Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Spaghetti Squash With Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Spaghetti Squash With Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2002

      This was great! I had the feeling from the way you described it that it was sort of a improvisationally created recipe, so instead of mushrooms (which I didn't have) I added one whole minced yellow squash. I also just added a ton of garlic (I don't even remember how much). Great--Thanks for a great recipe! I've never had spaghetti squash before and now I think I will have it often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Delicious! I ate waaaay too much! I added fresh basil to mine and fresh mushrooms and it was so good! First time to try spaghetti squahs, but now not my last! Just a note to others that had a difficult time cutting in 1/2 - my squash had a sticker on it that said to microwave to soften skin. So I used a fork to puncture a few times and put it in for about 3 or 4 minutes and it was easy to cut. Anyway, mmmm! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Oh dear.. I couldn't stop eating this! This was my first time trying spaghetti squash and I'm completely addicted now. I had baked the squash earlier in the day so it was a really quick meal to prepare later on in the evening. I improvised myself; I had a bunch of shrimp that I added and some leftover homemade sauce from a previous night. Everything was just so delicious (and low in calories!) that I had to have a second helping. And the leftovers are looking really tempting right now! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      I can't tell you how great this sauce was. It was will worth the time it took to simmer as long as it was suppose to. I found after I stripped the squash from the rind, the rind itself was sweet and tender. Instead of throwing it out, I pureed it in the food processor and added to the sauce for the additonal nutrients. I hate wasting good food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. I have never ate spaghetti squash before. I was amased at the interesting texture and how much it was like pasta. The sauce was perfect and I was thrilled with how many vegtables this added to my dayily count. Thanks for this keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This sauce is truly delicious. The only changes I made were to use fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I added more garlic. If you want to save time it's much faster to microwave the spaghetti squash. First, put it in the microwave whole for a minute or a minute and a half on high. It's much easier to cut in half after that. After cutting it in half and scraping out the seeds put it cut side down in a microwave safe dish with about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of water in it and microwave for about 12 minutes. It's hot so be careful taking it out. The pulp (strands) should be easy to pierce with a fork. My microwave is not big enough to do both sides at once so I do them separately but if you have a big microwave it's much faster. I made this dish for company and everyone had seconds. It's worth trying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      Well, even though the spaghetti squash didn't go over too well with my husband and my toddler, I thought it was great. I'd give this recipe five stars just for the sauce alone. Very simple, yet very tasty. This sauce has most of the things in it that I usually put on my homemade pizzas, so I'm thinking of making a batch of just the sauce to spread on a homemade pizza crust and then top with mozzarella. I know my toddler would eat that! He liked the sauce, just not the texture of the spaghetti squash. And speaking of textures, when it comes to canned mushrooms, I always use canned portobellos, so that's what I used in this recipe. To me, any other kind of canned or jarred mushroom is just sort of rubbery. Thanks for a great recipe. Even though my family wasn't crazy about the squash, I'm looking forward to making this sauce again very soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      I had never cooked or tasted a spaghetti squash before, and it was outstanding! Will be making often for low-carb days. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This was a good recipe, It could have been 4 stars but it needed a ton more seasoning than written; especially salt. The squash definitely needed to be salted before being added to the sauce. As written it was quite bland but was made better by adding more of all of the spices. Thanks for posting, I will make this again, just with more of everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Delicious...but didn't use the sauce recipe provided. I have a simple recipe for pasta sauce that I always make. One or two large cans of pureed tomatoes, sauteed onions and mushrooms and whatever other veggie tickles your fancy (somtimes I add fresh spinach or black olives, maybe some shredded carrots) and seasonings to taste. I like garlic, basil, oregano, black pepper, a little olive oil and some red pepper for an added kick. Never any salt. Already enough in the sauce. And you might want to add a teaspoon of sugar. Cuts the acidity of the tomatoes. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      I just made the sauce so my rating is based on that alone as I already adore Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash's way of cooking. The stewed tomatoes were one problem I had with this. I did drain it but the texture was wrong for us. I also didn't like the look with the spinach so I wondered if I should puree it all. Very bad idea. Looked even worse but I didn't take that part into account in my rating. I used fresh mushrooms rather than canned and fresh spinach too which should be chopped. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Nice healthy dish. I'm not sure if the spaghetti squash and spaghetti sauce go together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was different. Very tasty, pleasant flavors. DH really liked it a lot. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      first time we ate spaghetti squash. Left out what we didnt like and added some basil and Italian seasoning. Made some meatballs and garlic bread. Yummy, encourages us to try other squash recipes. Didn't like squash before, maybe we just didn't try the right kind. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      I didn't make your sauce (hence the reason for the 4* rather than 5). I had some leftover (frozen) meat sauce, so I used that. I had never eaten Spaghetti Squash, and a friend has this for lunch one day, so I HAD to give this recipe a try. Baked it as you suggested - that tastes delicious on its own!! My 4yo said, "MMMM, this is yummy! Can I take to school tomorrow?" How awesome! So 4 big stars for a great start and meal idea!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      I've never had spaghetti squash before and I must say this was absolutely delicious... and so light! I love being able to get full off of this meal without feeling so guilty =) I will be making this again soon for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Very, VERY, good! I added a pound of ground chuck fried up with onion and garlic. When I added the tomato sauce mixture, I also added basil and oregano to kick it up a bit. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a wonderful addition to my recipe collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      Very very tasty. I am not typically fond of meatless recipes but this one made a believer out of me. My three children (all under three) ate it and my husband said it was even better the next day. This one is a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      I had never tried spaghetti squash before, and with a friend's encouragement, decided to look up a good recipe with recipe zaar. I love it, and may never try spaghetti squash another way. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Spaghetti Squash With Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.5
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    17%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 560.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes