Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2002

      This is probably the best mashed potato I've ever had. It was so creamy and flavorful. Instead of using milk and butter, I substituted w/chicken broth and cream of chicken respectively. I may add a little more garlic next time for a little extra kick. Thank you :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      I made this to accompany Virginia Chandler's Salisbury steak with mushroom and onion gravy. Extremly tasty. I boiled cubed potatoes in low sodium chicken broth, just enough broth such that all potatoes are submerged in liquid. I left out the butter. As I mashed the cooked potatoes, I added parsley flake, the heat really unleash the aroma. I added sour cream as directed but like diamonds4heather, I omitted the milk. This is a must try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      Excellent! I confess I make garlic mashed often, but I have never before used that much butter, nor have I ever added sour cream. These potatoes turned out rich and creamy and were absolutely delicious. Very easy to make; no different than regular mashed except for peeling a few garlic cloves. I don't know if I will always use that much butter unless it's a "company dinner", but I will now regularly use sour cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      I really enjoyed the flavor that boiling the garlic along with the potatoes gave the recipe. I did not use any butter or milk, but non-fat chicken broth instead. i think the broth gives an excellent flavor without adding much fat or calories ( I also used nonfat sour cream, no one could tell). i think the sour cream gives a lovely texture to this dish; very creamy and smooth. Thanks for posting, it went perfectly with my chicken dish and green beans last night! I will be serving this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      JoAnn, The name says it all! These were Super Supreme! I made exactly as directed however, I didn't have whole galic cloves so I added 1 1/2 tsp. minced garlic from a jar when mashing. The flavor could not have been better! No gravy needed on these potatoes! Thank you for an excellent recipe, JoAnn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      We loved this potato dish. I served it with a crockpot whole chicken recipe and chicken gravy. Real comfort food. Great flavours, first time Ive used whole garlic cloves in with the potatoes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Just updating my review from a few years back. These are my go-to mashed potatoes for entertaining and holidays. I get so many compliments and they work fabulously when done a day ahead. It makes holiday meal prep so much easier!
      ======WOW! These were a big hit at my Canadian Thanksgiving party back in October. I logged on again to print off the recipe for Christmas. I left the recipe as is, but just adjusted the amount of sour cream and didn't put in as much milk. Very tasty - I also steamed the potatoes and garlic instead of boiling. Very smooth, creamy and YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      These are fantastic garlic potatoes... I will be using these again and again! :) Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I had fresh minced garlic that needed to be used up so I put that in with the potatoes after draining them. I used a quarter of a cup of butter when I made them. I was amking them for dinner the following night, so I added the rest of the butter when reheating so they wouldn't dry out. I also admidt that I forgot to add the parsley and paprika. Ooops! I won't forget next time because we WILL be making them again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Good, easy recipe. I make it just as suggested, but add a few extra garlic cloves. I only think that it's a little bland, but a good basic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      These were great! The garlic flavor was not overpowering. I used about 3/4 cup butter, no milk and less than 1/2 cup sour cream. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on 4 of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      These were the best garlic mashed potatoes we've ever had! I made them on Easter and after everyone had seconds of everything else, they had thirds of these potatoes! They were super easy to make and I didn't even have to add any milk. I used fat-free sour cream and they were just right! Thanks for sharing! These will definitely be a regular in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

    • on January 03, 2012

      Easy. Delicious. Satisfying! thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      These potatoes were the perfect addition to our Valentine's meal! They were so rich and creamy - perfect with our prime rib! I did use skim milk, reduced fat sour cream and light butter, but you couldn't even tell! Thanks for the great recipe, JoAnn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Great potatoes. Loved them with our Thanksgiving meal. I always put my potatoes through a ricer to make them smooth. The added ingred. made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      My husband and I made this mashed potatoes just right now and it is hands-down, the best mashed potatoes we both have ever tasted! We used 8 Yukon Gold Potatoes with .50 to .75 cup of Smart Balance buttery spread and .25 to .33 cup of Smart Balance sour cream for a healthier touch.We are garlic lovers, so we put about 7-8 cloves of garlic. It is so rich and flavorful I just want to eat the whole darn thing! Thanks so much JoAnne for answering my questions and for publishing this AMAZING recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      WOW! I can't even tell you how many mashed potato recipes I've tried. I have now thrown them all out. This is a GREAT recipe - very easy to make and the best mashed potatoes I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Awesome! Loved the method of boiling the taters and garlic- much easier and less messy than roasting the garlic and you still get the wonderful garlic flavor. Thanks Joann!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      My mashed potatoes were always bland and I hated serving them. Now I never have to worry about taste or consistency anymore. These are fabulous!!!! The only thing I can think that would make them better would be cheese!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (394 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.0
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    51%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 78.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 252.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes