24 Reviews

This is a recipe I make all the time so it is only right that I give it the 5 stars it deserves. Tonight I decided to make it but didn't have the whipping cream so I substituted half and half and it was still just as fabulous. I use 2 Tbsp of flour and 2 Tbsp of butter as I like mine on the thick side and extra sugar. YUMMY! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee-Dee B May 17, 2009

This recipe is amazing! I add 2 tablespoons of flour and butter. I like it thick! This has become a staple in our household with steaks or prime ribs. Definitely recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesanglgrl January 28, 2015

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Summit House 18 years ago. We would go there every year for our anniversary and they served us this creamed corn. I was so excited they offered the recipe while leaving the restaurant! I LOVE this creamed corn! My family and friends request that I make it every year for Thanksgiving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
em.massey3 November 27, 2013

Made this as written to go with a ham steak - it was excellent! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skooch March 28, 2013

This is my favorite side dish. I wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief Scullery Engineer March 27, 2013

Made this last night and wow was it good. I halved the recipe, didn't add the parmesan or broil it and it was delicious!!!! Only had 4 ounces of whipping cream so added whole milk to make up the difference.....absolutely delicious!!! Thanks for sharing. For some reson my 5 stars didn't show up so I'm trying it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 January 22, 2012

I'm pretty sure that when I die and go to heaven, this dish will be served on Sundays because up there the calories and fat won't count. In the meantime, I took this dish to a Church potluck tonight and got rave reviews. Fortunately for me, there was just a tiny bit of leftovers to take home. Thanks for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration September 10, 2011

This is very good, but my husband prefers my usual corn pudding (made with eggs). Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant May 01, 2011

I made this for a family dinner and it was the star of the show! Everyone commented on how delicious this corn casserole was, and wanted the recipe also! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and doubled the mixture for the roux in order to make it thicker - other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully! (I even made it the night before since time was going to be tight the next day. I LOVE dishes that can be made or prepped the day before to save time and oven space.) My mother-in-law has always had the distinction in the family of making the most phenomenal cream corn...until now!!! :D Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Owned by a Westie December 08, 2010

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the first thing to disappear! Everyone loved it. FIL is gluten intolerant so I sub corn starch for the flour! Mmmm, making again at Christmas by request!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairestoneofall December 22, 2009
Summit House Classic Creamed Corn Au Gratin