24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Boyfriend loved it. I like it a lot. We made it pretty faithful to the recipe. We did use two turnips (they were in danger of going bad). <br/><br/>I see this as a good jumping point for modifications, later. Next time, I'll cook the beef in red wine and add a few dollops of tomato paste. I want this soup to be more tomatoey.<br/><br/>Also looks like a good receptable for root vegetables needing to be used. Parsnips, beets, whatever. I will also up the barley next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen February 10, 2015

Wow! This was so good my 7yo even ate the onions! Definitely a keeper. I browned the meat, coated in flour, and softened the onions in my wok with olive oil. Then threw everything in the slow cooker. I skipped broccoli and peas as I intend to freeze the ample leftovers and those would get too mushy. For the liquid I threw a bottle of amber ale (Keith's Red Amber) in the wok after frying scraping up the bits, then added consommé to make up the rest of the liquid. And mmmm so yum :D! ETA: I was going to make & review this for Feb TOTM tag game when I realised, I've already done so lol (and spelled flour wrong)! Spelling corrected and will definitely be making again :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! February 25, 2011

An excellent stew that tastes better the next day and freezes well. I used wild game as that is what is in my freezer. Otherwise the recipe is the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom February 22, 2010

This fabulous! I made it last Christmas and everyone loved it! Really has a delicious flavor! I skipped the turnips, and always go a little crazy on the carrots. I wish I could give this more than five stars for just how good it was! Amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broke student January 23, 2010

I love this recipe. With some personal taste changes to the recipe - it was easy to follow and the flavor was so good. The meat melted in our mouths. Even my kids liked it (WOW!) Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiggerkitti October 29, 2009

Excellent. I followed the advice given in some earlier reviews and added Worcestershire sauce and paprika. I also added 6 large mushrooms, sliced. I will make this for my wife's outdoor birthday party this month!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Picky_Cat September 10, 2009

This was amazing, I loved it so did my husband. Unfortunately I did not have all the ingredients such as brocolli, pearl of barley or celery. I used stock water and also rolled the beef in flour, salt and pepper as suggested by Lazy Chef 2, it was delicious and definitely an autumn winter staple in our household, many thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maplecottage August 31, 2009

I've made this a dozen times and can't believe I forgot to rate it! I have made some changes from the original recipe posted that we love. I don't add the broccoli, turnip and barley. I add diced tomatoes with jalapenos, 1 cup of green beans, use beef broth instead of water. I aded 2 tsp worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp kitchen bouquet, 1 tsp of paprika, 1 tsp salt free all purpose seasonings and a sprikle of old bay. I also coat the beef in flour, pepper and the paprika before adding to the pan. I have made this in the crockpot with good success as well. Thanks so much for posting this marvelous recipe...I will continue to make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 April 28, 2009

Top notch hearty flavor nice mix of levels of complexity. I used Chuck roast and substituted parsnips for turnips. I also added chicken stock and button mushrooms. WOW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitakola April 06, 2009

sounds good , i will make it. but i know its gonna be good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxyssalami2001 March 04, 2009
Sun of a Gun Beef Stew