Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Super Duper Deep Conditioning Hair Treatment for Damaged Hair Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Super Duper Deep Conditioning Hair Treatment for Damaged Hair

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2010

      I tried the recipe last night; it's fabulous!So much better than commercial products. Since my hair is short, I used 1/4 cup mayo, 1 tablespoon olive oil and one egg.( I think using 1/8 cup mayo would have been plenty.) I added a few drops of lavendar essential oil to the mix. I plastered my hair with it and put on a plastic shower cap. Over that I put on a hair towel and slept with that on. It stayed on about 12 hours and then I rinsed it out. I shampooed twice, as I wanted to make sure I got the mixture out. I used some bottled hair conditioner, just to make it easier to comb through wet. I dried and styled my hair and it feels great. It's a lot softer and I have less dry pieces and frizzies all around. My hair is thick, coarse and color-treated. No other conditioner or hair oil has helped. I highly recommend this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Worked extremely well. My hair was very damaged and now my hair is very soft and silky after just one use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I want to say thank you for this recipe!!! It has tremendously done wonders to my scalp and hair. My scalp used to have a helmet of dandruff or sores.:( I've used the conditioner three times and my scalp is healthier with only a very small quarter size spot of dandruff. And the shine is outstanding!!!! Thanx a million, Shanelle ferguson

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      here is a way i do use this.... brush hair first, then use a big toothed comb (kind you use with conditioner in shower) & spread the mixture through my hair all the way to the end... next i either bard or twist my hair & clip it with a barrette on top of my head then put a shower cap on topthen take a hot wash cloth wrung out & put it on top then follow with a dry towel. when done i jut take everything off & step into the shower & let the water rinse of very warm water & comb through just like i was conditionoing.. then follow with a cold rinse... hope this helps some others out there as it helps be able to really rinse the hair out with the very warm water to be able to comb through.. also i like to take a relaxing soak bath while waiting to treatmet & ican always use the rinse the tub out at the same time with the shower afterwards...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Worked wonderfully - my hair looked like Rachel Green's after I washed and styled it :)

      I washed and conditioned after I let it sit for a couple hours but it still felt great after.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      this treatment worked great! I conditioned my hair shortly after to get rid of the potato salad smell on my head, and my hair looks and feels amazing!!! Would recommend this treatment to anyone, with an advisement of a brief application of a scented conditioner to eliminate the smell :) will be using this treatment bi-monthly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This works great! If your mayo and eggs are cold a quick way to warm them up instead of a microwave is to run some warm water in the sink and set your mixing bowl in while stirring together. Just enough water so that bowl doesn't float or tip over. I put a couple drops of essential oil in to get rid of salad smell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      This worked so poorly for me I cannot believe it worked well for anyone else. Maybe because you've never had manageable hair???? My hair used to be soft and manageable, but ever since I got blonde highlights it has been dry and difficult to comb after I wash it. I have always used a lot of conditioner, and it used to make my hair extra soft and very easy to comb through, but now it's impossible.

      My hair is longer than it ever has been and since I got the highlights it is just ridiculous, so I've been trying different deep conditioners and hair masks. I don't have a lot of money so I use the cheaper brands like Pantene and Dove and Neutrogena, but none of them have made my hair any softer or easier to manage. I've heard of people using mayo and other household ingredients to condition their hair so I came online looking for a recipe. I read all the reviews before I tried this, and only one of them made me a bit wary.

      I was willing to put up with the smell in exchange for the supposed benefit, but now I am just angry. As soon as I started rinsing it out I noticed my hair felt more course than it did before. It wasn't soft or silky at all. Because the texture was the exact opposite of what I was trying to achieve, I decided to shampoo and condition it as normal in attempt to get the awful smell out. I used TWICE as much conditioner as I normally do (which is already A LOT) and I still can't pull a comb through it. It's disgusting. I don't know if the treatment will make my hair appear shinier because it hasn't dried yet, but I don't even care if it does or not. I am just upset that so many people wrote good reviews about this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe! I found this while googling for a homemade conditioner that won't break the bank. I have REALLY dry damaged hair. I bleached my hair on numerous occasions over the year and my hair is pretty much dead. I recently dyed my hair a darker color to make it look more natural, and it looked horrible. It was frizzy and just fried looking. I must admit that I was a skeptic, even after reading all of the other reviews. I just knew that I would be one of the ones that it didn't work for. I figured I don't really have anything to lose and tried it. I was hoping for the best and expecting the worst. I must admit that I am extremely pleased with the results. My hair is soft and shiny and more manageable. My ends are still a little frizzy, but nothing a trim and another application of this can't fix. My husband even noticed how much better my hair looks. My plans were to leave this on all day, but life as a mom kicked in and my plans were foiled. I ended up leaving it on for an hour and a half. The only thing I don't like about it is when it starts warming up from your body temp, it melts and runs down your head and face. Even with a shower cap on, it was all over the place. I rolled some tissue and tucked it under the edges of the shower cap, but that didn't help much either. I finally ended up wrapping a towel around my head and the shower cap. That seemed to work, but my towel was greasy afterwards. The smell is awful too, so I took the advice of other reviewers and followed up with my regular conditioner once it was all washed out. That took care of the smell. And as others said, this makes A LOT of finished product. It was just enough for me, but I have very thick, very long hair. For those with short or thin hair, I would recommend cutting this recipe in half or even 1/3. I will definitely be incorporating this into my hair care routine from now on! The only thing I regret is that I didn't find this recipe sooner!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I actually made an account because I am so upset with the results. I used about 1/2 cup mayo, roughly 2 tablespoons olive oil, and then 1 egg. I also kept it in about 2 hours. I was expecting greasy hair at the ending and it was the complete opposite!! My hair is dryer and more coarse then I have ever had it in my life. It feels like a wig. It doesn't even deserve a star to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Oh my goodness. This conditioner works really well!
      But... it smells
      SO BAD. haha. I could deal with it, but I did sort of want to throw up...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      Awesome at-home treatment! I have shoulder length, extremely thick hair and was able to cut the recipe in half and had just enough. I left it on about a half an hour, covered with saran wrap and a towel. After I rinsed out, I also used a scented conditioner to make my hair smell better. I shampooed and styled the next day and am extremely pleased with the results. It's really soft and shiny! I'll definitely be doing this at least once a month.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      I tried this recipe for the first time & I will be using it again!!!!!!......I would recommend using the "Deep Hair Cleanse" recipe (on this website) BEFORE this conditioning treatment to deeply clean your hair of any residue buildup....allowing for better absorption during THIS conditioning treatment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      I have long (reaches my lower back), thick hair and the amount in the recipe was just enough to cover all of it. It's not a very difficult process. I left it on for about an hour and a half, rinsed it out thoroughly and finished with cold water. I woke up the next morning and washed my hair like normal with shampoo and conditioner. I noticed that my hair was a little shinier. It's been a couple of days since I did the treatment and my scalp and hair line has broken out. It might just be because I have sensitive skin or maybe I did something wrong. Just an FYI for those with sensitive skin or if you're prone to breaking out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Made my hair so oily. I have a special event today and my hair looks like I haven't washed it in day's. It didn't work the way I thought it would!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Although my family were really entertained by my trying this treatment, I figured I had nothing to lose :) I left it on overnight and washed out in the morning, and everyone commented on the shine, I will be doing this on a regular (probably monthly) basis! Lovely recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      This recipe is amazing, aside from the oily hair the next day. I frequently dye my hair and I was worried about destroying my hair when I bleached it this year. Two nights before bleaching, I used this recipe and after bleaching when my hair was dry, it was soft and felt like hair, not damaged and brittle. It really works and any time you think about bleaching or you want shinier healthier (not damaged hair) use this recipe. You will be very happy with the results, I know I was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I've been doing mayo for years but knew that there must be something else out there that cold step it up a notch. This is amazing. No need to go out and spend good money on OTC products with chemicals and other additives. Nature knew what she was doing all along and all we need we can generally find in our kitchen! I made probably half the recipe (didn't measure anything) and it was enough for my thick shoulder length hair as well as my face/neck. I still had a bit left over so before I stepped in the shower I slathered the rest sparingly over my entire body. My face/neck was a bit red (I must have pretty sensitive skin) but it is subsiding and my skin and hair both look and feel beautiful. I would love to be able to incorporate this monthly into my routine. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Years ago there was a host on tv for the after noon movie. She had the most beautiful hair. She shared one day that she used mayonnaise. I have been doing this ever since,it is great. Like her I only use mayonnaise. see no need to add other ingredients, since these things are in the mayo. I use saran wrap which works better than a shower cap, for me anyway. This is a good thing, try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      MY HAIR LOOKS GREAT! but... my hair smelled like mayo... ew... i smelled like a sandwich. No one else noticed but i did. i sprayed some perfume and it was better. My hair was awesome. Lots of comments

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Super Duper Deep Conditioning Hair Treatment for Damaged Hair

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1009.5
     
    Calories from Fat 894
    88%
    Total Fat 99.3 g
    152%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 279.5 mg
    93%
    Sodium 847.5 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites