8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very versatile and good recipe. They are moist without being dense (like lead moist) as some "carrot cake" like recipes can be. I think this recipe would also make a wonderful 13x9 "snack" cake too. I was left with a half a can of crushed pineapple so I drained it very well and added it to 4oz of cream cheese, a half a stick of butter and about 3 TBL of confectioner sugar to make a butter to go along with the muffins. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyLeeIL August 27, 2005

Wonderful! I substituted applesauce for the oil, they turned out great. 3 weight watchers points this way ;).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh Davis April 04, 2011

soooo... here it was, sunday morning... and i have a bunch of extra carrots i've been wanting to use.... i chose this recipe cuz i had almost all the ingredients handy.... it turned out i was out of pineapple... so, was going to use oj like someone else did.... but then saw a can of mandarins in my pantry... and said "hmmm.. why couldn't i pulse those in the food processor & acheive essentially the same texture as crushed pineapple???" so that's exactly what i did... oh, and i couldn't resist tossing in some raisins.... so, here we go.. 1st bite.. hang on a sec... mmmmm!!! quite good!! not too sweet and a very pleasant texture! i went ahead & put in the pecans altho' i usually prefer my baked goods of the female persuasion (w/o nuts!) ... i had them hanging around from the holidays... and want to try to use them up... i think that since i added the raisins... the nuts could go & wouldn't be missed! :) overall: easy, tasty, versatile!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EAT IN PSG March 02, 2008

While shopping with my aunt a couple of weeks ago, I talked her out of buying packaged mini carrot muffins, price $1.99 CND/dozen. I told her to buy me a bag of carrots and a tin of pineapple and I would make her some. I searched Zaar, and found this recipe. I subsituted slenda brown for the sugar (she is diabetic) and added a little fresh nutmeg, and omitted the nuts. I baked them in mini muffin pans (about 17-18 minutes) and got 4 dozen. She called after I delivered them and asked me to make some more. Guess that rates 5 stars. My family enjoyed a couple too before they were whisked away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking at the Cottage June 17, 2005

These are lovely, tasty, and easy to make muffies. Great for Sunday morning or any morning, for that fact! I did omit the pineapple, and used orange juice, instead, and used zukes in place of carrots. Thanks, Sue, for sharing these little goodies with all of us. Was a pleasure to make for our cook-a-thon for you...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee October 31, 2004

DEEE-lish! This made 12 largish muffins for me. I used carrots and this was a very easy Saturday morning treat. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne October 16, 2004

I liked the fact that this made 2 dozen muffins instead of the usual 1 dozen. Of course, the taste and ease of making them helped make them a 5 star recipe too. Thanks Sue L

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo March 12, 2004

I made these for breakfast this morning using carrots since I had plenty on hand and I wanted to try something new for breakfast today instead of the usual Indian things I make. I used walnuts as a substitute for the pecans. These muffins are really good. Next time I'll remember to hide some for me before serving the rest;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani February 05, 2004
Sunday Morning Muffins