11 Reviews

This recipe is very easy and very good! I tweaked it a little by using about an extra half cup of organic canned pumpkin and used MCT oil in place of vegetable oil. Much healthier. I also used about 3/4 organic raw sugar and some liquid vanilla stevia extract. I sprinkled some chopped pecans on top. It came out delicious!!! I'm making another loaf with a little bit of raisins mixed in and will drizzle top with cinna-honey and pecans.:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer M. October 26, 2013

I made this today with my 5 year old daughter, and it came out perfect! Everyone in the family loved it, which doesn't happen very often. I made two small changes: (1) I used half a cup of white sugar and half a cup of packed brown sugar, and (2) I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup all-purpose flour. It was moist and delicious and we will definitely be making this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vandjsaunt October 26, 2011

This recipe is amazing! After reading reviews, I made a few adjustments. Instead of white sugar, I used brown. Instead of all purpose flour, I used wheat flour. I also used extra cinnamon and added a little vanilla extract. My bread came out moist and very delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy C. October 22, 2015

This was the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! It tasted like pumpkin cake instead of bread. It was moist and lightly sweetened (I used brown sugar instead of white, 3/4 cup of organic pumpkin, and whole wheat flour). This will be my go-to recipe from now on. The kids especially loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angell_Was_Here October 02, 2015

It was very easy, I had everything right in my cabinet (except the walnuts, but we don't like them anyway). I see how it would be a great recipe to use with children. It tasted good, I like a more pumpkin taste so I'd use more pumpkin & spices next time. I doubled the recipe and I should have used a little less baking soda I think. Though it's not overpowering, I would use 1 & 1/2 tsp if I double next time. I like the fact that it's more of a true bread & not too sweet like a dessert. I will use it again & experiment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyCas October 27, 2012

I made this bread and then added on the buttercream frosting and salted caramel from this recipe:
http://www.a-kitchen-addiction.com/pumpkin-bread-with-salted-caramel-drizzled-pumpkin-buttercream-2/

It came out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BNF719 October 15, 2012

I'm giving this recipe only stars because it is a good basic recipe. I added more cinnamon and nutmeg and 1/2 cup brown sugar in addition to the white and it still was not sweet enough and kind of bland. On the plus side it was pretty easy, I had all of the ingredients on hand, and it was super moist. I may keep this recipe and just play around to make it sweeter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serena.morris October 21, 2011

A wonderful and easy recipe! I did make a few alterations though... I substituted half of the white flour with whole wheat flour, I added 1/2 a tsp of pure vanilla extract, added an additional 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and raw sugar instead of white granulated sugar.

This bread came out absolutely delicious, my boyfriend ate almost half the loaf within the first hour it came out of the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erussek October 17, 2010

It truly is super easy to make. My kids love it! I use a stoneware loaf pan so it took about 80 minutes in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liabbemom December 24, 2008

I followed the recipe, except for making allspice from scratch and using applesauce for the oil. Then I made a simple icing (I stole from a pumpkin cookie recipe) and glazed it immediately.. Shared it with our plumber and we all loved. The next day it was a little on the sticky side. This smelled so good baking. So everytime we have visitors I'll think about baking a loaf of this fantastic bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeCielo December 16, 2008
Super Easy Pumpkin Bread