24 Reviews

Loved it ! Using your ingredients and final idea, I made mine a tiny bit differently since I wasn't using thin slices of bread... I gently cooked off come onions rings in a dry, non stick fry pan until they were soft. I cut my breads in half, placed the bottom on an oven try and layered the cheeses, onions (and I added Ham) on top of it, then placed the "top" of the bread next to it on the tray. I grilled them together under a hot grill until the cheeses were nicely melted and the bread was toasted. This gave the grilled effect to the inside filling and all I needed to do was to place the "top" toasted bread on top as the lid of the sandwich. I omitted the butter altogether. My husband who works from home was rather surprised and impressed with his lunch (I'm usually at work and he has to make his own LOL). Please see my rating system: a wonderful 4 stars for an easy, tasty and healthy lunch. DH says: Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch February 13, 2008

I used cheddar, mozzarella and swiss. We loved this. Mine was with tomatoes and green onions. My son said it was good, take a few bites and then stop eating it. But these days, he's like that. Thanks Lainey :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 12, 2008

Great sandwhich! I never get tired of The Grilled Cheese...Iam a big fan.lol. I added a few slices of turkey deli meat and a few pickle slices. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkyluv February 08, 2008

YUMMERS! I made 2 servings with sourdough bread. I added tabasco sauce and pickled jalapeno slices for some extra zip. Made for the went to the market tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 07, 2008

Great sandwich. I had to lighten the fat content so I used fat free cheeses and gave the bread a light spray of Pam instead of using the butter. For me, the result was a really wonderful, satisfying lunch. Quick to make and a real winner in my book. Thanks Lainey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 06, 2008

This made for a quick dinner. Good 'ol comfort food. I used a 3 blend shredded cheese mix and otherwise followed the directins to a T! YUM-O!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog January 31, 2008

OUTSTANDING! Lainey, I'll never have a plain grilled cheese sandwich again. LOVED IT and wouldn't change a thing. Made for Zaar Stars tag, please see my rating system (I promise to make it again soon so I can give it the 5 stars it deserves.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 28, 2008

Just as I thought they would be - these were great! I used Italian bread, sharp cheddar, monterey jack and mozzarella cheese. Even my DH, who usually leaves the grilled cheese for the kids, had to have a taste and will not be passing these up next time! Thanks, Lainey6605! Made for Jan. Bev. Tag 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva January 19, 2008

Great variation of the standard grilled cheese. We loved the green onions and tomatoes on this. I didn't have sliced cheese, so used a shredded cheese mix that had all 4 cheeses listed. A little messier, lol, but still very good. Thanks Lainey for yet another winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 06, 2008

Can't go wrong with cheese and tomatoes!! Used mozzarella, cheddar and swiss cheese. Also added a pickle. Thanks Lainey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 09, 2007
Super Grilled Cheese Sandwiches