23 Reviews

This was great! I had the feeling from the way you described it that it was sort of a improvisationally created recipe, so instead of mushrooms (which I didn't have) I added one whole minced yellow squash. I also just added a ton of garlic (I don't even remember how much). Great--Thanks for a great recipe! I've never had spaghetti squash before and now I think I will have it often!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock August 07, 2002

Delicious! I ate waaaay too much! I added fresh basil to mine and fresh mushrooms and it was so good! First time to try spaghetti squahs, but now not my last! Just a note to others that had a difficult time cutting in 1/2 - my squash had a sticker on it that said to microwave to soften skin. So I used a fork to puncture a few times and put it in for about 3 or 4 minutes and it was easy to cut. Anyway, mmmm! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chica Loca January 12, 2010

Oh dear.. I couldn't stop eating this! This was my first time trying spaghetti squash and I'm completely addicted now. I had baked the squash earlier in the day so it was a really quick meal to prepare later on in the evening. I improvised myself; I had a bunch of shrimp that I added and some leftover homemade sauce from a previous night. Everything was just so delicious (and low in calories!) that I had to have a second helping. And the leftovers are looking really tempting right now! Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu February 03, 2007

I can't tell you how great this sauce was. It was will worth the time it took to simmer as long as it was suppose to. I found after I stripped the squash from the rind, the rind itself was sweet and tender. Instead of throwing it out, I pureed it in the food processor and added to the sauce for the additonal nutrients. I hate wasting good food.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve Kent August 06, 2003

I made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. I have never ate spaghetti squash before. I was amased at the interesting texture and how much it was like pasta. The sauce was perfect and I was thrilled with how many vegtables this added to my dayily count. Thanks for this keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggodess August 05, 2009

This sauce is truly delicious. The only changes I made were to use fresh mushrooms instead of canned and I added more garlic. If you want to save time it's much faster to microwave the spaghetti squash. First, put it in the microwave whole for a minute or a minute and a half on high. It's much easier to cut in half after that. After cutting it in half and scraping out the seeds put it cut side down in a microwave safe dish with about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of water in it and microwave for about 12 minutes. It's hot so be careful taking it out. The pulp (strands) should be easy to pierce with a fork. My microwave is not big enough to do both sides at once so I do them separately but if you have a big microwave it's much faster. I made this dish for company and everyone had seconds. It's worth trying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alaska-phb January 03, 2009

Well, even though the spaghetti squash didn't go over too well with my husband and my toddler, I thought it was great. I'd give this recipe five stars just for the sauce alone. Very simple, yet very tasty. This sauce has most of the things in it that I usually put on my homemade pizzas, so I'm thinking of making a batch of just the sauce to spread on a homemade pizza crust and then top with mozzarella. I know my toddler would eat that! He liked the sauce, just not the texture of the spaghetti squash. And speaking of textures, when it comes to canned mushrooms, I always use canned portobellos, so that's what I used in this recipe. To me, any other kind of canned or jarred mushroom is just sort of rubbery. Thanks for a great recipe. Even though my family wasn't crazy about the squash, I'm looking forward to making this sauce again very soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen October 16, 2005

Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soraiya June 25, 2014

I had never cooked or tasted a spaghetti squash before, and it was outstanding! Will be making often for low-carb days. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 July 10, 2012

This was a good recipe, It could have been 4 stars but it needed a ton more seasoning than written; especially salt. The squash definitely needed to be salted before being added to the sauce. As written it was quite bland but was made better by adding more of all of the spices. Thanks for posting, I will make this again, just with more of everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle December 11, 2011
Super Spaghetti Squash With Spaghetti Sauce