Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sun of a Gun Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sun of a Gun Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2011

      Wow! This was so good my 7yo even ate the onions! Definitely a keeper. I browned the meat, coated in flour, and softened the onions in my wok with olive oil. Then threw everything in the slow cooker. I skipped broccoli and peas as I intend to freeze the ample leftovers and those would get too mushy. For the liquid I threw a bottle of amber ale (Keith's Red Amber) in the wok after frying scraping up the bits, then added consommé to make up the rest of the liquid. And mmmm so yum :D! ETA: I was going to make & review this for Feb TOTM tag game when I realised, I've already done so lol (and spelled flour wrong)! Spelling corrected and will definitely be making again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      An excellent stew that tastes better the next day and freezes well. I used wild game as that is what is in my freezer. Otherwise the recipe is the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This fabulous! I made it last Christmas and everyone loved it! Really has a delicious flavor! I skipped the turnips, and always go a little crazy on the carrots. I wish I could give this more than five stars for just how good it was! Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I love this recipe. With some personal taste changes to the recipe - it was easy to follow and the flavor was so good. The meat melted in our mouths. Even my kids liked it (WOW!) Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Excellent. I followed the advice given in some earlier reviews and added Worcestershire sauce and paprika. I also added 6 large mushrooms, sliced. I will make this for my wife's outdoor birthday party this month!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was amazing, I loved it so did my husband. Unfortunately I did not have all the ingredients such as brocolli, pearl of barley or celery. I used stock water and also rolled the beef in flour, salt and pepper as suggested by Lazy Chef 2, it was delicious and definitely an autumn winter staple in our household, many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I've made this a dozen times and can't believe I forgot to rate it! I have made some changes from the original recipe posted that we love. I don't add the broccoli, turnip and barley. I add diced tomatoes with jalapenos, 1 cup of green beans, use beef broth instead of water. I aded 2 tsp worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp kitchen bouquet, 1 tsp of paprika, 1 tsp salt free all purpose seasonings and a sprikle of old bay. I also coat the beef in flour, pepper and the paprika before adding to the pan. I have made this in the crockpot with good success as well. Thanks so much for posting this marvelous recipe...I will continue to make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Top notch hearty flavor nice mix of levels of complexity. I used Chuck roast and substituted parsnips for turnips. I also added chicken stock and button mushrooms. WOW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      sounds good , i will make it. but i know its gonna be good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Very tastey! I did change a couple of things though. I added 2 cloves of garlic and used beef boullion in the water (also did not add salt since boullion is salty). I did not have a full 2 lbs of london broil, so I was afraid of not getting enough beef taste. Next time, I will use some beef stock instead of the boullion and probably 2 cups of corn. I loooove corn in beef stew. But overall, the spices and tastes were great. Great starting off point to make this recipe a little more to my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Very good stew. However the beef was overcooked and very dry at the end. Next time I will probably only cook it for 1 hour initially, and reduce the S&P to 2 tsps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Fairly easy recipe. Cook it on a crockpot instead (because I didn't realize this was for dutch oven which I don't have). Browned meat and onions, then threw it into pot with everything else and cooked on high for 5 hours. Delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Very good stew. I used less liquid and it was too salty; I will use less salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      My only regret was cutting this recipe in half because I cook for two. We would have happily eaten this for a couple more days! When I make this again (and I will!) I will cook up the full pot and freeze half. I left out the potatoes and added frozen turnip greens with diced turnips to make up the veggie volume with excellent results. I also had great fun cutting the meat up into the little squares. Thank you Riffraff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      In all honesty, this recipe is what you make of it. I threw in any vegetables I had rather than buy what was listed on the recipe. I used a mixture of beef stock and water. That is the idea. I cooked mine in a slow cooker as it suits me to put everything in the cooker and walk away, come back to thicken and serve. Simple, hearty,yummy & nutritional. A must have winter meal to protect you from the winter bugs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Great stew and very meaty with two lbs of london broil. I used two cloves of garlic but no broccoli or turnips. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Definately a hearty, tasty and filling meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Wonderful stew. Couple of hints...Peel Red Skin Potatoes, they hold up much better in recipes that have long cooking times. Make it the day before and chill all night. Add the Corn Starch when you heat it up the next day. I also did not use broccoli or turnips, there was plenty of other veggies. Make a salad and some rolls and Yum!! You'll keep eating even though your full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      All I can say is...WOW!!! What a delicious recipe! It far exceeded my expectations, will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I wish I had a Dutch Oven! I halved all the ingredients except the tomatoes, onions & garlic, and omitted the optionals & celery so that all would fit into my 5 qt crockpot (4 hrs on high). I also went just shy on the pepper AND threw everything in at once. The stew had a very pleasant flavor and was hearty & wholesome to say the least. This will certainly fill a hollow leg and, even halved, will satisfy an army of hungry cowboys!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Really good on a cold day. I switched the peas for green beans, personal preferance, and didn't add turnips or broccoli. I also didn't use London broil, was in a hurry so just bought already cut stew meat and it came out really tender. This won't be the last time we'll be enjoying this stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sun of a Gun Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (6375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3294.7
     
    Calories from Fat 640
    19%
    Total Fat 71.1 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 28.2 g
    141%
    Cholesterol 589.6 mg
    196%
    Sodium 9166.5 mg
    381%
    Total Carbohydrate 422.8 g
    140%
    Dietary Fiber 71.9 g
    287%
    Sugars 56.2 g
    224%
    Protein 249.6 g
    499%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes