Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sunset Orzo With Spanish Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sunset Orzo With Spanish Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2013

      This is a great recipe and one I plan to make again soon! Living here on the Gulf Coast, we have fresh shrimp readily available and I love mixing them with the flavors of the chorizo and smoky paprika. This dish resembles a paella, but I really like the orzo better than rice. Thanks for a great recipe. Made for the Best of 2012 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      What a great and flavorful dish! I made half the recipe but with 10 oz of shrimp and got 2 generous servings. The lemony shrimp was a perfect combination with the orzo and veggies. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2012 event, recommended by FLKeysJen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      I'm with ya, Boomette -- love the orzo! I had two pounds of shrimp, so I doubled the recipe. Really flavorful, and so vibrant in color. My only complaint was that I shouldn't have added the extra turmeric because it gave the dish a bit of a bitter undertone, but that was my own fault (I was looking at the extra spoonful and thinking I shouldn't add that much turmeric, but then I just tossed it in anyway). Other than that, this recipe was perfect for us. I'm sure I'll be making this one again, thanks for posting! Made for The Honeys for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Five stars all the way! Not sure if the turmeric is even necessary - comes together quickly with lots of huge flavor. Next time I'll use a full pound box of orzo to serve four people. Also there must be a way to reduce the number of pots. Unlike Rachael, I don't have a staff to clean my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I thought the turmeric was very overwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was simple and delicious. I will definitely be making this again in the near future. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I loved this!! I had to substitute for the orzo, I thought I had some but didn't so I used ditalini pasta instead. I found some turkey chorizo and combined that with the rest of the linguica I had. Used a spanish onion and spanish smoked paprika. The shrimp had a good flavor all by themselves. Topped with some grated manchengo cheese. Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas of ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Wow, this dish is awesome. I loved all the flavors and textures, sooo good. The orzo is delicious and the shrimp are too die for, simply juicy, tender and spicy. I love the combination of the orzo with the spicy shrimp. Boomie thanks so much for sharing this wonderful dish, which I will be enjoying often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This was the first time I have ever cooked with orzo or saffron. Boy, have I been missing out. The saffron was a little hard for me to find around here, but worth the effort. This is Amazing! I couldn't believe how fast this was to put together. I used Colonel Hatch's Chorizo for the spanish chorizo and it turned out so yummy! Thanks for sharing this very special recipe, we absolutely loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      What a terrific, easy, seafood delight that takes such a short time to make. I didn't change one thing about this, but did marinate the shrimp prior to making this using Marinated Shrimp. I love orzo pasta as well, and use mine interchangeably when requiring rice. The spanish chorizo is such a great addition, that if you have access to, is really worth the extra $. I added a bit of fresh diced tomato on top mixed with some of the peppers. Oh a very special taste sensation indeed. Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* April 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sunset Orzo With Spanish Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 508.6
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    34%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 158.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1060.0 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites