90 Reviews

This is never peanut butter in hummus!!!!!!!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nunzia Jones April 30, 2004

I used a 15 oz can of chick peas, 1/2 cup of plain fat free Chobani, 2 tsp of minced garlic, and added 1 tsp of toasted sesame oil. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was great! I tried the blender but ended up moving it to the food processor, which worked much better. This is now my go-to hummus recipe, thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunFlwrz11 August 24, 2012

I kicked up the flavor a bit by adding about a tsp of lemon zest. I also added about a Tbsp of peanut butter because it lacked creaminess. Also got just a bit more of the traditional Tahini flavor with about 1/2 tsp of toasted sesame oil, and also added about 1/2 tsp of cumin. Overall, very good and easy to make with the food processor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duckmama November 29, 2009

Fantastic!! Wow. I actually had no tahini on hand and on a whim decided to see if I could find a tahini free recipe on zaar. And here it was. The only change I made was that I only had a 16oz. can of chickpeas. My husband and I loved it and we never missed the fat at all! Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flautatime May 20, 2009

So delicious!! I'm not a fan of the recipes with tahini, so I was so happy to find this one. I up'd the servings to 9 and used 2 (15oz) cans of organic garbanzo beans. I used all organic ingredients and spices. I couldn't find any lemon juice without preservatives, even the organic lemon juice had a preservative, so I bought a few lemons and squeezed. For 9 servings, it's just 1 1/2T, which only took 1 lemon. This was super easy to make and the consistency was spot on using my food processor. I will be using this in my veggie wraps! Yum!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie-mc August 29, 2011

For healthy/low fat, I must say, this is a winner! Used sesame oil instead of olive, and a spicy lime splash instead of lemon juice (the spice helped to kick up the flavour). would also recommend a touch more salt. My husband liked it, and he isn't even big hummus person!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubblette June 19, 2013

I have just started in a healthier lifestyle change. I was looking through the net to find a nice hummus recipe! I found this!! Is is the first thing I have saved in my cook book and it got a high rating from myself but what won me over is my fussy 2yr old son is LOVING THIS!!! he keeps pointing at the fridge and saying yummy food.. yummy food! so this has won me over. thanks for a fantastic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truechicknz September 18, 2011

Another wonderful recipe to go into my Favorites! I like it with homemade tortilla chips. Cannot taste the yogurt. Thanks, Kasha. 5/14/10 update. Ha ha...didn't realize I had made this before and even reviewed it. Apparently I had better luck with it 2 1/2 yrs ago. Anyway, I only had a 14.5 oz can of chickpeas so reduced the recipe to serve 4, which called for 2 cloves of garlic. Well, all I can taste is the garlic, so my garlic cloves must be larger than normal. Also, it seemed to take forever to get this smooth. I ended up using all 6 oz of the yogurt and still had difficulty. Still 5 stars but I wanted others to know of the problems I ran into so they can make adjustments if necessary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra May 14, 2010

Wonderful healthy alternative hummus! I didn't have any yogurt and I didn't want to go to the store so I used about 1/3 cup of liquid from the chickpeas ... not sure if it would make a difference in the taste but would definitely change the nutritional value. I also added "a bit more garlic" because "can you ever have too much garlic???" I'll be keeping this recipe for a great snack alternative! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker May 04, 2010

Tahini is hard to get here, so this is a good recipe for me. I used more garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 29, 2009
Super Healthy Hummus