Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Surfer Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Surfer Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      Dee, these are so sinful! I made them for the Pick a Chef thread. My husband and I pigged out on them! We couldn't even wait for them to cool completely, which was ok, they're nice and gooey that way. Very easy to make, quick to cook, there isn't anything bad about these. Except not being able to stop eating them! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      These are outstanding. I double the recipe in a 9 X 13 pan. Increased baking time about 5 minutes. These also freeze well and can be made ahead of time and thawed to serve. Really easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      These were really good and I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 pan. Next time I am going to use only half the amount of both butterscotch and chocolate chips as I found it a bit too sweet. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      These are super yummy and goey! I made a double batch in a 9X11 pan. I baked them for about 23 minutes and was not sure how to tell if they were done. They smelled like they were done :-). I was afraid to cook them longer for fear that they might get too done. The center is quite gooey. Might have benefited with a few more minutes in the oven. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Awesome! Made these for a group of highschool basketball boys and they heartily approved! Definately a easy bar to make and delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      These are to die for. I used white chocolate chips instead of butterscotch, since they were all I had on hand, and the result is incredible. so insanely rich, perfectly gooey, fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

    • on February 26, 2009

      This looked like a recipe that would travel well, so I made it for a birthday gift and sent it (today) from HI to CA. I brought the extra bars into the office and got mixed reviews; some thought they were way too sweet, most thought they were very tasty! I used Pecans and also sprinkled some on top, hoping to cut some of the sweetness. Quick and easy to prepare and definitely worthy of gift-giving! Mahalo for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      My family loved these bars. Deliciously rich, tastes like caramel and chocolate. definitely different than any bars I have had before. I will be bringing these to the next pot luck at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Came across this recipe years ago in an old cookbook my sister-in-law gave me. Lost the recipe but delighted to come across it now. These are sinfully rich and so good I could eat the pan of squares in one sitting. Dangerous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Bar cookie heaven. Sheer bliss. I've made these twice just because I hogged the first batch and left my husband and daughter with crumbs. Definitely lean toward a 20 minute cooking time. 25 minutes left mine a bit too brown and crusty on top. Also, melting the butter, butterscotch chips and brown sugar in the microwave somehow changed the texture so I had a darker mixture and big gaps in my final product. Weird. This is easy, and I will make it way too often for my own good. Thanks, I think!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      These are just evil little things! Evil I tell you! Stay away from them or at least make a few for me! Very good, very rich and came out perfectly every time. Great recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      How could anything so easy to make look and taste so good! This is definitely both sinfully rich and addictive. Made no changes to the recipe. Not only am I adding this one to my 'Holiday Baking' collection I will be adding this to next weeks pot luck dainty tray! Thank you for this excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      OH, MY HEAVENS!!! These are YUMMY!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but I omitted the nuts. Soooo good warm out of the oven. I refrigerated the leftovers, and although they are good cold, if you nuke them in the microwave for a couple seconds, they become DIVINE!!! Thanks so much for posting! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

    • on January 24, 2005

      Holy cow, Dee514, these are fabulous. A tasty treat that's like a cross between a cookie and brownie. I decided to leave out the chocolate chips because it seemd like they'd be rich enough without them (they were). I was about 1 oz short on butterscotch chips, so I used semi-sweet chocolate chips to make up the difference. My 8" square pan was in use, so I baked these in a 9" springform pan and got 12 wedges. The only bummer about this recipe? They're already half gone. Yum. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      Made these from my DS’s Boy Scout Court Of Honor ceremony & picnic this past weekend. Our local Kiwanis Club, which sponsors my DS’s troop, provided a wonderful BBQ dinner and the Troop Mom’s were to bring dessert. These were a hit along with Garden Club #51387 (by HeatherFeather) & Jean Bars #71286 (by ~colorboyswife~). Not a one was left on the tray at then end of the picnic! Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      Dee you are evil for posting this recipe!! LOL! You're right, these are very addictive, 3 people managed to eat a whole pan in one day. The only bad thing about this is that it is so easy to make!! Will have to make these again soon! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      I'm gonna make these for my best friends sweet 16th bday...I can't wait to write back what she thinks of 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      This recipe is one of the best desserts I have ever made. They are so easy to whip up and such a great treat. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Surfer Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.2
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    52%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 284.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites