15 Reviews

My daughter always requests a chocolate cake for her birthday so I found this recipe and decided to try it. I'm glad I did. It was so easy and it turned out moist and delicious. I frosted it with a vanilla buttercream frosting I found on this site (Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)). Thank you for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieB. November 13, 2007

Was a hit at my DH's birthday dinner. And was simple! Did not add cinnamon but used butter cream frosting. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 September 02, 2006

Excellent...I usually make cake from scratch, but this will be my stand-by when I'm in a hurry! I also added just a bit of vanilla extract to the batter. Next time may try a little instant espresso powder, but it really is great as is. Frosted with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes), which I highly recommend. My daughter's birthday cake was outstanding, it made 12 regular cupcakes & one 8" round cake layer. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau April 20, 2013

Very good cake -- I filled my mini-bundt pan with 12 small cakes, then baked the rest in an 8x8 pan. Added a scant cup of chocolate chips to the batter and omitted the cinnamon, then glazed the tops of the cakes and decorated with slivered almonds. It is a very moist cake, and I think the addition of the mayo elevates it to a more homemade flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie in SoCal January 29, 2011

Just made this and it was an awesome hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapinboat February 14, 2010

Great! Thanks for posting! I had this recipe from a girl I work with and then lost it about 5 years ago. It was great to find it on here! My kids were skeptical about making a cake with mayo until they tried it. It really makes the moistest cake ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my3girlz October 06, 2009

Very good. A great one for getting the kids to help with! I have made this several times now, and I have found that I prefer to use instant coffee granules instead of the optional ground cinnamon. I just dissolve the coffee (a tablespoon, at least) in the water before adding the water to the rest of the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen January 06, 2008

This was a great cake, and no one guessed there was mayonnaise in it! It was very moist and the taste was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 October 04, 2007

I bake the cakes for the office birthdays. One coworker requested "a moist, german chocolate cake". I topped it with the coconut pecan icing and I received many rave reviews. It was so-o-o moist. 5 stars all the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nightfall20252 September 20, 2007

I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this cake it is so moist and yummy. It needs very little frosting as it has great flavor. I got my copy of this from Hellmann's website. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 07, 2007
Super Moist Chocolate Mayo Cake