Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Easy Naan Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Easy Naan Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2012

      Adding some garlic powder made these even more delicious. My pan wasn't hot enough for the first piece and it was tough, but the next one was fluffy and soft so make sure your pan is nice and hot first. I used the leftovers for breadsticks the next day by spreading pesto on them and topping with mozzarella and parm, then baking. It was sooo good, i'll be using these instead of my normal breadstick recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This is a great easy recipe, thanks! I added fresh garlic and curry powder to give it a bit more flavor. Frying with nonstick cooking spray made this fat free which is great. Only complaint is that I had to use a lot more flour than stated to get the dough to a workable consistency. Didn't measure the extra but I would estimate it took another cup. Thanks again though, lovely to be able to make this at home. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      This was super good and easy. I let mine rise for a bit longer. I agree with the other reviews, more flour is a MUST. I added spoonfuls until it wasn't sticky anymore. I would definitely recommend more salt and some garlic powder or fresh garlic butter. Overall, though, super good. My best results were when I had my cast iron griddle around medium heat. Make sure that whatever you use is already hot when you put the dough on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      I've tried a few different naan recipes and have never been completely happy with them; this one was perfect and will be the only one I use from now on.<br/><br/>Comments:<br/><br/>1) The dough was super sticky, so I worked a lot more flour into it while kneading until it no longer stuck to my hands or the board.<br/><br/>2) I had more success frying it in a dry pan without oil.<br/><br/>3) I will add a pinch more salt next time.<br/><br/>4) I cooked this last night after letting the dough rise for a couple of hours and it was very good. However, I had more dough than I needed so I decided to save the extra to cook today with my leftover curry. I left it on top of my fridge at about 73 degrees in a sealed ziploc, then cooked it today and it was PERFECT. It puffed up big and round and when I pressed it down with the spatula it developed all of those classic brown spots on it. I was so happy and proud! <br/><br/>Moral of the story: if you are able to, make the dough a day in advance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I use this recipe all the time, we all love it. If I have enough milk and eggs in the house I will substitute these. Swap salt for garlic salt too, just an extra little flavour to go with the rice and butter chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      Soooo good! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      Outstanding! We use it for pizzas, for gyros and for just serving with hummus. Thanks so much for posting this super easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Very nice naan recipe when you're in a hurry. Reminds me a little more of Navajo Fry Bread in taste. Goes excellent with any meal, or even with cinnamon-sugar butter on top for a dessert taste. Definitely needs more flour. I used my mixer, instead of kneading by hand, and used about 1 cup extra AP flour. Still a little sticky, but just about perfect consistency. Rolled out golf-ball sized chunks and pan-fried with butter brushed on each side. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      I've never baked anything bread-like from scratch before. I had no problems with this recipe. While the dough was sticky, the naan came out perfectly. I cooked them on the stove in a pan and it worked fine. :) I would suggest adding some flavoring like garlic, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      I should have known by looking at other Naan recipes, that there was far too much water. I ended up with a gooey mess, added a cup of flour and the dough was still far too wet. I don't understand how the other users managed to make decent naan out of this, impossible as far as I'm concerned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This was delicious andsuper easy!!! I made this for some friends to accompany Pakistani Dhal and one of the dinner guest said it tasted like the bread he ate in the Middle East.
      I will be making this bread often.
      Very good and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      I too had the same issue with the flour and ended up adding almost another cup, I subbed about a cup and a half of the all purpose flour with some whole wheat flour, which gave it a nice texture. make ping pong ball sized pieces and roll them out flat and it makes about 16, but if you stack the uncooked Naan be sure there is plenty of flour between them, or they will become one very thick Naan. Also if you make them in a pan, make sure to get your pan nice and hot before you start, at a medium-high heat, they puff up nicer when the pan is preheated. Very nice and very easy. Vegan friendly as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Good basic pareve (non-meat, non-dairy) naan recipe to come back to again and again. Completely unseasoned, it's simply the perfect accompaniment to any Indian meal. My family tends to like Pooris more (same idea, only deep-fried!), but they readily accepted these hot, fresh and delicious naan instead! Like a previous reviewer, I had a very wet dough when I dumped in all the water (I used a food processor to mix and knead), and added perhaps half a cup of extra flour to compensate (it was still on the moist side). I use a standard weight of 135g of all-purpose flour per cup. In any recipe where you're measuring the flour in cups instead of weighing it, you're going to get inconsistencies. p.s. Makes plenty for 10-12 nice thin pan-sized Naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      This was great! I followed directions as given, except for the amount of flour, as others have noted. I just added enough to make a soft dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Very nice naan - very easy too. Perfect for a quick accompaniment to some Tarka Dal lentils for a weeknight supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This is the simplest naan recipe... and turns out excellent! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Easy Naan Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    70%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites