Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sunday Roast Chicken With Apple and Herb Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sunday Roast Chicken With Apple and Herb Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2002

      Tried this today and it was as good as it smelled baking in the oven! The skin was crispy and juicy. I think that is a good idea to bake it breast side down. I used a big roaster(6.5 lbs.). Perfect! Served it with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts. Thank you for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      This was incredible and should be called "To Die for Roast Chicken"! It deserves extra stars. I used a 7.5 lb. chicken (I buy them big because we have a big family :) and doubled the stuffing. Everything about this is great...the gravy, the stuffing and the chicken itself. Before I had this, roast chicken was a boring meal around here. Now I can't wait to have it again! I never roasted a chicken with the breast down, but I think this was the reason the breast meat was so moist when it is usually dry. I cooked it breast down for 1.5 hours and then flipped it over until it was done. My chicken was an oven stuffer roaster with a pop-up timer and I thought it might not pop after being upside down, but it did and the chicken was done to perfection...color gorgeous and skin crispy. The kids were not overly fond of the stuffing because of the lemon zing, but it was perfect for me and my husband. (By the way, I did not double the lemon rind when I doubled the stuffing). One thing that was odd...we did not taste any apple, but maybe that was just my apples (granny smith). Oh, and for anyone who is using a bigger chicken like me, I did not double the butter that was rubbed over the chicken. There was the perfect amount to cover and I think the butter is one of the reasons that the gravy is so good and a rich golden brown. I cannot thank you enough for sharing this recipe, Sharon...it was just awesome! I'll shut up now :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Very lemony. otherwise ok. I would not include lemon the next time I make this. I would rather see the apple flavour shine through more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Absolutely (hands down) the best Sunday Roast Chicken we have had anytime of the week. I followed this exactly and was so easy to put together, and so tasty. The chicken fell of the bone and was beyond delicious. I had one beautiful apple that I used, and just so tasty and great. It didn't take that long to prepare and on this evening a wonderful treat for my family. Thank you so much for posting this Sharon I will be using this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made this for my lunch today instead of a big meal tonight. I can't begin to tell you how juicy my 4 lb. chicken was, and I will be flipping my lil birdies upside down from now on for sure :) I loved the chicken. However, I cooked the stuffing that was outside the bird for 40 mins. and it was dry, even though I covered the casserole dish with aluminum foil. I've never made a stuffing with no liquid in it before, but wanted to follow the recipe exactly. My stuffing looks nothing like the stuffing in Karen's picture, and I followed the recipe to a T, except that I used 12 grain bread instead of white bread, and I did use an extra 1 T. of butter, because it was so dry when mixing. I wasn't crazy about the stuffing at all, but that's my personal preference I guess, so I am giving the 5 stars for the delicious moist tender chicken, and if I were rating the stuffing I would have to say 2 stars, because it was just ok, and not something I would make again. Thanks for sharing Sharon! Linda Made for Comfort Food Photos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This recipe was AMAZING! It was simple to prepare. The only difficult part was flipping the bird, but we had a 7.6lb chicken so that may have been part of why. Both DB and I ate until we couldn't eat another bite. The meat was so tender and flavourful, just fell off the bone. The stuffing was also scrumptious! I can't wait to make some chicken soup with the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Beautiful roast chicken. Usually DH will turn his nose up at any stuffing that I add anything "weird" to (weird includes fruit of any kind). He said that it smelled "really good" while it was cooking and took a small sample of the stuffing, then went back and got a big helping. The chicken was perfectly cooked and the breast stayed moist. I loved the addition of lemon. The whole thing was so good that I even broke down and put some gravy on my stuffing. It was indeed an ideal Sunday dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was an awesome roast chicken! My DH and I loved the stuffing and the chicken was very moist. I forgot the butter but I won't next time. I served this with mashed potatoes and buttered corn. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      I know roast chickens! And take it from me, this one is outstanding! Wonderful flavors and just the right amount of seasoning! The gravy is so rich and creamy! The lemon in the stuffing was divine! Really this whole recipe comes together really well! The only suggestion I would make is to double it.... so you make sure you have plenty of leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      Beautiful, aromatic moist roast chicken recipe - we loved the stuffing, though we didn't get the giblets with our chicken so didn't get to try the gravy. The only change I made (which I personally loved) was to substitute 1/2 a lime, rind and juice, as it was all I had...but it was perfect...seemed to complement the apple flavour (I used a Delicious, which worked for me). Oh, and I was out of butter, so used Nuttelex margarine but was still happy with the taste (though I will try butter next time).The breadcrumbs were made from our favourite homemade(BM) spelt & multigrain bread. This is definitely a keeper, and will be my recipe of choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sunday Roast Chicken With Apple and Herb Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (603 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1108.5
     
    Calories from Fat 714
    64%
    Total Fat 79.4 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 28.6 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 385.1 mg
    128%
    Sodium 599.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 78.4 g
    156%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thyme

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes