32 Reviews

This is a fantastic base recipe. I have a Pampered Chef muffin stone that I use. These are 1/2 cup (or double size of a normal muffin). If using a muffin stone, fill them up. This recipe does not rise much. This recipe will typically yield between 12-14 muffins using the Pampered Chef muffin stone. You will need to bake them for approximately 28-30 minutes at 375 F. I usually add a tablespoon of vanilla to the recipe and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. This gives the muffins a little more flavor. If you follow the recipe exact, I am certain that you will not be dissatified. The only knock is that this bread does not rise much. I will try future batches with more baking powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rob H. December 24, 2014

I followed the recipe and came perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ndavoodi November 02, 2012

If you want super fluffy muffins, make sure your butter is SOFT. Like the consistency of shortening. This is the first recipe using the muffin method that I've made that I didn't have liquid fat (oil, melted butter, shortening) and since I used softened butter (like the consistancy when using the creaming method like when making cookies), it kind of dispersed itself into little chunks instead of integrating with the rest of the liquids, and I had to mix it too much to get it homogenous. With muffins, the less mixing, the better.
The flavor is good, and the texture is moist (I don't know about SUPER moist, but it is definitely up there on the moist side), but it was not a very fluffy muffin, which I attribute to my butter temp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo March 18, 2012

oh boy.....sooooo yummy! I substituted 3/4cup of whole wheat flour, and didn't have any butter so used margarine. I make alot of muffins, but these are a real crowd pleaser!! DH usually isn't interested in anything that doesn't contain meat - but he stole 2 off the cooling rack! Will be making these again soon. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisysMa January 24, 2011

This was a great recipe. I was wary because I normally make banana bread and my recipe calls for brown sugar so when it called for white sugar I was nervous! Didnt need to worry came out great. I do think you can use 1 cup of sugar and be ok especially those who like to use less sugar. I also didnt use softened butter but used the microwave and wasnt paying attention and got melted but it didnt mess up my recipe at all! I also omitted cinnamon because I dont like it in banana bread recipes. There are definite tricks to this as well like making sure not to over mix and FOLD in your nuts. I also filled mine to the top and it made some awesome sized muffins. It will definitely make 2 dozen if you fill halfway or 3/4 will make 1 1/2 dozen. Great recipe! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godschild1977 June 19, 2016

Yummy! I omitted the nuts as I'm allergic, but other than that I made exactly as stated and they turned out great! Super soft and with just the right amount of banana for my tastes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog April 18, 2016

I read the other reviews before I made these so I turned my oven down to 325 when I started baking the muffins. That batch didn't rise. I followed the instructions as written and they did. I made 6 regular size muffins and 33 mini muffins. I didn't put the nuts in the mix bc my kids are picky but I put some nuts on the top of the big ones with some brown sugar and cinnamon and they look amazing. I haven't tasted them yet bc I accidentally ate 3 of the mini muffins already. Oops!!! These are sooooo good. Much better than the recipe I had been using.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellytpo March 01, 2016

I only had two bananas and a few nuts so I cut the recipe in half. They came out perfect! It filled up a entire muffin tray and was alot even with only doing half. I will make this again and next time still only use half again so I don't over eat muffins lol.... It was just enough for me and my 2 kids to eat and save for later

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mstewart74 January 23, 2016

Delicious!! I think they were even better the next day! Super moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slmooney1349 December 26, 2015

I absolutely love this recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly the first three times I made them and they were awesome!! This time I cut my measurements in half because I didn't need as many muffins and they turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aisha W. September 26, 2015
Super Moist Banana Nut Muffins