10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also found this recipe in Taste of Home and have made it many times. Instead of crushed or diced tomatoes, I prefer using stewed. I add sugar or vinegar to taste. More sugar to cut the acidity in the tomatoes or adding more vinegar for a more tangy taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy November 12, 2010

Thank You so much for posting this recipe. I lost my Taste of Home copy, so I searched Recipezaar and here it is. They are delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover February 20, 2010

We did not care for these. I have made them twice but I won't be making them again. They were o.k. , just not what I want in a sloppy joe. The crushed tomatoes make them too tomato-ey and they are not sweet enough. The flavors are off and they weren't any better the next day either. I have found a much better and easier recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 May 07, 2009

Another recipe I forgot to review. We really liked this sloppy joe recipe because it had a much better flavor than either the canned mixture or the dry package. Since there's only the 2 of us, I freeze the leftovers in quart bags. When I forget to take something out of the freezer, I grab a bag and heat it slowly in the pan. Toss in some fries in the oven, slice some tomatoes and eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes May 08, 2008

these are the best sloppy joes I have ever eaten. They are a little costly and time consuming but they are definitely worth it. Try these you won't eat basic sloppy joes again. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexygrneyes777 February 20, 2008

An absolutley delicious sloppy joe! I also got the recipe from Taste of Home and have reached for it many times. I often serve this filling in hot dog buns instead of hamburger buns - my kids find it so much easier and less frustrating to eat this way as the filling does not fall out so easily! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva December 21, 2007

I have tried so many sloppy joe recipes and never found the one we could all agree on till now..I used my food processor for dicing onion and celery..I used a whole meduim size onion..I didnt have any green pepper or crushed tomatoes so I used rotel tomatoes with green chiles and processed them for just a second to break down slightly..Wonderful flavor..Thank U so much for this recipe..A definite keeper!Already laminated and in my cookbook..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck March 05, 2007

Terry, these were wonderful! I made these for a work carry-in and received lots of compliments. I particularly liked the green peppers and crushed tomatoes - made them a step above the typical sloppy joe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn July 12, 2006

I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! I served it on homemade hamburger buns, it was greattt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB March 29, 2005

I made these for lunch, and they were a great success! I doubled the ketchup, and omitted the green peppers. (I'm afraid I'm not very partial to them!) The batch went a long way, and I still have some left for supper! Thanks for another fab recipe, tree luee dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit December 13, 2004
Super Sloppy Joes