Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2010

      What a great sandwich recipe!!!! I luved the flavour of these sammies! Mmm, the flavour of the dark rye bread with the two cheeses and the tomatoes and onion (I used a shallot) was really delish. YUM! I sliced my tomatoes for ease of handling and found that worked pretty nicely. This toast has brought happy childhood memories for me as we used to have this for dinner some days. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this kepper with us, Lainey. Ill keep making it. Made and reviewed for PRMR May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This wad delicious. I have put tomatoes on grilled cheese before, but never green onions - it was a nice addition. The only change I made was to use grated mozzarella cheese instead of sliced. I put on the cheddar & jack cheeses, then the veggies, then a layer of grated mozza. Worked great. A great lunch that we will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Wow! These sandwiches are awesome! I was surprised at how you could really taste the different cheeses, I didn't think it would be so bold. The green onions are a teriffic addition as well. I also threw on a couple of pieces of bacon and all together it was one fantastic grilled cheese. Thanks for the winner Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      We thoroughly enjoyed these sandwiches for a really delicious breakfast this morning. I didn't have any green onions on hand, so I sliced one regular onion and lightly pan-fried it in a non-stick pan in a smidgeon of butter and with about a teaspoon of sugar sprinkled on it until it had just softened. Then just couldn't resist adding two cloves of chopped garlic; yes, I know it was breakfast time, but ... if you love garlic, you love it anytime! I then used the same pan, so that step was no extra work. After that, I made the sandwiches exactly to the recipe, except for adding some freshly ground black pepper and some fresh basil leaves. Loved the blend of cheeses and the overall blend of flavours. I'll certainly be making these again. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      These are great! Love the addition of the tomatoes! Used a baking method I like rather than the stove top, but other than that, yummers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Loved this, my favorite lunch is grilled cheese sandwich and this did not disappoint Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Excellent grilled cheese, but so filling. I could only eat about a fourth of it. I used Italian bread and the directed cheese, but sliced my tomatoes instead of chopping them and used red onion in place of the green because that was what I had. Loved it. Kind of messy, but that didn't hamper DH from eating 1 3/4 sandwiches (His and mine) Thanks Lainey for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This is a great sandwich! Very comforting and easy to make with delicious ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Yummy comfort food! We had this tonight for a quick dinner as I've been running around all day. Loved all the blends of cheese topped with onion and tomato! Better than your average grilled cheese, that is for sure!! Thanks, Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Delicious! Love the combination of cheeses with the tomato :) I used butter flavored baking spray on a non stick skillet,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Loved it ! Using your ingredients and final idea, I made mine a tiny bit differently since I wasn't using thin slices of bread... I gently cooked off come onions rings in a dry, non stick fry pan until they were soft. I cut my breads in half, placed the bottom on an oven try and layered the cheeses, onions (and I added Ham) on top of it, then placed the "top" of the bread next to it on the tray. I grilled them together under a hot grill until the cheeses were nicely melted and the bread was toasted. This gave the grilled effect to the inside filling and all I needed to do was to place the "top" toasted bread on top as the lid of the sandwich. I omitted the butter altogether. My husband who works from home was rather surprised and impressed with his lunch (I'm usually at work and he has to make his own LOL). Please see my rating system: a wonderful 4 stars for an easy, tasty and healthy lunch. DH says: Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I used cheddar, mozzarella and swiss. We loved this. Mine was with tomatoes and green onions. My son said it was good, take a few bites and then stop eating it. But these days, he's like that. Thanks Lainey :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Great sandwhich! I never get tired of The Grilled Cheese...Iam a big fan.lol. I added a few slices of turkey deli meat and a few pickle slices. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      YUMMERS! I made 2 servings with sourdough bread. I added tabasco sauce and pickled jalapeno slices for some extra zip. Made for the went to the market tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Great sandwich. I had to lighten the fat content so I used fat free cheeses and gave the bread a light spray of Pam instead of using the butter. For me, the result was a really wonderful, satisfying lunch. Quick to make and a real winner in my book. Thanks Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This made for a quick dinner. Good 'ol comfort food. I used a 3 blend shredded cheese mix and otherwise followed the directins to a T! YUM-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      OUTSTANDING! Lainey, I'll never have a plain grilled cheese sandwich again. LOVED IT and wouldn't change a thing. Made for Zaar Stars tag, please see my rating system (I promise to make it again soon so I can give it the 5 stars it deserves.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Just as I thought they would be - these were great! I used Italian bread, sharp cheddar, monterey jack and mozzarella cheese. Even my DH, who usually leaves the grilled cheese for the kids, had to have a taste and will not be passing these up next time! Thanks, Lainey6605! Made for Jan. Bev. Tag 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Great variation of the standard grilled cheese. We loved the green onions and tomatoes on this. I didn't have sliced cheese, so used a shredded cheese mix that had all 4 cheeses listed. A little messier, lol, but still very good. Thanks Lainey for yet another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Can't go wrong with cheese and tomatoes!! Used mozzarella, cheddar and swiss cheese. Also added a pickle. Thanks Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.1
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    52%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 39.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 420.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites