30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love the versatility! They are kind of cake-like and dense. Used bananas instead of oil. Added dried mango, banana chips, and sun-flower seeds. Banana chips kind of blended in though, may line them ontop next time. But will be making again, thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lowenberg March 28, 2011

Did not really like these. I think the large amount of applesauce is why we did not like these, it did something to the texture and flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gefox3 November 26, 2012

Made to share at a weekly meeting we attend & cut them small so I could get 24 total! I included dried cranberries & some toasted almonds & these were a big hit ~ Gone in no time at all! Will be making these again, for sure! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC recipe tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 25, 2011

These were great! I made them for my family and they were gone the next day! I used coconut oil for the oil, and I used dried cranberries, cherries, sunflower seeds, and almonds. I did have to cook them a bit longer than specified.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchihuahua13 August 31, 2010

These are pretty great. They were a little on the not-sweet-enough side for me but I bet it depends on what additions you put in. I might try it with chocolate chips next time to see what happens. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender April 12, 2010

Great base recipe. I have made these many times and have substituted the oil with mashed bananas, pumpkin puree, more applesauce or any combination of the three (I think I will try some peanut butter next time). Although, I still add about 1-2 tablespoons of oil. Also substitute wheat germ for wheat bran and add protein powder. Have added chopped almonds and dried fruits (raisins, cranberries and apricots). My husband and I love them for breakfast during our busy work weeks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jar55 April 09, 2010

Oh my! This is a great basic recipe that can be forever tweaked to personal tastes. I made mine without the molasses or oil, and added raisons, Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips, and toasted almonds-I also cut the baking time to 22 min. to keep it from drying out. Absolutely delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purplegal March 27, 2010

I love this! I've just made it and when I took my first bite, I was surprised (because I'd read previous reviews to the contrary) that these weren't all that sweet. Which is good! They are very moorish, without giving you an unwanted sugar rush. Next time, I'll also try adding more applesauce, and also experimenting with different dried fruits, chopped nuts, seeds, spices. I'm sure the variations will be endless. The only down side is that they're "too healthy" for my 5 and 7 year old right now. I may have to add more sweetness, then gradually lessen it over time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliet_barnard November 30, 2009

I followed this recipe with only few modifications. I used a combo of buckwheat/spelt flour and I also added choc. chips and omitted the molasses. Everyone in my house liked these - minus my one son who wouldn't try them. I think this recipe is a good base and think I'll omit all oil for applesauce next time (after reading reviews).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolabunny1974 July 12, 2009

5 starletts. really good. did a couple changes since I didn't have certain ingredients: instead of wheat germ: oat bran; instead of sunflower: coconut oil; and instead of 2 tsp. vanilla: 1 tsp. orange extract and 1 tsp. almond extract; also, included maple syrup and honey. came out GREAT! Thanks for the basic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meeshka7 June 03, 2009
(Super Healthy) Chewy Granola Bars