13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great,very easy to do,good to make when you are very busy. I didn't add the Jalapeno as My DH doesn't care for them.Thanks Dorothy for posting the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 20, 2002

I have this same recipe from my 1973 Betty Crocker cookbook. The only difference is mine doesn't call for the Jalapeno pepper. We all thought this was a good recipe and the gravy is very tasty too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 April 08, 2003

This gets a 5* review for sure! The soups made a fantastic gravy, the vegetables still had tons of their own flavor, and the meat was so tender we didn't need a knife to cut it! I did want to mention that I used round steak in place of the chuck steak, but aside from that I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing. Thanks so much for posting your recipe, it is a true winner :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.A. November 19, 2008

Rave reviews, Husband loved it, asked for this to be made more often. Simple I had my 13 year old son make it while I was at work. Wonderful flavor! I used baby carrots and they worked great. Make it, you'll love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queena Frye April 28, 2003

in response to an earlier posting, lots of us don't have the money to use any beef but chuck steak and high fat hamburger; we also are repulsed by how fatty it is, but that's all we can afford. i think this is a wonderful recipe, and have made it many times with fantastic results. thanks derf for sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamasnapdragon March 03, 2009

This was great. I cut the chuck steak into chunks, and used baby carrots and red potatoes, and in place of the jalapeno, I added black and red pepper flakes, along with some garlic powder. I will definitely make this again, although next time I will use stew meat. I had never used chuck steak and was honestly pretty repulsed by how fatty it is. So if you're squeamish like me, then consider yourself warned! One other thing: I had to kick the oven up to 400 for an additional 30 minutes to get the potatoes to cook. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman December 04, 2007

Incredibly EASY & YUMMY! I didn't have onion soup mix but I did have ONION DIP mix and it turned out delicious. Next time I'll add some mushrooms! Thanks for an easy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom October 16, 2007

So Delicious! The jalapeno pepper made such an excellent gravy. I sliced the jalapeno apposed to chopping so that I could easily remove them from my DS's dinner plates. It was still spicy to them, but not overly so. I forgot to add the celery, and instead of chuck steak I used eye round steak cut into indiviual pieces. Thanks for a great supper Dorothy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat March 03, 2006

This was so easy to throw together and was such a great meal. Loved the minimal clean up as well. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom but otherwise followed the directions. Great for cheap cuts of steak! Tender and flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 02, 2006
Supper in Foil