Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super-Easy General Tso Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super-Easy General Tso Chicken

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2009

      This was very good and very fast! I marinated chicken in egg whites and cornstarch then dusted it in cornstarch and fried. I was out of Tabasco so I used 3 Tbs of Chili sauce (the oriental kind) and followed everything else. It was good! It was hot but we like it hot! This is a diffenate keeper-

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2014

      Pretty good for a similar version! <br/>I didn't have 6 T. of Tabasco, so I used a tablespoon and a half, then a tablespoon of Louisiana hot sauce. It was plenty hot! (For me anyways, my dad probably added some heat while I wasn't looking ;) <br/>I used xylitol instead of sugar, using equal amounts, plus about 4-6 extra tablespoons since I like it more sweet than spicy. I didn't have any chicken broth base or bouillon, so I threw in an extra tablespoon of water and some spices that I figured might go in chicken broth (dash of garlic, pinch of salt, shake or so of parsley.) It turned out great! Everyone loved it. I used normal soy sauce but I will probably try gluten-free next time with coconut aminos. I used broccoli instead of Chinese vegetables and that worked well too. <br/>Definitely going to keep this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      I just got a text from Jesus Christ and he gives this thing 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This really works! I've been using just a tablespoon of habanero sauce for the heat. My roommate keeps eating all of my leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      good technique

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This was AWESOME! I have never tried General Tso Chicken before but my husband said it was better than what he gets in the restaurants! When I make it again I will probably use less hot sauce so our 11 year old can enjoy it as well. Just a little too spicy for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Awesome Recipe! I used frozen battered chicken instead of raw. I also used about a half cup more sugar and a bit less hot sauce than was called for in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Awesome! I had some frozen battered fish fillets. So i used that in place of the chicken. Turned out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Wonderful! This was terrific and so easy to make! Goes terrific with Chinese Fried Rice!!! Thanks so much for sharing! Made this on Sat and on Wed everyone is asking for it again!! The whole family enjoyed. I didn't find it too spicy. I used Franks Hot Sauce instead of tobasco. I'm not a fan of super hot. This worked great for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This was easy and fast! I used 3 smaller chicken breasts and halved the sauce and it made about 3 servings. I used 1 tsp. regular Tabasco in the sauce since I didn't want it to be too hot...and I kept tasting it as I mixed it together and thought it was spicy enough, but by the time the sauce was finished and on the chicken, it really wasn't that spicy at all, so next time I will try 2 tsp. We made it into rice bowls and it was pretty yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      The sauce is excellent! I could eat it on about anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I agree with the hot sauce recommendation. I only used 2 T. and there was still plenty of kick. I was a little disappointed. I could really taste the Tobasco so it didn't seem that Asian to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Very good-even my 3 year old enjoyed it! And it was super easy to make! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This was very good. We only used 4 T. of hot sauce and it was still way too hot for us though. I think you could easily get away with only 2 or even less. We really did like the taste though beyond the heat factor. I will try again, next time using less hot sauce and I am sure we will enjoy it even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This doesn't really taste like the general tso chicken you get from chinese restaurants, but it is still okay. However, I had to make adjustments after the first time. We only used 3 TB oftobasco the first time, and we could barely eat it, it was so hot. Last timeI fixed it, I used 1 TB and it was splenty spicey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This recipe was terrible, the sauce was horrible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Delicious. Better than I thought it would taste. Easy to make with on hand ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

    • on November 03, 2008

      This was a really good make-at-home version of my favorite chinese dish. My only complaint is that it is TOO SWEET! Next time I will only use 1/2 c sugar, and I might even try brown. I coated my chicken in corn starch and pan fried in oil before adding to sauce (most authentic chinese restaurants use a coated chicken). I'm thinking my husband might like some red pepper flakes added also. Very good, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This was awesome! I used about 3/4 cup of sugar and next time I will probably use only 1/2 cup. My hubby, son & daughter devoured it! I also coated the chicken in 3 tbs of cornstarch. It gave them a light coating and they came out great. It was a fast, easy and delicious recipe. Definitely a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super-Easy General Tso Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    65%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3187.2 mg
    132%
    Total Carbohydrate 110.2 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 51.1 g
    204%
    Protein 33.7 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese vegetables

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes