41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good and very fast! I marinated chicken in egg whites and cornstarch then dusted it in cornstarch and fried. I was out of Tabasco so I used 3 Tbs of Chili sauce (the oriental kind) and followed everything else. It was good! It was hot but we like it hot! This is a diffenate keeper-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyjoy #2 November 15, 2009

Pretty good for a similar version! <br/>I didn't have 6 T. of Tabasco, so I used a tablespoon and a half, then a tablespoon of Louisiana hot sauce. It was plenty hot! (For me anyways, my dad probably added some heat while I wasn't looking ;) <br/>I used xylitol instead of sugar, using equal amounts, plus about 4-6 extra tablespoons since I like it more sweet than spicy. I didn't have any chicken broth base or bouillon, so I threw in an extra tablespoon of water and some spices that I figured might go in chicken broth (dash of garlic, pinch of salt, shake or so of parsley.) It turned out great! Everyone loved it. I used normal soy sauce but I will probably try gluten-free next time with coconut aminos. I used broccoli instead of Chinese vegetables and that worked well too. <br/>Definitely going to keep this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
so.is.my.love.for.you August 13, 2014

I just got a text from Jesus Christ and he gives this thing 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrishickie78 May 13, 2014

This really works! I've been using just a tablespoon of habanero sauce for the heat. My roommate keeps eating all of my leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andponytails November 15, 2011

good technique

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haas1223 March 28, 2011

This was AWESOME! I have never tried General Tso Chicken before but my husband said it was better than what he gets in the restaurants! When I make it again I will probably use less hot sauce so our 11 year old can enjoy it as well. Just a little too spicy for him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisamarie07 March 22, 2011

Awesome Recipe! I used frozen battered chicken instead of raw. I also used about a half cup more sugar and a bit less hot sauce than was called for in the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifermarie July 06, 2010

Awesome! I had some frozen battered fish fillets. So i used that in place of the chicken. Turned out great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyloowhoo March 13, 2010

Wonderful! This was terrific and so easy to make! Goes terrific with Chinese Fried Rice!!! Thanks so much for sharing! Made this on Sat and on Wed everyone is asking for it again!! The whole family enjoyed. I didn't find it too spicy. I used Franks Hot Sauce instead of tobasco. I'm not a fan of super hot. This worked great for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holley Mc March 10, 2010

This was easy and fast! I used 3 smaller chicken breasts and halved the sauce and it made about 3 servings. I used 1 tsp. regular Tabasco in the sauce since I didn't want it to be too hot...and I kept tasting it as I mixed it together and thought it was spicy enough, but by the time the sauce was finished and on the chicken, it really wasn't that spicy at all, so next time I will try 2 tsp. We made it into rice bowls and it was pretty yummy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen February 24, 2010
Super-Easy General Tso Chicken