Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sushi Layers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sushi Layers

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2003

      My oh my! I haven't made sushi in a while but this is awesome! I omitted the red pepper and added avacodo. I also used the sherry (as optioned in ingredients). I also boiled my own shrimp with seasonings and chopped them. I will definitely make this for our next party! Presented nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This is the most fantastic recipes for sushi, I have ever eaten. And the easy part is the layers, no rolling. Served it to my visiting son, who said it was good, then went downstairs and told his wife it was the best sushi he had ever eaten. She told me! So far everyone who has tried it at our house, calls to request it for their next visit. This is not a recipe to be afraid to make. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      It was fun to make and looked terrific; unfortunately no one ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I love sushi and thought the layers idea was worth trying. I used mirin rather than sherry and didn't use the capers. Considering other reviews re the difficulty of cutting decided to put an extra layer of nori. I used a good serrated edged knife and didn't find it any more difficult to cut than sushi rolls. I must admit the rice wasn't as good as I have tried previously and feel maybe next time I will use a little more rice vinegar. Love the idea of the stacks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I love making sushi!!! I think I was japanese in my other life!! Loved the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I was so excited to make this for our gaming group as most everyone (myself excluded) loves sushi. It turned out stunning looking - lots of "Ohhs" and "Ahhs" when I pulled it out. Unfortunately, no one cared for the taste. :( I was so disappointed, I ended up throwing the majority of it away. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used my steamer to make the rice. It took a lot of time to make, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time to make this recipe. Also, the cutting was time consuming. Based on another review, I anticipated some trouble cutting this, so I used a steel and sharpened my 8" chefs knife immediately before cutting and it worked great. Make sure your knife is sharp, and dip it in a bowl of water before each cut. After each cut, wipe it down well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      I halved the recipe as it's just 3 of us at home since my oldest left for college. I left off the capers as my neighbor who I was to borrow some from wasn't home :-( - and I subed avacado for the red pepper and carrots. Other than that, it's was pretty much as directed. I found the MOST difficult part was cutting this. After the 2 hours resting in the fridge, I turned it over onto the cutting board and unpeeled the plastic. I wet the knife as suggested and when it got to the nori layer, really resisted going thru. I had to use gentle sawing motion to get it to cut - which was shifting the cucumber layer and making things fall apart. It was a big challenge to get the cubes cut. I would suggest that other chefs make sure they have a very, very sharp knife as I think this would have helped me. It did taste really great though. My dh ad I didn't like the lemon on top so we took that off - but the taste was authentic sushi. We used some wasabi paste and soy to dip. It was a fun appetizer tonight. Thanks for the adventure! Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      gorgeous, easy, delicious!! Everyone loved it and was so clever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I love sushi, but have never made it before. This turned out great. Even guests that claimed to not like sushi loved this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Brought this to a potluck and it was a SMASH HIT! We set out wasabi and soy sauce on the side. We ended up making it without fish because it was for a potluck but added avocado. (which is almost always in season in Israel) All-in-all a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      Very good! I had never made sushi before so thought that this would be interesting to try - and it was easy but time consuming (to be expected with sushi). You're directions were helpful and guided me through step-by-step. The flavors were good but there was something missing. I'm going to try this again and maybe sprinkle some toasted sesame seeds in it or try the avocado or flavor my shrimp as suggested by the other reviewer. The presentation was lovely cut in cubes on a tray. A shame the guests couldn't see it before I cut it. The inverted rectangle was gorgeous with the lemon circles, pink salmon and caper dots! Thanks for something new to play with and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sushi Layers

    Serving Size: 1 (2539 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    88%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 64.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    nori

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites