Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Moist Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Moist Chocolate Mayo Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2007

      My daughter always requests a chocolate cake for her birthday so I found this recipe and decided to try it. I'm glad I did. It was so easy and it turned out moist and delicious. I frosted it with a vanilla buttercream frosting I found on this site (Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)). Thank you for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Was a hit at my DH's birthday dinner. And was simple! Did not add cinnamon but used butter cream frosting. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Excellent...I usually make cake from scratch, but this will be my stand-by when I'm in a hurry! I also added just a bit of vanilla extract to the batter. Next time may try a little instant espresso powder, but it really is great as is. Frosted with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes), which I highly recommend. My daughter's birthday cake was outstanding, it made 12 regular cupcakes & one 8" round cake layer. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Very good cake -- I filled my mini-bundt pan with 12 small cakes, then baked the rest in an 8x8 pan. Added a scant cup of chocolate chips to the batter and omitted the cinnamon, then glazed the tops of the cakes and decorated with slivered almonds. It is a very moist cake, and I think the addition of the mayo elevates it to a more homemade flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Just made this and it was an awesome hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Great! Thanks for posting! I had this recipe from a girl I work with and then lost it about 5 years ago. It was great to find it on here! My kids were skeptical about making a cake with mayo until they tried it. It really makes the moistest cake ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Very good. A great one for getting the kids to help with! I have made this several times now, and I have found that I prefer to use instant coffee granules instead of the optional ground cinnamon. I just dissolve the coffee (a tablespoon, at least) in the water before adding the water to the rest of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was a great cake, and no one guessed there was mayonnaise in it! It was very moist and the taste was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I bake the cakes for the office birthdays. One coworker requested "a moist, german chocolate cake". I topped it with the coconut pecan icing and I received many rave reviews. It was so-o-o moist. 5 stars all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this cake it is so moist and yummy. It needs very little frosting as it has great flavor. I got my copy of this from Hellmann's website. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      We all loved this cake! It is very moist. I made a 2 layer cake and used tub chocolate frosting. It is very similar to Portillo's chocolate cake- which is a recipe my family has been searching for. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      amazingly moist! too easy; no mess, no fuss! icing not needed at all.. just decorate the top with strawberries or a variety of berries or whatever fruits you love! i'm not a fan of ready-made-mixes but definitely the cake of choice if on tight schedule... ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Very moist. My wife didn't believe me when I told her we used to make Mayo Cakes 20 years ago. This is as moist as I remember, and we'll keep this one handy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      Thank you, MarieAlice, for posting this! My dh has talked for years about chocolate mayonnaise cake and so I decided to surprise him with one today for his birthday. I was so thankful to find a 'shortcut' method that used a box mix since I didn't have a lot of time. The kids were very skeptical, to say the least, as they helped stir in the mayo. ;o) But it turned out wonderfully moist, almost like a pudding cake. The kids were won over, dh was thrilled, and you get 5 stars and many, many thanks! :oD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      Very moist!! My family loved it. I did leave out the cinnamon though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Moist Chocolate Mayo Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    45%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 51.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 577.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 20.7 g
    83%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites