18 Reviews

These did NOT bake up well for me at all. The batter looked beautiful until the cup of boiling water was called for. They overflowed and made a mess of the oven. I would recommend trying the recipe without the cup of water -- I bet they'll be great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicadoherty1 February 14, 2010

Made this for my daughters Birthday and everyone loved it. Usually spelt dries out very quickly but not this cake the leftovers were just as good as the first day. Will definitely make this cake a again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dar44 August 26, 2012

This cake is awesome and sooo moist! I have never had a problem with it over-flowing and I've made it several times and in serveral different size pans. It has almost a pudding cake texture and taste. People never even know it's whole grain until I tell them. It makes great cupcakes too. Rich and dark, I can't say enough good things about this recipe! Don't let the other reviews turn you off, you'd be missing out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennypoage April 22, 2011

I used 1 cup of coffee instead of the boiling water and it turned out great. Probably my favorite spelt recipe so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine F. January 31, 2016

This cake was indeed super moist and airy! I gave it 4 stars because of the amt of sugar and the full cup of boiling water I found to be a bit much. Otherwise, It's a great recipe. I did however tweak the recipe a bit, instead of 2 c of sugar I used 1c of brown sugar and 1/4c of tapioca starch. I used 3/4c of butter instead of 1c, skipped on vanilla extract, used 3 eggs instead of 2, used 1 can of whole coconut milk instead of milk, used 3/4tsp of salt, and only 1/4 cup of regular water instead of 1 cup of boiling water. I think the 1cup of water would have made the batter too watery. It came out delicous. Rich and Moist! Will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle B. November 15, 2015

We LOVE this recipe!!! We made it so many times now. It is really super moist and super yummy!!! We also made it with coconut oil (virgem) and add 1 tbsp of coconut flakes. AMAZING!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juribeirao1 January 15, 2015

I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it came out delicious -- rave reviews from the entire extended family -- and they never even suspected that I used a grain other than traditional wheat. Can anyone recommend a Vanilla version of this recipe???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c_bush7374_11341343 January 07, 2015

I have made this cake a number of times now and it has work perfectly every time. I followed the recipe, and was worried the first time about the consistency of the mixture the first time I made it, but it turned out to be very moist. I have ice with both chocolate truffle icing and chocolate ganache, and both work well. This recipe has become my stand by cake because it's delicious and works well every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryanne K. April 25, 2014

This came out AWESOME! We have been using spelt for about 6 months. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 was because of the amount of sugar. Soon, I hope to try this recipe with less sugar to see how it comes out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Armfam January 13, 2014

This was a super moist recipe. I made the cupcakes. I thought the sugar amount was way too much. I substituted the 2 cups of sugar for 1 cup xylitol and 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar. I reduced the 1 cup boiling water to 1/2 cup water + 2 shredded zucchini. I used coconut oil instead of butter cause I was out of butter and I used buttermilk instead of plain milk. It was so moist and tasty. This is definitely a keeper recipe and will make a lot. I might try 1/2 spelt/kamut next. I topped with chocolate frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raw for Fun April 14, 2013
Super Moist Chocolate Spelt Cake