Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      I also found this recipe in Taste of Home and have made it many times. Instead of crushed or diced tomatoes, I prefer using stewed. I add sugar or vinegar to taste. More sugar to cut the acidity in the tomatoes or adding more vinegar for a more tangy taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Thank You so much for posting this recipe. I lost my Taste of Home copy, so I searched Recipezaar and here it is. They are delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      We did not care for these. I have made them twice but I won't be making them again. They were o.k. , just not what I want in a sloppy joe. The crushed tomatoes make them too tomato-ey and they are not sweet enough. The flavors are off and they weren't any better the next day either. I have found a much better and easier recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Another recipe I forgot to review. We really liked this sloppy joe recipe because it had a much better flavor than either the canned mixture or the dry package. Since there's only the 2 of us, I freeze the leftovers in quart bags. When I forget to take something out of the freezer, I grab a bag and heat it slowly in the pan. Toss in some fries in the oven, slice some tomatoes and eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      these are the best sloppy joes I have ever eaten. They are a little costly and time consuming but they are definitely worth it. Try these you won't eat basic sloppy joes again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      An absolutley delicious sloppy joe! I also got the recipe from Taste of Home and have reached for it many times. I often serve this filling in hot dog buns instead of hamburger buns - my kids find it so much easier and less frustrating to eat this way as the filling does not fall out so easily! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I have tried so many sloppy joe recipes and never found the one we could all agree on till now..I used my food processor for dicing onion and celery..I used a whole meduim size onion..I didnt have any green pepper or crushed tomatoes so I used rotel tomatoes with green chiles and processed them for just a second to break down slightly..Wonderful flavor..Thank U so much for this recipe..A definite keeper!Already laminated and in my cookbook..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Terry, these were wonderful! I made these for a work carry-in and received lots of compliments. I particularly liked the green peppers and crushed tomatoes - made them a step above the typical sloppy joe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! I served it on homemade hamburger buns, it was greattt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      I made these for lunch, and they were a great success! I doubled the ketchup, and omitted the green peppers. (I'm afraid I'm not very partial to them!) The batch went a long way, and I still have some left for supper! Thanks for another fab recipe, tree luee dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.1
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    42%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 513.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites