18 Reviews

Great alternative to mushy cooked down sqush! Loved the recipe, very refreshing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily_meeks June 09, 2009

My four year old and I loved this! So easy and simple well expect the blender part :) but yummy and healthy it's a winner! I used Greek yogurt Didn't think about the texture being different than normal. I liked it still and I added the hot sauce separately and loved it! Either way it's great! Thank you! This was my favorite recipe of the 2 I tried, may add leeks sliced and sauted in butter, a little milk and poultry seasoning if doing a double batch because I did like that flavor from the other re pie but liked the overal texture and taste of this recipe more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m September 16, 2013

Great way to use up squash! Easy to make, tasty, and pretty. I topped the soup with cherry tomatoes, sliced green onions, and croutons to make it a little more substantial. I made it with the hot sauce, but next time will omit as it just seemed a little at odds with the taste of the squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook August 04, 2011

This is an absolutely delicious way to cope with being overrun with squash from the CSA. This is a great way to use some of it and I definitely plan on freezing the soup. DH and I loved it and it is quick and easy. The quantity just about overflowed my blender. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou July 14, 2011

My son gave me a LOAD of summer squash and I can hardly stand to let food go to waste. I froze a bunch, have grilled some, then came across this recipe. I thought "Another way to use up excess squash". But just tasted it (it is literally still in the blender) and am so impressed. Can't keep my spoon out of it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvBeinHere June 28, 2010

I hate to be the first one to give this recipe less than 5 stars, and it's probably just a matter of my taste. The soup was a little sharp. I guess I had expected something more delicate (maybe it was the yogurt I used--plain greek yogurt). I added some garlic powder and about 1/4 cup half and half and it was much better. I ate it hot, so it might also be different if I let the flavors meld a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paradox July 07, 2009

Easy to make and very tasty! Love it hot or cold, when i serve it hot I crumble some Rivita multigrain crackers over top for a little crunch. Compliments the lovely velvety texture of this soup. I used organic chicken stock instead of boullion, a personal preference. Thanks for the great recipe, I needed ideas for using the abundance of suash in the garden!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue September 04, 2008

DELICIOUS! EASY! HEALTHY! what else do you want??? definitely use an immersion blender if you have one - makes it so easy-peasy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eunjung July 01, 2008

Great soup and so easy to make!! I've never even seen squash soup in person, but I knew about it and I wanted to try it, since I'm a fan of squash. This was a quick and easy dish. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annalyn June 24, 2008

I've been trying to teach myself to like squash for a while with limited success. This soup is, in a word, AWESOME. I love the texture and the fact that it is very mild and can be very easily modified with a little spice. I did not add the hot sauce, judging from the postings of others. I ate a little while hot, but I like to let it sit a while and let the flavors meld - I wanted to review before then to gush about this super healthful soup, very filling, and tastes really, REALLY good. Thank you Tonkcats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen March 15, 2008
Summer Squash Soup