Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Simple Chili Spice Mix (With Chili Recipe Instructions)
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Simple Chili Spice Mix (With Chili Recipe Instructions)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      This was the best chili spice mix I ever had! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      I found this recipe because I forgot to pick up a mix at the store. Boy am I glad I forgot it! So easy and very good! I will say that kids might not like the heat so you can scale back on the cayenne and red pepper flakes if you want. I like heat so I left it alone. I added 4 cans of kidney beans, 1 can of diced tomatoes, an onion, and a pound of lean hamburger and made my chili like I usually do which is in the crock pot. I did add the mix to 1 3/4 cup of water other wise it would dry out and burn. Keeper thank you! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      So easy to whip together and perfect amount of each spice, I'm happy I found it, thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This was a very good recipe for a chili mix. My son would have liked a much hotter chili but then I don't. He can add more to his own bowl if he likes to have something hotter. We will be using this again. Going to make some packets up to have on hand for the next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This mix is soooo much better than the store bought stuff. It tastes much more authentic and has so many layers of flavors. Never buying the packet again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Been trying to find a better mix than the Magic Castle's packet mix you could buy off their website (it's always sold out) and I was happy to have stumbled upon this recipe. It's easy and tastes so unbelievably good (I added sour cream, shredded sharp cheddar and avocado as toppings) that my mouth waters just thinking about it. I'm happy it makes a huge batch, too, because I could definitely eat this for days and not get tired of it. Perfect amount of spices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      excellent chili...haven't tasted any better...I have always looked for a good chili recipe and this is the one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I didn't have enough chili powder on hand, so I'm reviewing it based on that. I loved how simple it was and that I had all the spices on hand. I substituted corn starch for the flour to make it gluten free. Easy recipe, great taste! I used the seasoning on a pound of meat, 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can water (just use the tomato sauce can) for Frito Pie. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Really, really good chili spices! I "tested" after about 30 minutes of simmering and it has a really nice bite to it. I will serve it tonight to a group and smile as the compliments come in. I doubled the batch 1/2 beef and 1/2 turkey and used a can of corn, black beans and 2 cans of chili beans. Thank you for the awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Thanks so much for a great, helpful, and delicious recipe. I love this spice mix, and it's so much better than the packets from the store that we usually use. My husband is the chili-maker around here, and he swears he will never use a different kind of chili seasoning. (Which means, I better get busy making up a big batch!) By the way, this is great with tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could - it is so good. I mixed the spices as directed, yes it is a little "hot" but very good. Made the chili using a can of kidney beans, can of black beans and a jar of stewed tomatoes. Added 1/2 a red onion and 1/2 orange pepper to a pound of ground chicken. Hopefully there will still be one bowl left for me tomorrow! Thanks for posting this recipe. Made and enjoyed on a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This was so good. I made exactly as stated, except I didn't have any whole kernel corn, so I used a package of frozen mixed veggies. I loved this, but my DH thought it was a little too hot. My two brothers & wives and my mother came, so I didn't get much. They thought it was just right. Needless to say, I'm now cooking my second batch and also made up five bags of spices for more. I did cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/4 teaspoon but if it were up to me I would have left as is Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Oh yes, this is an easy tasty recipe and I enjoyed it a lot. Now that I have tried it, I'll make up a couple of the spice mixes to have on hand. Try it, you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Fabulous mix of spices! I rarely make chili the same way twice, but I know now that I will use this to season my chili every time from now on. It's perfect for us with just the right amount of heat. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I increased the cayenne just a bit. This would make a great, inexpensive gift to give, along with the recipe for the other chili ingredients. Thanks for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I cut this spice recipe in half just so I wouldn't have a lot around in case I wanted to make some changes to it, but guess what ~ I think it's great just the way it is! I incorporated the spice into a recipe I have for chili & it worked out so nicely! Another time I think I'd like to just play around in the kitchen with THIS spice & what I have on hand, but at least I know your spice recipe is indeed a keeper! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in New Kids on the Block tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Simple Chili Spice Mix (With Chili Recipe Instructions)

    Serving Size: 1 (4 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 17.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    12%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 201.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites