Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Suzanne's Caramel Oatmeal Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Suzanne's Caramel Oatmeal Bars

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2007

      These deserve more than 5 stars. My family loves these. Even my pickiest who has no trouble turning his nose up at other desserts loved these. I used #39562 for the evaporated milk and it was fine. Also I need to use 3/4 of the oatmeal mixture to cover the bottom of the pan. The rest I crumble over the top. It still manages to cover most of the top. It also lets the caramel and some chocolate chips show, which makes it very tempting for those who foolishly try to resist this dessert. I just need to remember to keep the caramel sauce away from the very edge of the pan so the squares are easier to get out of the pan. But that probably won't happen because my desire to have caramel on every little crumb is stronger than that teeny, tiny little problem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      5 stars plus more!! I have made many other caramel bar recipes that use the caramel ice cream topping instead of the real caramels and this one is way better. I love the fact that I can actually taste the caramel. The other recipes are good, but I couldn't taste the caramel in them. And I was never really happy with the outcome. This one baked up great and the caramel was soft. I baked the crust for 10 mins added the chips, caramel and topping and baked for 15 additional mins. Before I baked it I pressed down the topping so it would not be as crumbly when we ate them. I did double the oatmeal crust part but kept the caramels to the original amount and still baked it in the 9x13 pan. I will use this recipe as my #1 caramel oatmeal bar recipe. It was fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      These are FANTASTIC!!!! By far the winner on my holiday cookie tray. I had to make 2 pans of them b/c the first pan was gone in a hurry and I didn't have enough to put on the other trays! I made them in a 9x13 pan and they were perfect. Not too thick and not too thin. I sprayed the baking dish with cooking spray on the second pan b/c the first one stuck a bit on the sides. I tossed in a couple extra caramels too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I made my own vegan caramel and used shortening in the oatmeal base to make these dairy-free, and they turned out great!! I have been making these for a few years and was afraid I wouldn't be able to make these again this year since I developed my allergy, but they work wonderfully with shortening. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Had to add some pecans and these were wonderful! Gone in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Wonderful! I used the "Perfect Brownie" pan for this recipe, which is quite a bit smaller than a 9x13, perfect for the recipe! I cut the caramels back to 25, but followed everything else to the letter and it turned out great! Taking them to my son's school for after the play. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Mmmmm, these were so rich! I followed the advice of a few other reviewers and made them a bit thicker. I doubled the oatmeal mixture, but left the caramel and chocolate amounts the same. It baked for about 18 minutes for the first part and around 25 minutes for the second part. These were a hit and I will be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These remind me of bars my mom made when I was a child. They are heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Very sweet and sooooo rich.You have to be careful not to eat too many at one time!These will be a real crowd pleasing dessert.You have to try these, simple to make and a sure hit with everyone.Thankyou for this recipe post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Sweet tooth cravings no more after indulging in a couple of these. My DH ate half the pan! So delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

    • on March 16, 2009

      Fantastic! I made them in an 8 by 8 square pan so they were thicker. Really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      These are rich and addicting! We ate them up and enjoyed every last one too! I added in nuts with the oatmeal mixture because everyone here loves their nuts, especially on something like this. Yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Awesome! We loved, loved these. I made them to share with friends & they almost never made it. We really had to use self control. I had some caramels that were getting a bit hard. This was the perfect thing to do with them. I will keep this one close. Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      These were pretty good, and very addicting! They weren't very caramel-y considering all the time I spent unwrapping those little caramels! I would definitely make these again. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      These bars were swiftly devoured from our Christmas dessert table. They are yummy, and I mean yummy! I added 1 c. finely chopped nuts too. We love nuts in everything! We will have these again and again, due to sweet tooths galore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These are addicting to say the least and I plan to make them again this weekend for Christmas day at my sisters house. The kids are going to love these and I can't wait to serve them! I added finely chopped walnuts in with the oatmeal mixture and I really loved them with the nuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I made these to take to a Christmas get-together and they were a big hit! I did make extra oatmeal mixture as other reviewers suggested (I simply added an additional 1/4 c of flour and oat; didn't increase anything else) and I used an 11x7 pan so they were a little thicker, although the yield dropped to 20. They were a bit too sweet for me but everyone else raved about them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Very, very good. I made more of the oatmeal mixture because it didn't look like there would be enough. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I am glad you have posted this. I used to cook them 15 years ago and misplaced my recipe. Now I have it again. These are delicious and I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Suzanne's Caramel Oatmeal Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.7
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    44%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 17.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 141.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 23.1 g
    92%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes