12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good. A bit too much dill for our taste--used 1 tsp. dried dill--and it turned out great, and was even better the next day! Thank you for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keohokalole July 06, 2010

Very yummy and they were better at room temp than hot. I used a lot less dill, probably more like 1 tsp of dried, which was enough for us. Mine also took about 10 minutes for the zucchini to cook. UPDATE: On day 3, I reserved the left-overs to hubby along side his left-overs from Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (chicken, crabcake, mushrooms) and with all that yummy food, he said, "wow, this zucchini is really good". Kudos to you on this recipe, Acadia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 05, 2010

I only had a brown onion on hand but it was sweet enough. I also added mushrooms and crookneck (yellow) squash and just sprinkled the dill over the top until I felt it was enough. Delicious! Not overpowering and just enough seasoning to be very tasty. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops February 11, 2015

This is such a yummy dish! I really enjoyed the flavour combination of the zucchini with the onions, dill, pepper and salt. Quite simple and totally easy to prepare and yet surprisingly complex in flavour. Yum.<br/>Thank you so much for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Acadia!<br/>Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #57, April 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 08, 2013

Mmmm, I already love zucchini madly and this recipe really takes it to the next level. I love how the veggie soaks up flavors and gets a lovely melty texture. I, too, used less dill out of personal preference. Thumbs up all around the table--thanks for posting! Made for Veg Swap January 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian February 12, 2012

Yummy! I used dried dill, maybe about 2 tsp and, I just realized, I forgot the salt and pepper! Oh well, still tasty. To be fair to the recipe, I did pull some out after 2 minutes of saute-ing. But I cooked the rest a lot longer til the zuchinni were really soft. It was good both ways, but I did kind of like it better the longer-cooked way. (And some of the onions were carmelized. YUM!) I'm sure to make this again, but probably with a little less butter just to make it a little healthier a choice. Because I ate the whole thing myself! Mmmmm...2 tablespoons of butter.... Thanks! Reviewed for the Veg*n Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 January 04, 2010

This was good- I always love zucchini! I doubled it to serve about 4 and then some. I added about a tablespoon of dried dill to my doubled recipe. It would go well with a heavily spiced main dish, since the flavors are pretty light. Thanks Acadia, we enjoyed this. Made for Ramadan Tag 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah's Kitchen September 15, 2009

I love zuchinni recipes like this! I make one very similar, but have never put dill weed in before! Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom September 14, 2009

Excellent. So easy to make too. I used light butter and white onion (our preference) and Parsley since I didn't have the dill. Loved this version of cooking zucchini. Thanks Acadia Made for Summer Spectacular 09 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 12, 2009

Made this tonight and it turned out pretty well. I ended up using regular yellow onion because that's what I had on hand, but I'm definitely going to try vidalia or another sweet onion next time because I think that extra bit of sweetness would have made it even better. I had to use dried dill because that's what I had on hand; I used 1 tsp and that was definitely plenty (I may scale that back even further in the future). I omitted the salt and just used a couple sprinkles of pepper. I also cut the zucchini into half-moons as was mentioned by justcallmetoni. I wasn't sure what the exact texture I was going for when cooking the actual zucchini was supposed to be like, so I ended up going longer than the 2 minutes (probably ended up somewhere around 5 minutes or so and that seemed to fit my family's preference). Anyway, I enjoyed this dish and my picky 3 year old has already requested the leftovers as part of her lunch for tomorrow. I appreciate the fact that this dish is lower in sodium - I plan on sharing the recipe with my mother-in-law (who has high blood pressure) as a new side dish she can try too. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts July 12, 2009
Super Easy: Zucchini Side Dish