Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sunshine Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sunshine Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2009

      I was a little unsure of these when I opened them up and tried them. They were yummy but not crunchy like everyone was saying and I was sure I did something wrong. Duh. Put them in the fridge and they were just as yummy as everyone was saying. My 'brine' turned cloudy and I have some garlic cloves that turned blue (yes, blue! I have no idea!!) but still yummy! I'm moving the current batch to smaller jars and letting the CSA know I'm ready for more cukes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was such an easy and carefree recipe to try! I like that I didn't have to have my oven on to make them--this freed up room for other preserving I was doing. At first I was a little worried about the whole spoiling aspect of this style of 'cooking' but I think the high level of vinegar can kill just about anything. I think next time I'll try them without any garlic because I stuffed 3 cloves in and the flavor was a little strong but that was my own variation not the recipe. My picky 4 year old son, a pickle conessiour, loved them. We had a really hot day on one of the days and the jar acually sealed come morning. Thanks for sharing! I will defintely make this many more times in the future! Saeriu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      The day after I made these (while they were sunning on my deck rail), I went to a Schwaben picnic. The Schwaben is a club for German immigrants. I mentioned the 'new' recipe I was trying and was quickly assured that the recipe is older than time. It's how it was done when they were children in the old country (these ladies are in their 80's and 90's). They assured me that the old ways are the best ways and I would like them. And I REALLY do! They are addictive. These pickles are super easy to make, have wonderful flavor and crunch, but are very, very salty. Before I started the recipe, I read the reviews stating they were salty, but I didn't reduce the salt, since I wasn't sure if it would ruin the recipe. What I did after determining they were too salty was to drain the brine and replace it with the vinegar and water called for without the salt. It did help some. That being said, they aren't so salty that I won't make them again. I truely like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This was a fun way to make great dill pickles! Best dill pickles I've ever made. Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      These are great! I left them out an extra day because of lack of sunshine. They are crispy and fantastic and addicting. I will be making more of them! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. Today is only day 3 + a few hours, but I just couldn't wait. The guys were out baling hay so I snitched the top pickle in the jar, put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to chill and OMG. Excellent I have not make pickles in 5 years because they were always soft. This recipe is a keeper for sure!! I did use distilled water because I was afraid my tap water (well water but softened) might cause a problem. Thanks again, and if you know the little old lady in Wisconsin, big hugs to her from me and mine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      The best I have ever tasted. I added some crushed red pepper to the jar. Really, really tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Wow!!! I told my finicky husband that I was making these and he frowned. How could I leave cucumbers outside for that long and expect him to eat them??? Well, once he started on them, he couldn't stop! In fact, everyone loved them so much that I very quickly made a second batch. My first batch was made with dried dill because I had some and didn't want to go to the store. It worked fine, but could have used more dill flavor. For the next batch, I used real dill and what a difference! I also added red pepper flakes to both batches, adding even more to the second batch. Wonderful! These stay crisp and delicious in the fridge. Thanks so much for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      these were great, my family loved them and they were super easy. I ment to review these last year,can't wait to make more this year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Notes: Follow recipe exactly. Don't taste your pickles until they are evenly colored or evenly translucent throughout. Check pickle jar daily. If scum forms on the brine surface, it is yeast growth and needs to be removed to avoid spoilage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Best pickles ever! Crunchy but mine came out too salty, I don't think I actually measured the amount I put in. But other than that were great. My mom was actually jealous to me for making better pickles than her!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe! Followed it excactly and came out fantastic! No more store bought pickles for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Great pickles and they get better as they sit some.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      They look like dill pickles, they smell like dill pickles, but for me, they are too salty, so my next batch I plan on using less salt. The recipe is super easy too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Great pickles and they couldn't be any easier to make. I didn't add enough dill for my tastes so next time I will add more for a more intense flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We made 5 different recipes this year. Next year, we need only one...and this one is it!!..The Sunshine Pickles are the best I have tasted yet..they beat the other recipes by a landslide. Thanks for the BEST pickles yet..we added a lot of garlic, but otherwise didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I have never made pickles before in my life. Our next door neighbor has this phenomenal garden and has given us several cucumbers this year. I thought I would try my hand at some pickles. With some reservations, I tried it. And I tried this recipe. And they are TO DIE FOR!!!!!!!! They are crispy and crunchy and nice and dill-y and everything! My 10 year old son - my only other pickle eater in the house - LOVES them! Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      these are honestly just like claussen pickles. I added lots of garlic and it was fantastic. I might cut down the salt some but these are wonderful. definately make these again. thanks for shareing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Loved these Debber! I love to have pickles on hand to have along with soup and sandwiches at lunch time. Great recipe! The pickles are nice and crunchy too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Amazing and Simple, THANK YOU!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sunshine Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (1288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56598.6 mg
    2358%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes