14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good and so easy to put together. I added some basil and red pepper flakes to the meat mixture and only 1 tsp of splenda because we don't like it too sweet. As other did I also used extra cheeses. I'll make this one again. Thanks for sharing. Made for WTTM Tag Game :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 13, 2010

This humble spaghetti pie has made it into my Best of 2010 list, it was wonderful! How can a home-made fast food style meal taste so naughty! It tasted like a fat laden pizza or lasgane, and yet it was lower in fat and made with GREAT ingredients. I used low fat cottage cheese and olive oil in place of margarine, I also dry fried my lean 95% meat beef and low fat sausages, then drained the scant amount of fat off. The spaghetti crust held and made a great pie crust and the taste was sublime, a REAL home-cooked and hearty meal, a keeper for us! I will be making this for a pot luck meal next week, but bigger, will let you know how the larger version turns out. Made for Recipe Swap #41, Magic of herbs, in the Photo's Forum - I used FRESH oregano leaves and also Under Cover - Pies and Tarts in the Photo's Forum. 10 star, merci! FT:-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart June 16, 2010

Yahoooo. great dish. I made this for an RV rally (one neighbor came back for thirds!!!) rave reviews and NO leftovers. I added a few leftover whole tomatoes ( my sauce was a bit dry) and of coase added more cheese (just the way I am) Made for Star tag and so glad I did.. added to my favorites ASAP.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby February 09, 2010

Oh yum!! This was really delicious. I made it a day ahead of time,so when I came in from work I could just throw it into the oven.It worked a treat,and within 40 mins we were all sat down down and tucking in. I used hot Italian sausage,and my favourite homemade tomato sauce which gave a nice little zip to it. An easily prepared,thoroughly satisfying and tasty meal,that even my two year old devoured with gusto! Thanks for sharing.Made for Gimme Five.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo July 22, 2009

Very good recipe and also freezes well. I made the recipe as written except for stirring in a little ricotta with the cottage cheese (no harm in more cheese, right?) Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxGriffLover July 09, 2009

Great week-night meal with great taste. I did use ricotta cheese in place of cottage cheese and because I was out of mozzarella, I used shredded sharp cheddar. I wasn't sure what seasoned pepper was, so I just used regular ground pepper.
Made for Zaar Stars~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 28, 2012

Assembled earlier in day which is always a thumbs up in our house. I used Italian seasoned ground turkey for meat and wished I had omitted the salt-didn't dawn on me at time that the meat already had salt in it. I did not add any sugar. Think I would use a shorter strand of pasta next time so it's easier scooping up although the long pasta has more eye appeal. Thanks weekender for sharing a very nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal November 08, 2011

This made a great lunch for my DD and I today. I added extra mozzarella over the cottage cheese layer. We both had seconds. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 24, 2010

Very easy to put together and very kid friendly. I increased everything just a bit because I knew that it would be eaten up quickly by a group of teenage boys. Everyone loved it. Made for Zaar stars. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 17, 2010

Made it for my family last night and everyone was raving about it! I double the recipe and it was perfect for a big crowd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse Amanda January 12, 2010
Super Baked Spaghetti Pie