41 Reviews

These turned out awesome! The rolls were very moist and the frosting wasn't too sweet. I took these to work and everybody loved them! Thanks, I will definitely be making these again! Update: I made these again today, but did an orange-roll version. Used 1/2 c milk, 1/2 c orange juice and 1 1/2 tsp. orange zest in the dough. I used 1/4 white sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, & 1/4 c butter for the filling and added 1 tbsp. OJ & 1 tbsp. orange zest to the frosting. Delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo March 07, 2010

I've been DYING to make cinnamon rolls and when I had some leftover cream cheese to use up, I was ecstatic to find this recipe! And these are just simply AMAZING!! I added a teaspoon or two of wheat gluten to my flour to help with the rise, and probably gave them more than an hour or even two of resting time. Boy did they rise high! They are delicious, even sinfully so! So very soft and packed with the delicious filling. There's no shortage of anything here! I made my rolls smaller and ended up with almost 2 dozen, rolling, cutting and freezing the second dozen for a future batch. Everyone LOVED these rolls. With or without the icing, they are wonderful. I have tons of frosting left though so I'll probably end up covering everything with the yummy stuff! Thanks so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 24, 2009

I've done this several times with 1/2 cup of butter instead of a third. They always taste great and I will never buy cinnamon rolls again. You can even freeze them prior to baking and then leave them in the oven overnight to rise so they are ready to bake first thing in the morning. I also use a different frosting since my husband doesn't like cream cheese.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScarlettWannaB February 26, 2009

This is a super recipe. I think the bread flour is the key! I do a fair amount of baking and this recipe really worked well as written. Two additional tips -- I rolled out my dough between two sheets of parchment, because I didn't want to add too much flour (this is a somewhat stickier dough, so that's a potential challenge). Also I didn't want them to be too squished together so I separated them into one square 8x8 and a 9x13. They had plenty of room. Can't wait to make them again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenwhitt1 August 01, 2014

I have made countless cinnamon roll recipes. THIS is definitely my new favorite. So easy and soooo delicious. The dough was light and airy but still had a good bite and chew. The filling was perfect. The icing was perfect. I followed the advice of other reviewers and mixed the filling ingredients (butter, sugar and cinnamon) in my kitchen aid. Then just spread it on the dough like a thick icing. No more messy counter! And this also ensured the filling was evenly distributed. Great trick. Another great trick that came from Alton Brown is...during the second rise put the pan of rolls in the oven and a place a pan of boiling water under them. This helps the rolls rise nicely. Be sure to remove them before preheating the oven though! I baked them at 350 for 17 minutes. Ohhh and I halved the recipe and baked them in a 9 inch square baking pan. I roll them out thinly and cut them into one inch rolls. This gives me 10 cinnamon rolls. OMG. So good. Such a treat! Now if we could just get the calories out of these that would be great! ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
normajean0086_5475447 June 08, 2014

addeded pecans to the filling

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbaramayes12 November 14, 2013

Superb! Fantastic! Delicious! Tastes just like the ooey gooey pillsburry cinnamon rolls that I love so much. I also made smaller rolls and got a double recipe out of this. One is in the freezer. I'll take it out, let it rise and then bake it. The other was gobbled up within seconds! Thank you. My new go-to cinnamon roll recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel September 14, 2012

ohh maaa gawd!! these were sooo good. Tasted just like Cinnabon. I didn't have cream cheese, so I used mascarpone in it's place with worked perfectly. These were perfection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 29, 2012

These really are simple to make, and are the best cinnamon rolls! It takes me just under 3 hours, start to finish, and I'm always impressed at how easy they are to create. 6 stars if I could give it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sooozanne May 30, 2009

MMM these were sooo good! Made exactly a dozen fat, delicious rolls. Make sure after the dough finishes cycling you allow it to rest 15 minutes, otherwise the gluten tends to seize up and makes it difficult to roll out. Waiting made the dough easy to work with. After rolling the cinnamon mix covered dough up and before cutting into individual rolls, I lightly roll the rolling pin over to help press everything together. Then when I cut the rolls the cinnamon doesn't all fall out. Thanks for this fab recipe, I'm already looking for excuses to make more of these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 May 01, 2015
Super Fantastic Cinnamon Rolls (Bread Machine Recipe)