Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / (Super Healthy) Chewy Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    (Super Healthy) Chewy Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2011

      Love the versatility! They are kind of cake-like and dense. Used bananas instead of oil. Added dried mango, banana chips, and sun-flower seeds. Banana chips kind of blended in though, may line them ontop next time. But will be making again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Did not really like these. I think the large amount of applesauce is why we did not like these, it did something to the texture and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Made to share at a weekly meeting we attend & cut them small so I could get 24 total! I included dried cranberries & some toasted almonds & these were a big hit ~ Gone in no time at all! Will be making these again, for sure! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC recipe tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      These were great! I made them for my family and they were gone the next day! I used coconut oil for the oil, and I used dried cranberries, cherries, sunflower seeds, and almonds. I did have to cook them a bit longer than specified.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      These are pretty great. They were a little on the not-sweet-enough side for me but I bet it depends on what additions you put in. I might try it with chocolate chips next time to see what happens. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Great base recipe. I have made these many times and have substituted the oil with mashed bananas, pumpkin puree, more applesauce or any combination of the three (I think I will try some peanut butter next time). Although, I still add about 1-2 tablespoons of oil. Also substitute wheat germ for wheat bran and add protein powder. Have added chopped almonds and dried fruits (raisins, cranberries and apricots). My husband and I love them for breakfast during our busy work weeks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Oh my! This is a great basic recipe that can be forever tweaked to personal tastes. I made mine without the molasses or oil, and added raisons, Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips, and toasted almonds-I also cut the baking time to 22 min. to keep it from drying out. Absolutely delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I love this! I've just made it and when I took my first bite, I was surprised (because I'd read previous reviews to the contrary) that these weren't all that sweet. Which is good! They are very moorish, without giving you an unwanted sugar rush. Next time, I'll also try adding more applesauce, and also experimenting with different dried fruits, chopped nuts, seeds, spices. I'm sure the variations will be endless. The only down side is that they're "too healthy" for my 5 and 7 year old right now. I may have to add more sweetness, then gradually lessen it over time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I followed this recipe with only few modifications. I used a combo of buckwheat/spelt flour and I also added choc. chips and omitted the molasses. Everyone in my house liked these - minus my one son who wouldn't try them. I think this recipe is a good base and think I'll omit all oil for applesauce next time (after reading reviews).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      5 starletts. really good. did a couple changes since I didn't have certain ingredients: instead of wheat germ: oat bran; instead of sunflower: coconut oil; and instead of 2 tsp. vanilla: 1 tsp. orange extract and 1 tsp. almond extract; also, included maple syrup and honey. came out GREAT! Thanks for the basic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      THESE ARE THE BEST!!! I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ and flax meal instead of ground flax seeds and they still turned out great! I also added less oil and 1/4 c peanut butter. A very versatile, kid-friendly, healthy, and tasty recipe. (I think the secret ingredient to this recipe is the applesauce....so don't substitute that!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Wow, despite the good reviews, while making this I was thinking it didn't look like it would be good (nasty tasting batter), but it in fact is quite tasty! I used melted coconut oil, raw honey, only 1/2 the suggested flax seed as it was all I had, and 1/2 cup dried cranberries as my add-in. Turned out great, and I will definitely be making it again. Easy, healthy, and tastes good, can't beat that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Loved them. Here's what I used: regular flour, amaranth instead of flax seed, about 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 peanut butter, no molasses, raisins and cranberries. Next time I'll use some nuts. I really liked the texture and flavor the applesauce gives. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I made these with my toddler and preschooler in mind, they were a huge hit! I made them in two varieties, one version followed the recipe and added dried cranberries and coconut. The other version, I subbed natural crunchy peanut butter for the oil, and added a little extra applesauce. I used grain sweetened chocolate chips and crunched up peanuts in that batch. Both pans were delicious, but the peanut butter bars were the clear favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is a good basic recipe that requires some tinkering to customize to your own personal tastes. I made a batch leaving out the flaxseed (my kids can only take so much fiber!) and molasses, and adding in coconut and chocolate chips. I think add-ins are essential, as the basic recipe would be very bland. But it's a nice alternative to store-bought granola bars if you're willing to experiment a bit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I LOVE these! I'm a "Breakfast on the go" type person, so I added more applesauce, and for the topping used 1.5 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, mixed with some powdered milk, for a breakfast that's quick, easy, and healthy(all 4 food groups). Yup, coffee and a snack bar... life is good...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS!! This was the first "baking" I've ever attempted, so when the result was delicious, chewy and not-too-sweet granola bars, I was ecstatic. My 20 month old toddler and husband can't get enough of them. They are chalk full of nutrition and flavor (something you don't easily find on a grocery store shelf). I followed the recipe and added pumpkin seeds and cranberries. I am so pleased this was shared.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Very good! I followed the recipe using coconut oil and I added dried mixed fruit and coconut in one batch. In another, I added coconut and dried apricots. My husband ate tons and my one year old keeps reaching for more! Thanks for a truely healthy snack for the family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Like other reviews mention, if you want "regular sweetness" add more. Nice for those of us "off sugar", but still use " a little bit" in baked items. Adding dry fruit was tasty, but I have a lot of different kinds of "bulk" dry fruit. I could not tell any specific kind were in it. Therefore, I'd recommend just using raisins, as they are cheapest. I added cocoa, and it did dry them out a bit.If I had stuck to the "2 cup" idea of the "additions" they probably would have been fine. Ditto for adding peanut butter. Overall a great recipe for those who like to cook, "Grandma Style". [just toss some in,,, what ever.... it'll be great!]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      We were just not a fan of these:o(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for (Super Healthy) Chewy Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1006 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.7
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    42%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 81.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites