Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summit House Classic Creamed Corn Au Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summit House Classic Creamed Corn Au Gratin

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2009

      This is a recipe I make all the time so it is only right that I give it the 5 stars it deserves. Tonight I decided to make it but didn't have the whipping cream so I substituted half and half and it was still just as fabulous. I use 2 Tbsp of flour and 2 Tbsp of butter as I like mine on the thick side and extra sugar. YUMMY! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Summit House 18 years ago. We would go there every year for our anniversary and they served us this creamed corn. I was so excited they offered the recipe while leaving the restaurant! I LOVE this creamed corn! My family and friends request that I make it every year for Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Made this as written to go with a ham steak - it was excellent! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      This is my favorite side dish. I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Made this last night and wow was it good. I halved the recipe, didn't add the parmesan or broil it and it was delicious!!!! Only had 4 ounces of whipping cream so added whole milk to make up the difference.....absolutely delicious!!! Thanks for sharing. For some reson my 5 stars didn't show up so I'm trying it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I'm pretty sure that when I die and go to heaven, this dish will be served on Sundays because up there the calories and fat won't count. In the meantime, I took this dish to a Church potluck tonight and got rave reviews. Fortunately for me, there was just a tiny bit of leftovers to take home. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      This is very good, but my husband prefers my usual corn pudding (made with eggs). Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I made this for a family dinner and it was the star of the show! Everyone commented on how delicious this corn casserole was, and wanted the recipe also! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and doubled the mixture for the roux in order to make it thicker - other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully! (I even made it the night before since time was going to be tight the next day. I LOVE dishes that can be made or prepped the day before to save time and oven space.) My mother-in-law has always had the distinction in the family of making the most phenomenal cream corn...until now!!! :D Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the first thing to disappear! Everyone loved it. FIL is gluten intolerant so I sub corn starch for the flour! Mmmm, making again at Christmas by request!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Summit House is great. Wish they had more recipes on their web site! (www.summithouse.net) I have tried making the Lawry's creamed corn, which is similar, but after adding parmesan and browning it in a broiler, the kids would not eat it. I would skip the parmesan or go light on it. I added more after reading the reviews, and I shouldn't have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. Soooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      my family devoured this at our early Thanksgiving. I've made this twice now, once subbing a can of evaporated milk for the whipping cream, once adding extra butter and using regular milk. Went over great both times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Quick,easy and the kids loved it! I used sweet frozen corn so I eliminated the sugar and I put alot more of the parmesan cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Ohhhhhhhhh, soooooooo, gooooooooood! Thnx so much for posting, Pauline. One of the best corn dishes I've had. I used corn from the cobs that I had frozen last year. Will have this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      I don't know why this doesn't have more reviews!!! This was phenomenal! Our frozen corn was very sweet, so I only added about 1 tsp. of sugar. AND in an effort to make it less fattening, I used 1% milk and only 2 tsp butter and 2 tsp flour. It was still rich and creamy! Definitely a company worthy dish! Thanks for posting! PS - updated to add - my family actually enjoys this better without the parm cheese - better taste and less fat YEAH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This is clearly the best corn dish I have ever tasted! I highly recommend using fresh corn if it is available to you. This will make it to my holiday dinner next Thanksgiving for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Yummy!!!! I used fresh corn on the cob from our farmers market. Everyone raved about it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I've had this many times before at the wonderful restaurant, but just had them last night at home and they were just as good! So EASY too. Add extra parmesan...you can never have too much cheese! Also-the broiler adds just the right amount of browning to the dish and bakes up the cheese on top just right-Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      This was great..one of the side dishes I made for Christmas dinner..enjoyed by everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      This is fantastic,thanks for a great tasting recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summit House Classic Creamed Corn Au Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.8
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    71%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 87.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 464.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites