23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have started sifting this twice. Once when the ingredients go into the bowl and then again after everything is combined. Makes it really smooth and pretty. I also dump out all of the hard junk that won't sift through. Originally, I had seen this recipe on the Hillbilly Housewife website; so I was very happy to see it here with reviews. The only differences were that her recipe called for 1 1/2 - 2 cups sugar and didn't specify the chocolate fudge flavored pudding. This version is really good! I plan on giving this for Christmas gifts this year!! Rebecca, thank you for a SUPER recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose December 16, 2007

Yumyumyumyum . . . We used a box of chocolate pudding that had little green mint chips in it, so I didn't actually sift this. Instead I brought a pot of water (4 c.) almost to a boil then added the mix (2 c.) in stages, whisking constantly to make sure everything dissolved. Perfect minty cocoa! Thank you for posting, the pudding really does make a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout December 03, 2007

This is by far the best hot cocoa I've ever tasted! My kids just love it too! It makes a huge batch and ends up being cheaper than buying the same quantity in the ready-made varieties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace @ Rose Cottage Lane October 26, 2007

This is one of the best cocoa mix recipes I have tried so far. (Most I have't been able to stand finishing one cup!) However it was a little sweet for me. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The differences I had were: when I measured the dry milk I had only about 3 1/2 c, I used a vanilla flavored coffee creamer and a reg. chocolate pudding mix (what I had on hand). I don't know if not having enough dry milk or using the vanilla coffee creamer contributed to the over sweetness? I don't have a sifter (mine broke) so I just used the back of a fork to smash any cocoa clumps and mix it well. It seemed to do a good job. I like this mix enough that I'll use the rest of it. I will add the missing 1/2 c dry milk and maby try using less mix per water to see if it cuts the sweetness down some. If I make the mix again I'll try cutting back on the sugar to see if that helps and maby try using a vanilla pudding mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne October 18, 2007

This is an excellent hot cocoa mix. I think the fudge pudding mix makes all the difference. It is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathambre August 07, 2007

This is a very good recipe! Easy to make, too. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra December 15, 2006

I made 4 batches of this for gifts. Of course, I tried it myself - i was thrilled with how creamy and delicious it is. Way better than any storebought mixes I've tried. I need to make some for myself now - this is a terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer December 13, 2006

Excellent Recipe, it has a nice thick consistency to it, which I love. I added about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to really make it yummy and toppped it with whipped cream! I have to agree, this is the best Homemade cocoa mix I have tried! I love the taste of vanilla, so I may try a french vanilla pudding next time. For a adult cocoa, try putting in a ounce of Cherry Brandy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan December 01, 2006

I absolutely love this recipe. We have been drinking cocoa every night and this is the recipe that I have made. I also made it as gifts for our teachers at school. It is the perfect balance of chocolate and creaminess. I can't say enough about it! Thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momadvice November 11, 2006

Thanks for this recipe. I'm using it for the Secret Santa exchange at my daughters school. It should be a big hit with the kids. I'm putting into the cones and topping it with crushed peppermints. Thanks for sharring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lscharles1 November 26, 2005
Supreme Cocoa Mix