Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Healthy Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Healthy Hummus

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2004

      This is never peanut butter in hummus!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I used a 15 oz can of chick peas, 1/2 cup of plain fat free Chobani, 2 tsp of minced garlic, and added 1 tsp of toasted sesame oil. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was great! I tried the blender but ended up moving it to the food processor, which worked much better. This is now my go-to hummus recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I kicked up the flavor a bit by adding about a tsp of lemon zest. I also added about a Tbsp of peanut butter because it lacked creaminess. Also got just a bit more of the traditional Tahini flavor with about 1/2 tsp of toasted sesame oil, and also added about 1/2 tsp of cumin. Overall, very good and easy to make with the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Fantastic!! Wow. I actually had no tahini on hand and on a whim decided to see if I could find a tahini free recipe on zaar. And here it was. The only change I made was that I only had a 16oz. can of chickpeas. My husband and I loved it and we never missed the fat at all! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      So delicious!! I'm not a fan of the recipes with tahini, so I was so happy to find this one. I up'd the servings to 9 and used 2 (15oz) cans of organic garbanzo beans. I used all organic ingredients and spices. I couldn't find any lemon juice without preservatives, even the organic lemon juice had a preservative, so I bought a few lemons and squeezed. For 9 servings, it's just 1 1/2T, which only took 1 lemon. This was super easy to make and the consistency was spot on using my food processor. I will be using this in my veggie wraps! Yum!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      For healthy/low fat, I must say, this is a winner! Used sesame oil instead of olive, and a spicy lime splash instead of lemon juice (the spice helped to kick up the flavour). would also recommend a touch more salt. My husband liked it, and he isn't even big hummus person!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I have just started in a healthier lifestyle change. I was looking through the net to find a nice hummus recipe! I found this!! Is is the first thing I have saved in my cook book and it got a high rating from myself but what won me over is my fussy 2yr old son is LOVING THIS!!! he keeps pointing at the fridge and saying yummy food.. yummy food! so this has won me over. thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Another wonderful recipe to go into my Favorites! I like it with homemade tortilla chips. Cannot taste the yogurt. Thanks, Kasha. 5/14/10 update. Ha ha...didn't realize I had made this before and even reviewed it. Apparently I had better luck with it 2 1/2 yrs ago. Anyway, I only had a 14.5 oz can of chickpeas so reduced the recipe to serve 4, which called for 2 cloves of garlic. Well, all I can taste is the garlic, so my garlic cloves must be larger than normal. Also, it seemed to take forever to get this smooth. I ended up using all 6 oz of the yogurt and still had difficulty. Still 5 stars but I wanted others to know of the problems I ran into so they can make adjustments if necessary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Wonderful healthy alternative hummus! I didn't have any yogurt and I didn't want to go to the store so I used about 1/3 cup of liquid from the chickpeas ... not sure if it would make a difference in the taste but would definitely change the nutritional value. I also added "a bit more garlic" because "can you ever have too much garlic???" I'll be keeping this recipe for a great snack alternative! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Tahini is hard to get here, so this is a good recipe for me. I used more garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Yum! This runs a REALLY close second to traditional tahini hummus. I love that it is so healthy and frugal. This is my new standby recipe. I definitely reccomend the use of fresh parsley- and the addition of cumin, which I think all hummus needs!! (and some hot pepper!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      I'm so pleased ti have found this recipe. It is excellent. I love Hummus but the recipe I usually use has quite a large quantity of olive oil in it, which I wanted to cut down. The taste and texture of this hummus is perfect. In fact you wouldn't know there is just 1 tsp of olive oil in it unless you were told. Will definitely be the one I make from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Healthy and tasty hummus! The addition of the yogurt did make it nice and creamy and seemed to give it a different flavor than most versions I've tried. I added some cumin and more salt than specified. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Great stuff...I may need an intervention. I did choose to use sesame oil for my oil and added a bit more lemon and garlic but even as is, it was fabulous. I'm completely addicted and it's been great for my weight line.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I thought this was the perfect healthy yogurt for our diet. Since we are garlic lovers, I added more to the recipe with a little cayenne pepper. I'm making my 3rd batch tomorrow!
      Thanks Kasha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      This is an excellent way to save money on hummus. I was impressed by how easy and good this recipe is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I really liked the flavor of this, adding a little bit more yogurt and not adding the oil. Also put in some Dulse flakes and omitted the salt because of that substitution. :) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Fantastic and versatile. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Brilliant! I used soy yogurt to make this vegan, and I also added a tsp or so of sesame oil and a little cumin. Thank you for posting this! I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Super easy also applies. Always like a good hummus and this was just so easy to do as well as tasting good. Added extra lemon juice. Glad you posted this Kasha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Healthy Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.3
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    14%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 373.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites