11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks so much....kids loved them...they said they were kind of like homemade Ding Dongs...they are good and super easy to make!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glory to God! August 20, 2010

The recipe didn't say to put chocolate cake mix on top of the cream cheese filling but the photo looked like you could do that. I liked that better...thus the "surprise" cupcakes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rifka April 27, 2009

Yummy & impressive!! I made for a co-worker's birthday & everyone enjoyed them. I used mini chocolate chips as suggested by another reviewer & devil's food cake mix, as a personal preference (the chocolatier, the better!!). I did pipe on some swirls of chocolate buttercream since it was a special occasion! These are so quick & easy, I'm sure I'll be making them a lot. And, surprisingly, I did get a lot of questions about how I got the filling in the middle!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 25, 2009

I used devils food cake mix and got 24 cupcakes. I put a heaping teaspoon of the filling in (as it says) and another dollop of cake mix over. I have enough of the filling left to make another batch of 24 (just need to buy another box). I also used mini chocolate chips but only 12 oz as that is the size of the standard bag. Quick and easy - I just wish the filling recipe didn't make so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA January 21, 2012

I added lotsa red food colouring to the cream cheese mix for a Spooky "Bloody" surprise for Halloween cupcakes! Thanks for the great idea...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmy's Mum October 31, 2009

I was really dissapointed overall with this recipe...sounds good and ofcourse boxed cake mix turned out fine but the filling was not impressive/made way too much so a lot of waste and the cupcakes were ok day one by day two they were lack luster...my kids will eat chocolate in any format so they didn't go to waste but I'll be looking for a better alternative next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carriejane5 September 17, 2012

This is a good recipe to use if you are short on time (or simply not in the mood to make something too complicated or fully from scratch). They look like they take alot of skill to make. You'll get lots of questions from people about how you got the cream filling to turn out so well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicoleangelle October 13, 2008

My mom use to make these years ago and pretty much like your recipe, using the box mix. She used devils food cake so that's what I chose. I love that you don't have to frost these. It's really not necessary with the cream cheese mixture being nice and sweet. I made them for a dessert for Superbowl Sunday (today), but ate one for breakfast as a muffin this morning. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am February 03, 2008

I made some like with a friend as a kid. we used mini chocolate chips, but I can't find them anymore. My husband Loves them, his favorite cupcake thus far!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachel.waugh July 30, 2007

What a great and simple recipe! I have done something similar with the cream cheese, sugar and egg mix in brownies but never thought to add chips or do this with cupcakes. They turned out very nice and were a big hit at work & home. Ghirardelli chips were on sale so I not only used them in the mix but topped each cupcake with one on top of the white frosting. They were cute and delicious! Thanks for the "suprise"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLou February 05, 2007
Surprise Cupcakes