Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sushi Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sushi Rice

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2009

      Perfect! This was so easy....who knew? I made sushi last night and this rice worked so good. I was nervous about making them but with this recipe, everything is so clear in the instructions that you can't screw it up. Thank you for helping me with my all time favorite food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Perfect sticky rice. Just like the restaurants. I especially appreciated the directions for cooking - gradually reducing the temperature. This will save us a truck-load of money, eating good sushi at home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      super simple, super to work with, and tastes exactly like it should!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I've always made sushi rice after a different recipe, but from now on I'll use yours. I needed a little extra vinegar, but I was happy otherwise, especially that it passed DD's taste buds. Nori is not available here so I made it with smoked salmon and cucumbers. She actually asked that next time I make it without the salmon, so she'll just have the rice. Coming from a picky eater and a small one too, that's a BIG compliment. I made a bottle of the sushi vinegar sitting in the fridge. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Sushi rice made easy. Worked perfectly the first time. I was lazy though and used a prepared sushi rice seasoning from Chinatown (comes in powder) and ended up a bit overseasoned. Next time I'll go with your seasoning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Thank you! I have been trying to find a recipe that really breaks it down step by step. You made it so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I made spicy tuna sushi tonight with this recipe and it turned out great! Thanks for helping me make an easy and delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Great recipe, and it tastes just like at the sushi restaurant! I'm late in rating this - we love sushi and used the recipe twice in two weeks already. (Tip: Have a bowl of lightly sugared water at hand when working with the rice to keep your hands/utensils moist to keep the rice from sticking to your hands/utensils.) This is a keeper, thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      this is a good recipe! i used to make mine similar but i didn't know the towel trick, i'll definitely try that next time! oh, and an empirical tip, if you can't find sushi rice (i couldn't), you can use risotto rice, i don't know if it's the same stuff or what but it worked and it tasted right to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Good, easy, and less time consuming than some recipes I've tried. I used to use regular white rice to make sushi, but this time I used actual sushi rice and it made quite a difference. Combine that with this recipe and it was definitely my best attempt at sushi thus far. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      very nice and it looks like restaurant i realy like it thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Thanks for the receipe, my sushi comes pretty close to the ones sold in the restaurants.....thanks once again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      My japanese host mom says this is the best way to prepare rice! It works well with brown sushi rice as well, if you are trying to up your whole grain consumption. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Hmmm im not too sure what to say about this.......The top layer of rice was great but the bottom layer just burnt and got crusty! I dont understand what I did wrongly, but thank you for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      This is a very good recipe that anyone should try it. Thanks a lot for sharing. Please share more your great recipes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      This was my first attempt at sushi and I was quite pleased with the results. Since I used Basmati rice (not ideal!) another 1/4 c. of water may have helped it stick to the seaweed better. I look forward to trying again with sweeter Japanese rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Wonderful! My sister-in-law's mother is from Japan and makes California rolls for every get-together. This recipe is the best I've found to imitate hers! Thanks, gingerkittenD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      This worked perfectly! I actually used organic brown sushi rice rather than white, but it still came out just right. I didn't make your seasoned vinegar as I already had some on-hand. Perfect times and measurements for the rice, though! I will come back to this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      GK...this rice was so easy to make and worked perfectly for my sushi, tasted great too, not too vinegary where it interefered w/the flavors from the other ingredients in the sushi. I will be using this whenever I make sushi again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      This rice came out perfectly, best we've had, and easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sushi Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 627.2
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    21%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6981.9 mg
    290%
    Total Carbohydrate 141.0 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes