8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I tried this recipe last night in order to use up leftover turkey. Since the meat was already cooked I warmed up turkey stock (made the night prior) and white wine (sherry) in a pot and added the tomatoes for about 10 minutes. Then I added cut up turkey breast to warm it through. I used a mayo/sour cream mix (full fat for all) at about 3/4 cup. The key is a good cheese (I used Parmigiano-Reggiano since that's what I had). I didn't have the shallots so used green onion. The pine nuts add a nice crunch, could probably use walnuts if that's what you have handy. The dish was really yummy; I served on Boston bib instead of spinach. I'll make this again, it's great for low carb dieters like me. It was good with the turkey and I'm sure will be just as yummy with chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather H. December 02, 2014

Wow! This is some yummy chicken salad. I had left over cooked chicken and was searching for a recipe when I found yours. I omitted the cheese and added 1-2 teaspoons of wine to make up for not cooking with it. I loved the sun dried tomato and pine nuts in this. I also liked that it is light on the mayo (and I used low fat mayo). I realized after I ate it that I forgot to put the shallot in, oh well! This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 18, 2008

Wonderful Complementary Flavors! We really loved this chicken salad! I used vermouth to cook the chicken and the flavor of the wine was brilliant in the salad. The only thing I would do next time is to decrease the amount of shallots used, but it was just awesome! Good Luck Chef!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 29, 2008

This was a delicious recipe. I made sandwiches with it using croussaints. It would make a great salad for a bridal or baby shower. Loved the addition of the pine nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manalee February 25, 2008

Five Stars. This is a great recipe and fairly simple to make. I added a pinch of dried Basil to give it a bit more zip but otherwise, went with it as directed. I served it twice: first time on local artisan multigrain bread with shredded Romaine as a sandwich; and second, was on a bed of Bibb and Boston lettuces with some crusty Italian bread. Both times, the flavor came through beautifully. Recommend this to anyone wanting an elegant and tasty alternative to your usual Chicken Salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kayce February 24, 2008

As someone who absolutely LOVES any type of chicken salad, this one has quickly moved to the top of the list! The flavors of the Asiago cheese and chicken were wonderful. I liked the fact that the ingredients were easy to find and simple to combine. It will be easy to prepare for a quick potluck dish. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Rosholt February 23, 2008

4 stars. This made a really good lunch! I had it on a sandwich with sourdough and it went together perfectly. I had to cook my chicken much longer because I used large chicken breasts. I liked how the tomatoes picked up some of the wine flavor making them even more delicious. Great job and good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog February 23, 2008

If I could give this more stars I would. This is, to quote a sampler "the best chicken salad I have ever eaten"! I have to agree! Wonderful and I plan to make again and again. Thanks for the marvelous recipe! Made for RSC #11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff February 22, 2008
Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Salad