Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2002

      Great recipe for the tomatoe/pestosauce. I marinated a veal chop with about a teaspoon and a half on each side of the chop, placed it on tinfoil in a pyrex dish. closed the tinfoil - 350F oven for 20 minutes, opened the foil, added additional parmesan and continued to cook it. Broil the last few minutes if necessary to brown the cheese. I served this with buttered linguine and added 2 tbsp of crumbled blue cheese MMMmmmm I also did Brussels sprouts in garlic butter by TraceyK. A very enjoyable dinner Thank-you Mirjam & TraceyK. UPDATE: Last week I used this sauce on a veal chop and Sat night I made a thin crust pizza, mixed this sauce half & half with pizza sauce then added pepporoni, mushrooms, mozzarella, chopped fresh tomatoes, olives and anchovies - A pizza to die for. Mirjam this sauce has so many uses I thinks a jar will be in my fridge all the time Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Absolutely delicious, and the scalloped potato recipe that goes with this is just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I love this recipe! I had only 1 cup of sun-dried tomatoes, so I substituted the other cup with roasted red bell peppers. Since they are mildly flavored in comparison to sun-dried tomatoes, I don't believe they could do much to dilute the robust flavor. Red peppers have a TON of vitamin C, so I think they made the pesto more nutritional. Also, I didn't have parsley leaves so I left them out. Even so, WOW! I served it over wide egg noodles. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Great recipe Mirj!! I made a few changes, I added extra garlic and olive oil and doubled up on the basil since I didn't have any fresh parsley at home. This pesto was so delicious. Next time I plan to try Bergy's suggestion and add the pesto to my pizza sauce. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      Yum!!! A great variation on regular pesto.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Love this pesto. I'm slightly obsessed. I make it for everyone. The two garlic cloves was a bit too strong for me. I only add one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Very tasty and very easy to make!! I only had one cup of tomatoes, but it still turned out great. I used the pesto on top of some pizza, and it was DELICIOUS!! I just made it, but have many plans for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      To die for! I added a handful of almonds to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      SUPER tasty. . .I had to add 1 cup of oil, mine was very dry. I used roasted garlic, so I added 6 cloves which still gave it a VERY mild flavor. I am putting this in jars and giving it out as Christmas gifts :) Thanks! UPDATE: This is great turned into a spaghetti sauce by mixing 1/2 cup of the pesto with a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It is also great used in an omelet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I am amazed that this recipe hasn't been review more times because it is fantastic! I served it with sauted chicken cutlets and pasta and it was fantastic. Because I have a bumper crop of tomatoes and basil I served this salad on the side, which is also delicious "Tomato Salad With Fresh Basil Dressing". Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I have made this twice now and it is excellent! I follow the recipe exactly, except I use 1 tablespoon of minced garlic. I marinated chicken in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, onions, salt and pepper and then cooked it on medium heat (with sweet onions). I combined some of the pesto with tomato sauce and some chicken broth (to make it more moist) and added it to the chicken. I let it simmer on medium-low heat for 10 minutes and served it over whole wheat pasta. My husband and I both loved it! I have also used it to stuff chicken breasts, and my husband put it over a steak he grilled! Very versatile and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      wow wow wow!! i ate half of it straight out of the food processor. i will always make this pesto. i can't say enough how delicous this was. served with pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Fabulous topping for pork chops...I think next time I make this I am going to stuff chicken breasts with it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This really IS the best Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto! I've made this several times now for having with bread and snacks and also stuffed chicken with the pesto. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Best Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto EVER! I made this for the recipe "Scalloped Potatoes with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto" (delicious!) and the flavor is so much better than any store bought I've ever had. There was extra left over, so I put it out with some thin-sliced Italian bread when friends came over and it disappeared in no time! Everyone loves it! Thanks so much for this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Fantastic. I added it to a chicken, corn and pea risotto dish. I cooked the risotto as I normally would, and stirred the pesto through at the same time as stirring through the parmesan cheese, i.e. when the risotto was almost ready to serve. I used a bit less than 1 teaspoon (of pesto) per serving. It gave the risotto a tasty lift, whilst not making it a total "tomato risotto". The rest has gone on crackers. Even my almost 2 year old daughter is requesting "More pesto Dad!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Great recipe! I used it on the grilled chicken breasts. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      This is great. we love it. I have had it on both hot and cold pasta - wonderful for both. I will be making it again, however i may spice it up just a little as it is very mild. However i was disappointed as it really only lasted about 2 weeks in the fridge before a suprising layer of mould appeared!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Loved it. Wish I could say I came up with an interesting way to serve it but it was gone in no time as topping with a box of crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This recipe was simple to make, delicious, and versatile. What more could you want? I will make it again and again. I spread it on crostini topped with fresh mozarella as an appetizer. It is good cold or warmed (to make the cheese melt).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.4
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    64%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 475.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes