co-workers. Just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Suzy Q Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.1
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    57%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 258.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 20.6 g
    82%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites