Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summertime Grilled Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summertime Grilled Onions

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2002

      This was fantastic! When we cook outdoors in the summertime, I am always looking for new ways to use fresh produce. This was so easy, and the flavors were wonderful together. It was easy to throw on the grill with the meat being smoked. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I will definately use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      Being an onion lover I just had to rate this one. A five big time! I had 9 adults and 5 children over for a cook out Sunday. I fixed 5 of these and when the first one was opened and placed on the platter, the other four were history. One little 4 year old girl who HATES onion even ate almost a half of one by itself. This is without a doubt a must at a cookout. Thank you sooo much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I've been making these LONG before I found this recipe. I don't use the butter, the onions make their own juice which is enough to make the bouillon dissolve but I simply adore these. Have had people who tell me they don't like onions try these and have also loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      This was just okay for us. I used two medium Vidalia onions and cooked them on medium for 35 minutes and they turned out very mushy and very sweet. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      These were Very good. I only cooked one (Vidalia) to split between DH and myself and started it in the microwave for 2 minutes just to give it a head start. Next time I will use 1/2 a bouillon cube for each onion. Yummy! Made for Grilling Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Very good with a steak. Started them in the oven but finished on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Perfectly delicious! Gotta add some minced garlic with the bouillon as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      DELICIOUS, these are too good to be diet food!! They're going to be on the grill every time we barbecue from now on!! WOW! DH said they tasted like french onion soup (I used a beef bouillon cube). Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      BF simply adores these. They're his favorite thing to grill. I use about a teaspoon of vegetable bouillon paste in each with a pat of margarine over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I've made this using vidalia, and also regular yellow onions, both making for an excellent side dish. Once baked, this isn't overwlemingly onion-y, it's just the perfect flavor. Thanks redhead, now I crave these onions ALL the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Easy and Yummy! I used a large Vidalia and hollowed out the center with a melon baller. I increased the butter to 1 tablespoon and used "Better Than Bouillon" chicken flavor. http://www.superiortouch.com/btb.htm The onion came out nice and soft, with a beautiful yellow tone to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We have been making these onions for years! They are awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Hell yah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

    • on August 27, 2007

      Wonderful! This recipe was suggested by a friend and I was happy to find it posted here already. Used beef bouillon granules with great results. Makes a delicious side dish with next to no preparation. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      These were great! I was in a hurry for them to cook on the grill so I sliced two onions (thick slices), added the butter and to one packet I put chicken bouillon and to the other packet beef bouillon. They both were very tasty. Next time I will try hollowing out the center with a tad less bouillon to cut back on the salt. Thanks for the great way to use some of my onions from the garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      omg! i love this! i didn't add the butter but it still tastes so great.i baked it in the oven instead of on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      I love this recipe - simple ingredients, an ease to prepare & a real tasty addition to our bbq steaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Yum! Yum! I have made these on the grill and over the campfire. The flavor is always awesome. The sweetness of the onions is complimented by the savory of the boullin. I have used reduced-sodium boullin, too. Beef bouillon works well, too. A great companion to any grilled meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Totally loved them! Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summertime Grilled Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.4
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    44%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 773.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes