Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Suss-Saures Rotkraut (Sweet-And-Sour Red Cabbage) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Suss-Saures Rotkraut (Sweet-And-Sour Red Cabbage)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2003

      This is a Delicious Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage, I cut the Recipe in half, worked great,added a little lemon zest, other than that i followed the recipe. Great flavor. Will be making it again as we like it much better than the canned Sweet and sour red cabbage.I am wondering just how well it would can or freeze. Great recipe Mini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      this was very good with a nice sweet/tart flavor. i used a regular onion, and white wine. i also used 2 applesand white wine vinegar. it tastes good cold too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Delicious! I made a half recipe, substituting white wine for red, just because we didn't have any red. Used balsamic vinegar, which worked will in the sweet/sour. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Probably the best Rotkraut I've ever made. I served it with Rouladen for a family dinner with 12 guests. Even ones who 'didnt like cabbage' loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I really loved this recipe because it wasn't as "vinegary" as other recipes of red cabbage I have made in the past. It had a wonderful subtle flavor and I really enjoyed it. I used only the first amount of butter and did not mix any in at the end. I only used two apples and 2 TBS of splenda brown for the sugar. My husband is diabetic and I thought these changes would make it more low carb. I used red wine vinegar for the vinegar. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Was looking for something to serve with Suss-Saures Rotkraut (Sweet-And-Sour Red Cabbage) and found this. I can remember loving sweet n sour cabbage in Germany but never knew how to make it. So glad I found this. I didn't have any apples at the time, but did add a little apple cider to it - then followed the recipe as directed and it was wonderful. Used a very nice Washington Red wine (then finished it off with dinner) and it worked well. The flavor was right on in my book, just enough of both the sweet AND sour without to much of either. Served with Quick Sauerbraten This is going to be a favorite for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      OMG this was wonderful! Great recipe that went great with our roasted chicken. Easy to make and I used red wine and red wine vinegar. Thanks for posting. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Made this for an Octoberfest party and everyone loved it. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Easy to follow and smells so good while it's simmering! I added a little extra apple cider vinegar to it at the end, and the taste was wonderful! Going to be making this again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Perfect . . . well, once I remember to put in the lemon juice at the end! Thanks for sharing Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      this is a wonderful dish and actually improves when reheated a few times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Suss-Saures Rotkraut (Sweet-And-Sour Red Cabbage)

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.9
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    43%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 183.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites