Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Italian Sub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Italian Sub

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2009

      I made this for lunch for my work crew of 6 men and one woman. There were no leftovers. I substituted swiss cheese for the mozarella and used a poblano pepper. I had quite a bit of dressing left after smearing it on the bread so I dribbled it over both layers of lettuce. I also used less than the full 1/2 pound of capicola because it was sliced so thinly. I guess next time I will make two layer of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Left out the turkey, lettuce and mozzarella cheese. Added onions, black olives and crushed hot pickled peppers. We loved the oil/vinegar dressing and thought it was excellent. We LOVED this sub!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Let me tell you, this hit the spot! All of them! We have been craving a sub so decided to make these and we picked a winner here! Loved them! Only thing I did was add pepperoncini peppers and black olives to give it a little more flavor. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      Mmmm! This was absolutely delicious! Since I was afraid of the garlic tasting "raw", I used jarred minced garlic. I also added some pickles, sliced onions, and a bit of mayo and mustard. I'm already thinking about the other half that I'll be having for lunch tomorrow. YUM-O!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      This was my kind of sandwich. It was better than any deli takeout sandwich I have ever had. I halved the recipe and I left off the green pepper, but added onion. Was very good. I had a bit for dinner last night and some more for lunch today. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      Delicious littleturtle! It was the oil/garlic/red wine mixture that what made this sooo. good. Omitted the green pepper, due to lack of time(really rushed on getting son off to school and Hub to work). Did add sliced onion. The oil mixture would taste fantastic to Dip the sandwich into, this is a type of sandwich any type of meat(roast beef)or cheese(swiss) would be great but the sauce is a KEEPER! Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      I made this sandwich for a luncheon I catered and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. I did make a few changes: I didnt have oregano so I didnt add it, I used black forest ham, pepperoni, Genoa salami, mozzerella and provolone cheese, I added red bell pepper slices instead of green, added purple onion slices, and I used a french loaf for the bread. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

    • on February 26, 2011

      Had this for lunch the other day and what a lunch !!! Such a yummy sandwich and so quick and easy to put together. I had prepared these in the morning and just wrapped them and brought them to lunch. I had made two separate sandwiches using Hoagie rolls. Just for taste preference I had used National Hebrew Salami instead of Genoa and I had used red peppers not green...Otherwise everything else was the same. For the choice of the cider or red wine I went with the red wine vinegar. Served them just with some Wickles Pickles.... MMMMM......good stuff. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe littleturtle.. We thank you for such a good lunch. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      "Excellent!" That's what my DH said after the first bite ... and he didn't even want me to use the sauce ... boy, am I (and he) glad that I did. The sauce made the sandwich. Don't pass this sandwich by ... it's the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      My husband said he'd punch a kangaroo to have this once a week. I dared him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      This is exactly what I was looking for. We went on a camping trip and this sandwich fit the bill to make ahead. Much better than a fast food sandwich. The big plus is it keeps so well, wrapped tightly and will feed many or keep till the next day. I will definitely be using this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Delicious. I used a baguette and Havarti instead of the Provolone. The sauce is very nice as well. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Tasty and easy dinner idea.love the oil vinegar combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I made this yesterday to take for a picnic and it was wonderful. I added purple onion. A real keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      It is very good. It is a bit sour though so the next time, I will cut down on the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

    • on July 14, 2006

      This was fantastic! I love Italian subs and this one was delicious! I served it on individual sub rolls since it was just 2 people eating them, ommited thr Green Pepper (don't like them) and added Peprocini peppers. I will make this again and again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      This was absolutely perfect!!! Just what I was looking for. I made sub sandwiches for my dh and his brothers to take on a deep sea fishing trip. I made them as directed (except I used only 1 garlic clove in the dressing) and drizzled the oil/vinegar on them and wrapped them tightly in plastic wrap and placed in a ziplock in the cooler. They said they were delicious! I made myself one for lunch today and I agree. Thanks for posting this classic sandwhich. Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Italian Sub

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.8
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    54%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 45.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 573.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    capicola

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes