15 Reviews

Quick and easy! I also added 1/2 cup of roasted unsalted seame seeds and 2 tablespoons of honey. Deliciously sweet!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 02, 2002

This recipe was cut in half although the amount of butter was doubled from 1 tablespoon to 2 tablespoons. I also added 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract and most importantly used two teflon pans to melt the butter and the sugar (made for much easier clean up-NO scrubbing of pans!) Instead of buttering a baking sheet, I lined an 8" square Pyrex pan with parchment paper and used a small piece of parchment paper to spread and smooth the top of the brittle. This part must be done quickly before the mixture hardens but carefully so as not to burn yourself. Looking forward to all kinds of variations of this recipe! Made for SUN & SPICE Event/Veg Tag February.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 20, 2013

The flavor was great. Unlike peanut brittle, it is loaded with the sunflowerseeds. The store only had non-salted dry roasted sunflower seeds. I felt the brittle could of been more salty. Salted seeds would probably take care of this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH January 10, 2004

This was my first attempt at brittle of any kind. I was pleased with the results and it was much easier than I expected. I like that it doesn't require a candy thermometer. I will keep this recipe and definitely make it again. I would like to try some of the seasonings suggested by other reviewers, just for a different taste. But this was a big hit at my sunflower themed event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Ann September 09, 2014

I had never made brittle before, because I was very scared of the process, but your recipe sounded so straight forward that I just had to try it. I must say, I will make this often again: It really is easy if you have time and patience. My sugar took ages to melt, but once it had melted, everything was so easy and quick and my brittle is already ready for eating. YUM! I used a chili flavoured oil to add a bit of heat and find it completements the sweetness from the sugar nicely. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, Sharon. I cant wait to make gift baggies with this.
Made and reviewed for our VIP Veggie Swap # 55 February 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 02, 2013

Simply wonderful... I only had unsalted dry roasted seeds, so I used salted butter... Great recipe for peanut allergies...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAcheryl #2 December 21, 2012

This was my first attempt at making brittle and I wanted to try it for three reasons. First, I L.O.V.E. brittle. Put whatever nuts in it you'd like, I'm going to eat it. Second, I always have the ingredients in my pantry and fridge. Third, and most important, it doesn't require a candy thermometer. (They scare me!) This recipe is the perfect combination of salty and sweet and one that will definitely be made for holiday parties. I'll bet it would be fantastic with a light drizzle of melted semi-sweet chocolate on top. I'll try that next time and let you know how it turns out. Thanks for sharing, Sharon. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 December 01, 2012

This is so easy and good. I doubled the recipe and it made quite a nice batch. I poured it out onto my Silpat sheet and clean up was no fuss. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 01, 2012

This was wonderful! I had no salted sunflower seeds and used 1/2 cup of erythritol and 2 tablespoons honey instead of the sugar, and it turned out soooo good! Thanks for posting this, I'll make it again and again!
Made for Cook-A-Thon for Sharon in memory of her husband.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany October 23, 2010

utterly decadent! used a mix of sunflower and sesame seeds, I cant believe how good this tastes!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills September 02, 2009
Sunflower Seed Brittle