18 Reviews

This is a great easy recipe, thanks! I added fresh garlic and curry powder to give it a bit more flavor. Frying with nonstick cooking spray made this fat free which is great. Only complaint is that I had to use a lot more flour than stated to get the dough to a workable consistency. Didn't measure the extra but I would estimate it took another cup. Thanks again though, lovely to be able to make this at home. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet_girl May 11, 2009

Adding some garlic powder made these even more delicious. My pan wasn't hot enough for the first piece and it was tough, but the next one was fluffy and soft so make sure your pan is nice and hot first. I used the leftovers for breadsticks the next day by spreading pesto on them and topping with mozzarella and parm, then baking. It was sooo good, i'll be using these instead of my normal breadstick recipe from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimsonfae July 29, 2012

Fantastic recipe! I have made these twice now. The first time was my first ever time making naan and they turned out amazing. The second time I made them for a dinner party and received rave reviews from friends. I agree with another reviewer that more flour is needed, the second time I measured about 3/4 cup (probably a little more) added plus the extra needed for rolling out. I also don't have a grill or electric griddle where I live so I used the fry pan method with coconut oil instead of non-stick cooking spray for a healthier version and a little boost in flavor. The coconut oil seemed to be the selling point for both my boyfriend and me, it adds just a hint of coconut flavor and doesn't taste fried. Served with a lentil curry the first time slathered with vegan butter and fresh garlic - it was amazing! I made four naan's for dinner the first night and saved the other four for the next days lunch. They were even better the second day as they were left to rise overnight. The second time they were made for a dinner party I just sprinkled a bit of sea salt and pepper served alongside some hummus. Everyone loved them, even after they cooled down. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meg P. May 03, 2015

Followed the recipe to the letter other than using my Kitchenaid stand mixer. Mixed with the paddle, on about speed 3, until the dough came together, about a minute or so. Then I switched to the dough hook and let it run on speed 3 for maybe 3 minutes, until the dough cleared the side and made the thump thump sound.it The dough proofed in the oven for 30 minutes. Followed the rest of the directions exactly. Didn't need more flour or more seasoning. First try, will be a family recipe and a go-to when I'm out of bread. No extra flour was necessary. 50 feet above sea level, extra flour is normally needed, not this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Haven Inn February 04, 2015

This was super good and easy. I let mine rise for a bit longer. I agree with the other reviews, more flour is a MUST. I added spoonfuls until it wasn't sticky anymore. I would definitely recommend more salt and some garlic powder or fresh garlic butter. Overall, though, super good. My best results were when I had my cast iron griddle around medium heat. Make sure that whatever you use is already hot when you put the dough on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
isbellewells July 14, 2014

I've tried a few different naan recipes and have never been completely happy with them; this one was perfect and will be the only one I use from now on.<br/><br/>Comments:<br/><br/>1) The dough was super sticky, so I worked a lot more flour into it while kneading until it no longer stuck to my hands or the board.<br/><br/>2) I had more success frying it in a dry pan without oil.<br/><br/>3) I will add a pinch more salt next time.<br/><br/>4) I cooked this last night after letting the dough rise for a couple of hours and it was very good. However, I had more dough than I needed so I decided to save the extra to cook today with my leftover curry. I left it on top of my fridge at about 73 degrees in a sealed ziploc, then cooked it today and it was PERFECT. It puffed up big and round and when I pressed it down with the spatula it developed all of those classic brown spots on it. I was so happy and proud! <br/><br/>Moral of the story: if you are able to, make the dough a day in advance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyshell May 30, 2014

I use this recipe all the time, we all love it. If I have enough milk and eggs in the house I will substitute these. Swap salt for garlic salt too, just an extra little flavour to go with the rice and butter chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya S. May 25, 2014

Soooo good! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole Good April 24, 2014

Outstanding! We use it for pizzas, for gyros and for just serving with hummus. Thanks so much for posting this super easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom March 31, 2014

Very nice naan recipe when you're in a hurry. Reminds me a little more of Navajo Fry Bread in taste. Goes excellent with any meal, or even with cinnamon-sugar butter on top for a dessert taste. Definitely needs more flour. I used my mixer, instead of kneading by hand, and used about 1 cup extra AP flour. Still a little sticky, but just about perfect consistency. Rolled out golf-ball sized chunks and pan-fried with butter brushed on each side. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesss1085 April 07, 2013
Super Easy Naan Bread