Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summer Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summer Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2009

      Great alternative to mushy cooked down sqush! Loved the recipe, very refreshing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      My four year old and I loved this! So easy and simple well expect the blender part :) but yummy and healthy it's a winner! I used Greek yogurt Didn't think about the texture being different than normal. I liked it still and I added the hot sauce separately and loved it! Either way it's great! Thank you! This was my favorite recipe of the 2 I tried, may add leeks sliced and sauted in butter, a little milk and poultry seasoning if doing a double batch because I did like that flavor from the other re pie but liked the overal texture and taste of this recipe more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Great way to use up squash! Easy to make, tasty, and pretty. I topped the soup with cherry tomatoes, sliced green onions, and croutons to make it a little more substantial. I made it with the hot sauce, but next time will omit as it just seemed a little at odds with the taste of the squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This is an absolutely delicious way to cope with being overrun with squash from the CSA. This is a great way to use some of it and I definitely plan on freezing the soup. DH and I loved it and it is quick and easy. The quantity just about overflowed my blender. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      My son gave me a LOAD of summer squash and I can hardly stand to let food go to waste. I froze a bunch, have grilled some, then came across this recipe. I thought "Another way to use up excess squash". But just tasted it (it is literally still in the blender) and am so impressed. Can't keep my spoon out of it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I hate to be the first one to give this recipe less than 5 stars, and it's probably just a matter of my taste. The soup was a little sharp. I guess I had expected something more delicate (maybe it was the yogurt I used--plain greek yogurt). I added some garlic powder and about 1/4 cup half and half and it was much better. I ate it hot, so it might also be different if I let the flavors meld a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Easy to make and very tasty! Love it hot or cold, when i serve it hot I crumble some Rivita multigrain crackers over top for a little crunch. Compliments the lovely velvety texture of this soup. I used organic chicken stock instead of boullion, a personal preference. Thanks for the great recipe, I needed ideas for using the abundance of suash in the garden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      DELICIOUS! EASY! HEALTHY! what else do you want??? definitely use an immersion blender if you have one - makes it so easy-peasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Great soup and so easy to make!! I've never even seen squash soup in person, but I knew about it and I wanted to try it, since I'm a fan of squash. This was a quick and easy dish. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I've been trying to teach myself to like squash for a while with limited success. This soup is, in a word, AWESOME. I love the texture and the fact that it is very mild and can be very easily modified with a little spice. I did not add the hot sauce, judging from the postings of others. I ate a little while hot, but I like to let it sit a while and let the flavors meld - I wanted to review before then to gush about this super healthful soup, very filling, and tastes really, REALLY good. Thank you Tonkcats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

    • on October 09, 2007

      I thought this was very good and I don't even like yellow squash or zuccini. I will definitely be making this one again. The only thing I will do differently is to leave out the hot sauce. I love hot sauce but for me it just doesn't go with the soup. This was very easy to make also. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      i adored this. the consistency takes a little getting used to, but this probably has to do with my measurements being a little off after i either tripled or quadrupled the recipe (a lot of zucchini this time of year). i also added a whole tsp of hot sauce for extra kick, and i don't regret it. in short, an excellent recipe that's apparently hard to mess up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This is GOOD soup! Very quick and easy to make. I used chicken broth, as I had an abundance of it, & added a little more hot sauce. I really enjoy this soup cold, with a little bit of parmesan chees sprinkled on top. Very refreshing in hot weather!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Though this obviously does not need another 5 star review, I'm going to add it anyways- I ate this entire recipe by mself after eating it! Then again, this recipe only made about 2.75 cups for me, though I followed directions word for word. Strange. Anyways, I wasn't sure how much chicken broth to use, (Sorry! New to cooking here, hehe.) So I just used 2 tablespoons. I'm glad I didn't change that, I wouldn't have altered a thing.. except for maybe doubling or even tripling this lovely recipe, though I'm cooking for just myself. Thnaks you, Tonkcats- I'll DEFINITELY be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I used chicken broth instead of the water/bouillon. Added a potato. Yummy and surprisingly filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      very nice soup...easy to make. I made no substitutions and have enjoyed it for lunch, and frozen more for those cold winter months! Excellent recipe! thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      Very easy to make and very tasty. I used 1/2 fat cream instead of yogurt, and 1 yellow and 1 green squash for nice color. This is a great way to use up all that summer squash in the garden. I plan to freeze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summer Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.3
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    23%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 738.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites