14 Reviews

OMG this is one amazing cake!!! Every time I think I've found the ultimate chocolate cake recipe here, I find another one even better! I loved this for it's ease of preparation (especially since you can mix it with a wooden spoon-no need to pull out the electric mixer for this!) The taste is extraordinary...so moist and so tender! The frosting was out of this world, but I did change a couple of things...for one I cut the powdered sugar back to about 3 cups because I hate cloyingly sweet frosting and I also toasted the pecans which really added a depth of flavor and texture to the frosting. My friends all said it was the best cake they have ever tasted! Thank you for sharing this...and thank your MIL as well!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper July 10, 2009

Wow, this is a great chocolate cake!! I have tried many others, but this is the best so far! I had only half a cup of sour cream, so I used a half cup of milk with a bit of vinegar to sour it, worked perfectly! Thanks for posting! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracyeileen September 10, 2013

Wow, what an awesome cake Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle. This is by far the best chocolate cake ever. Rich and decadent with excellant flavor. This cake was light, tender fluffy and oh so moist, it melted like mousse in your mouth. The frosting was perfect, complimenting the cake beautifully. I made 1/2 your recipe, exactly as written, in a 8 x8 square pan, it worked really well. The only change to your recipe was to omit the nuts in the frosting because of my dh's allergy. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe that was quick and easy to make. I have added your recipe to my Favorites Cookbook for 2012. Kudos

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 04, 2012

This cake is so light and moist. To make it more convenient, I made the recipe into cupcakes. It took about 25mins for the middle to set at 350F. I also concentrated the coffee (double the amt of grind). I don't normally try recipes that aren't highly rated and have scores of reviews, but the recipe looked good. No regrets. Better as a cake than a cupcake, b/c it's so light in texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilorchid82 June 12, 2011

This cake is light, flavorful, and moist....definitely a keeper. I have passed this recipe along to many friends and they have come back to me with rave reviews. I have not tried the frosting, I prefer to simply decorate the cake with icing sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gorete January 09, 2011

This is at least the 12th recipe I've used from RecipeZaar but only my first review. Had to say that I made this recipe for a family party and everyone raved about it. Made it the day before as was suggested and it was delicious. I used about 3 and a third cups of sugar for the icing with a little less milk and cocoa and that was sweet enough for us. Best chocolate cake ever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicakes June 20, 2009

Delcious! Made this the night before for a potluck at husbands work last week and cut into squares so people could grab and go and everyone loved it! I kept a couple pieces back for us so I could try and thought it was really good too and very moist! It reminds me a lot of the Texas sheet cakes, only thicker! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo January 24, 2009

My 15 y/o daughter made this for a cake auction at school. It was a hit and made a nice little contribution to her choir fund raiser. We made it as a layer cake and used a homemade fudge frosting. Wow, what a moist and delicious cake! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeGoodCooks December 23, 2008

This is the moistest cake I have ever made. I didn't make the frosting, the cake is delicious without it. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingmother August 06, 2008

Thanks for the recomendation -this was a very tasty chocolate cake with yummy frosting. I found that the flavor and moistness really shines through on the day after baking. Good the first day - even better on the 2nd.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 24, 2008
Super Moist Mocha Cream Cake -- 13 X 9 Pan or Two 9-Inch Layers