Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Moist Chocolate Spelt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Moist Chocolate Spelt Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2010

      These did NOT bake up well for me at all. The batter looked beautiful until the cup of boiling water was called for. They overflowed and made a mess of the oven. I would recommend trying the recipe without the cup of water -- I bet they'll be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Made this for my daughters Birthday and everyone loved it. Usually spelt dries out very quickly but not this cake the leftovers were just as good as the first day. Will definitely make this cake a again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      This cake is awesome and sooo moist! I have never had a problem with it over-flowing and I've made it several times and in serveral different size pans. It has almost a pudding cake texture and taste. People never even know it's whole grain until I tell them. It makes great cupcakes too. Rich and dark, I can't say enough good things about this recipe! Don't let the other reviews turn you off, you'd be missing out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I have made this cake a number of times now and it has work perfectly every time. I followed the recipe, and was worried the first time about the consistency of the mixture the first time I made it, but it turned out to be very moist. I have ice with both chocolate truffle icing and chocolate ganache, and both work well. This recipe has become my stand by cake because it's delicious and works well every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This came out AWESOME! We have been using spelt for about 6 months. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 was because of the amount of sugar. Soon, I hope to try this recipe with less sugar to see how it comes out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      This was a super moist recipe. I made the cupcakes. I thought the sugar amount was way too much. I substituted the 2 cups of sugar for 1 cup xylitol and 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar. I reduced the 1 cup boiling water to 1/2 cup water + 2 shredded zucchini. I used coconut oil instead of butter cause I was out of butter and I used buttermilk instead of plain milk. It was so moist and tasty. This is definitely a keeper recipe and will make a lot. I might try 1/2 spelt/kamut next. I topped with chocolate frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      My Daughter loves this recipe. We usually make the cupcake version but have made the cake as a birthday cake too. It always turns out great!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      My mom has made this recipe and it was much loved. I came across this without knowing it was the same recipe. Followed exactly and turned out amazing. The batter is very thin sobi was hesitant at first but it came out amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      This recipe is gorgeous! I am a terrible baker usually, but the cake came out fluffy and moist. I made a glaze out of a bit of my dairy free butter substitute melted with some fructose, cocoa powder, a drop of vanilla extract and once it was dissolved I added a bit of almond milk. I accidentally added the boiling water in with the rest of the wet ingredients, but it still came out perfect. I'm very happy with this recipe. Thank you for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      I bastardized this recipe a lot; used Spelt, Buckwheat & Chickpea flour with a little ground Hazlenut. Halved it, added more egg, skipped the boiling water adding Orange juice and Yoghurt instead and baked in large ramekins for 25 mins. Turned out fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      I made this recipe with oil and only 1 cup of demerara sugar, no water. The texture was pleasant and fluffy but is just another choc cake , nothing extraordinary about it. Next time i will add some nuts, poppy seeds or figs perhaps to jazz it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      This recipe needs to be re-written, when baking the batter overflowed. Luckily I had a pan of water underneath to catch the rubbish, or my oven could have caught on fire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I did what Chef suggested and didn't add the boiling water. I decided to add oil instead of butter. And OMG! This came out so well, my family asked to make another batch of cupcakes for them! LOL This is staying in my box to make again, and again, and again. Thanks OrganiKiss Catering!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Great cake! It baked well and tastes great. I baked a little longer (in a 150-160 degree celsius oven) and the recipe ingredients said butter but this was not in the directions (but oil was..?)- I used the butter (no oil) and it turned out well. Definitely will make again- thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Moist Chocolate Spelt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.5
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    37%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 418.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 28.7 g
    114%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spelt flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites