13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so fun to make with my 7 year old! He did all of it himself and I iced them. I thought these were really good...just didn't care for the wafer texture at the bottom, but I ate around it easy enough...I will keep this recipe and make again for sure. UPDATE**** 1 week later and I am still eating on this cupcakes...still delicious, vanilla wafer softened up and can't tell a difference from the cake at this point. LOVE THEM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug April 12, 2010

I made these for Easter and they were very good. I used this recipe because it was fast and easy to make, and for that it gets 5 stars. Next time, if I have more time to spare, I would make a cake from scratch and put the chocolate inside. I loved finding that treat in the middle! Thanks for a great and quick recipe, Aunt Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whisper April 11, 2012

I made these for Easter and thought they would go over better then they did. Only four of them got eaten. I did use white cake and didn't add the wafer. I made pink, green and yellow icing and they looked great. I ate one after we got home and I thought they were OK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 24, 2011

Very cool idea and a hit with kids! I found the cup cakes to be dry (I dont usually bake using mix) so perhaps next time I will make the cup cakes from scratch instead of a mix. I wasn't sure which vanilla wafers to use (I am located in Canada and couldn't find these cookies). Instead I used crumbled up vanilla wafer sticks which worked well. The chocolate did not spill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini April 22, 2009

I made these with the reduced sugar chocolate cake mix and the reduced sugar chocolate fudge frosting. I use the Reese's peanut butter eggs and they are truly decadent and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 10, 2009

What a great idea!! Nice and tasty surprise inside!!! Bought some Butterfinger eggs after Easter sale, 75% off, love that, and put those in there, everyone loved them ! Thanks for the new twist on old recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle March 30, 2008

The young people at Easter Brunch were surprised by the chocolate inside. They seemed to really enjoy them-anyway all were left for later so the kids could enjoy, except three. One was for me and two for my sweet-tooth husband. We thought they were pretty good. To think when my kids were growing up cupcakes were made from scratch. These are easy using a box recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pha March 25, 2008

I made these for Easeter this year and they were a hugh hit!! Everyone loved them and have been asking for 2 days now if I will make more. Only 'bummer' is the chocolates are hard the next day. But we LOVE them!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandee #1 March 25, 2008

My 5 year old son and I made these together the other day. He helped put the papers, cookie and chocolate eggs in. They tasted great the first day while the chocolate was still gooey. The second day they were hardened. I enjoyed having my son help me the most! Thanks for the kid friendly recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knobbyknee April 07, 2007

My daughters made this by themselves. They used Hershey's kisses. The result was delicious. The Kisses did not stay "gooey", but the result was still great! Thank you for an easy and super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of Five April 02, 2005
Surprise Easter Cupcakes