12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made for two and still had leftovers. Key is super thin cuke and onion slices. I did make my own dressing. Delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 03, 2013

Very good! And refreshing too. This was very easy to do. I thinly cut the veggies by hand as I have no mandolin - although I can see how that would make it even faster. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 56

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 23, 2013

Simple, easy, quick and did I say wonderful?
Yes wonderful recipe Acadia!
I also left the skin on , and could not be bothered dragging out the mandolin I just cut as fine as I could, I also used red onion's as I already had some finely sliced for another recipe.
Everyone loved this........... Wonderful recipe for a warm Aussie summer, and with it coming on very quickly, I will be using this again and again....!!!! Especially seeing that (I think) I have planted far too many cucumber's this year !!!
Thanks Acadia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme November 30, 2012

Made this for DH's Fathers Day dinner and it was so easy to put together! I used a larger english cucumber, one half of a red onion (had on hand), and zesty italian dressing. We loved it and will be keeping the ingredients in the fridge so we can make it often! Made and reviewed for the Vegetarian/Vegan Forums Recipe Swap #47 - June 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 19, 2012

This couldn't be any easier & yields great results. I left the skin on half of the cucumber for color. The mandolin made wonderful thin slices. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D October 16, 2011

I had an unwaxed, organic cucumber and decided to wash it well and leave the peel on. The dressing was a reduced fat Italian. This made a great side to Firecracker Foot-Longs and Maple Baked Beans. They are also great mixed into a tossed salad and served with extra Italian dressing. Made for the Diabetic Forum and the 2nd Annual Tailgate Party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 09, 2011

One can never, ever, have enough cucumbers. These are the hit of the evening, as they bring freshness, lovely colors, and aroma of Spring. I followed this exactly, except made my own seasoned salad dressing from white vinegar, light oil, and added large crystallized sea salt. Took rounds of shallot and put in between layered cucumbers. Served in a clear container...which was a huge hit! Thanks for posting such a treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 01, 2011

Just like mom used to make. Mmmm, mmmmm, good! Secret is to slice them SO thin. Ate ours after 48 hours and they were great. The more zesty your dressing, the better your results will be. THANKS for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 14, 2010

Sister said it was really good and it was very easy to make so therefore 5 stars. I didn't taste it because of an allergy to the salad dressing. I used a store bought Italian dressing and shallots for the onion. Made for Potluck Tag to go to Acadia’s Anything with Onions Party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 02, 2010

Very simple but Very Tasty! I made my own italian salad dressing, using Homemade Italian Salad Dressing. It will be a regular salad at own house, especially when we are grilling!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia March 29, 2010
Super Easy: Cucumber Salad