Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Moist Mocha Cream Cake -- 13 X 9 Pan or Two 9-Inch Layers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Moist Mocha Cream Cake -- 13 X 9 Pan or Two 9-Inch Layers

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2009

      OMG this is one amazing cake!!! Every time I think I've found the ultimate chocolate cake recipe here, I find another one even better! I loved this for it's ease of preparation (especially since you can mix it with a wooden spoon-no need to pull out the electric mixer for this!) The taste is extraordinary...so moist and so tender! The frosting was out of this world, but I did change a couple of things...for one I cut the powdered sugar back to about 3 cups because I hate cloyingly sweet frosting and I also toasted the pecans which really added a depth of flavor and texture to the frosting. My friends all said it was the best cake they have ever tasted! Thank you for sharing this...and thank your MIL as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Wow, this is a great chocolate cake!! I have tried many others, but this is the best so far! I had only half a cup of sour cream, so I used a half cup of milk with a bit of vinegar to sour it, worked perfectly! Thanks for posting! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Wow, what an awesome cake Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle. This is by far the best chocolate cake ever. Rich and decadent with excellant flavor. This cake was light, tender fluffy and oh so moist, it melted like mousse in your mouth. The frosting was perfect, complimenting the cake beautifully. I made 1/2 your recipe, exactly as written, in a 8 x8 square pan, it worked really well. The only change to your recipe was to omit the nuts in the frosting because of my dh's allergy. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe that was quick and easy to make. I have added your recipe to my Favorites Cookbook for 2012. Kudos

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      This cake is so light and moist. To make it more convenient, I made the recipe into cupcakes. It took about 25mins for the middle to set at 350F. I also concentrated the coffee (double the amt of grind). I don't normally try recipes that aren't highly rated and have scores of reviews, but the recipe looked good. No regrets. Better as a cake than a cupcake, b/c it's so light in texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This cake is light, flavorful, and moist....definitely a keeper. I have passed this recipe along to many friends and they have come back to me with rave reviews. I have not tried the frosting, I prefer to simply decorate the cake with icing sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This is at least the 12th recipe I've used from RecipeZaar but only my first review. Had to say that I made this recipe for a family party and everyone raved about it. Made it the day before as was suggested and it was delicious. I used about 3 and a third cups of sugar for the icing with a little less milk and cocoa and that was sweet enough for us. Best chocolate cake ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Delcious! Made this the night before for a potluck at husbands work last week and cut into squares so people could grab and go and everyone loved it! I kept a couple pieces back for us so I could try and thought it was really good too and very moist! It reminds me a lot of the Texas sheet cakes, only thicker! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      My 15 y/o daughter made this for a cake auction at school. It was a hit and made a nice little contribution to her choir fund raiser. We made it as a layer cake and used a homemade fudge frosting. Wow, what a moist and delicious cake! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This is the moistest cake I have ever made. I didn't make the frosting, the cake is delicious without it. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Thanks for the recomendation -this was a very tasty chocolate cake with yummy frosting. I found that the flavor and moistness really shines through on the day after baking. Good the first day - even better on the 2nd.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      oh, my! We were so impressed with the incredible taste of this cake. It is so moist and the icing is not overly sweet (that was a surprise since it is a fudge type icing) It was perfect. I toasted the pecans before stirring into the icing and loved the toasted nut flavor with the icing. Topped the cake with whole strawberries...one on each square of cake. We tried it for Valentine;s day and it was a huge hit...at least with this Texas family. It was even more moist and flavorful the next day. I used Watkin's vanilla nut extract in cake and icing and made a cup of strong coffee with instant granuals. This is an outstanding cake. Thank you for sharing. It reminded me oa a coke cake. Just loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Made this tonight to take to the school board meeting. I cut it before and had me a taste. Yummo!! It is delicious and so very moist. Thanks, I'm sure I will make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      The texture of this cake was perfectly moist. However, I do wish it had a little extra chocolate umph but than again I'm a chocoholic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This recipe takes double the time to bake than stated in recipe for pyrex pan at 325. at 35 minutes the center was still very loose. Took 1 hour to fully bake through. I added 1/4 cup prepared cooled coffee to make frosting also "mocha."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Moist Mocha Cream Cake -- 13 X 9 Pan or Two 9-Inch Layers

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 565.5
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    45%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 94.8 mg
    31%
    Sodium 364.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 58.9 g
    235%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes