14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

made this several times now, sorry I'm just getting to rating it. Delicious!! I always like to sear the meat before putting it in the crock pot, to sort of seal in the juices, not that dryness has ever been a problem, just a habit. I also seasoned in with some garlic powder, creole seasoning & montreal steak seasoning before searing in on the stove for a few minuted each side to brown.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacie Lora February 03, 2009

This roast is so simple and delicious - we found it to be fork tender after 5 hours on high - the potatoes and carrots cooked perfectly in 45 mins - just a lovely meal. Thanks Ash!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian July 01, 2007

Delicious! I used a brisket and didn't have any baby carrots so just pared some down to baby size for even cooking. The only real change I made was to use only 2 cups of water and 1 cup of red wine. Smelled heavenly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 06, 2007

Tasty and reliable. Works well in a dutch oven on camp outs too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicest of the damned March 01, 2011

This is too easy to be this good! I happened to have a pork roast in the freezer, so I tried this recipe on that, and I have to say, that was the tastiest pork roast I think I have ever made. I'll be using this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie June 30, 2007

Very simple and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar August 14, 2014

This is very easy to make. I threw it together quickly before going out the door this morning. I did cut back on the water to two cups. We just thought it needed more seasonings as the veggies and meat didn't really have a lot of flavor but it was very tender. I cooked mine on high for five hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 08, 2012

I made this last night and it was absolutely amazing! The only difference I made was using two packets of the dry onion soup mix. But the meat was juicy and tender, and the veggies had just a hint of onion in them. I ate so much of it last night I don't have many left overs :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNowicke January 02, 2012

Simple, Tasty, and a no brainer. This recipe is a just right fit! Made with items you usually have on hand. Followed Stacie's suggestion and spiced it up before placing the the crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M February 04, 2009

Super easy to make, great flavor, and makes excellent gravy. Whole family enjoyed it. Made for ZWTIII-Zingo

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 July 09, 2007
Super Simple Crock Pot Roast