11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was ok... I wasn't really excited about the flavor. I baked 3 chicken legs and a bone-in breast. It may have been better if I had grilled them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge December 22, 2013

I wanted to try this recipe, but had no apricot preserves or A1 Steak Sauce. But I DID have cherry preserves & Country Bob's Meat Sauce (for steak, chicken, fish - whatever!) I let it cook for 40 minutes, but I was about 10 minutes short of being cooked all the way through - the chicken was still a litte pinkish red right next to the bone - but the flavor was divine! For anyone who likes cherries - this is a great way to use them! Oh, & I added a heaping squirt of honey, just to make it extra sticky! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabelui December 10, 2013

Great flavor. A little tangy, not too sweet. Like another reviewer, I also used 12 boneless skinless thighs, and there was a lot of fat. So easy to prepare. This made an excellent quick dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glassylady July 30, 2013

The sauce was really good. But it didn't seem to make enough to cover 12 drumsticks. I would maybe double it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY May 08, 2010

Ok, I wasn't able to follow the directions exactly, but I think the original would be just as good as what I did (esp. since my changes were based on need/lack of ingredients). I used 4 drumsticks and made the sauce with 1T steak sauce, 1/2 c tropical fruit chutney, 1/4 c ketchup, 2T brown sugar, and 1 t cornstarch. I let the chicken bake @ 400 degrees for 15 minutes then I turned the chicken and added half the sauce. After another 15 minutes I turned the chicken and added the rest of the sauce. I continued to bake and periodically turn the chicken til it was done. And it was absolutely divine! I was very surprised and happy, so I think I'll have to try the original too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 October 18, 2009

yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floresa34 August 26, 2009

These were very yummy. I used boneless skinless thighs since that is what I had on hand, so it was fattier than it probably would have been otherwise. I am interested in trying with chicken breasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins November 08, 2007

The basic combination of flavors was good with the chicken, and it was super quick to put together, but I found the steak sauce a little too overwhelming for my taste. Next time, I think I will increase the amount of ketchup and apricot preserves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria April 22, 2005

These were great! I love the sauce...I can't wait to try it on other pieces of chicken. Yummy! Thanks for posting such a wonderful, quick and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel December 06, 2004

This was great! Fast and easy. I was trying to find a drumstick recipe where I had everything so I wouldn't have to go to the store. I used Smucker's low-sugar orange marmalade. It was great but I'm anxious to try the Apricot Preserves next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Make It Easy! November 28, 2004
Sunshine Chicken Drumsticks