Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Summer Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Summer Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2001

      This tastes just like what my mom makes. It's a great squash recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      This is the same as my Nanny used to make. She never seeded the squash. Also her recipe says Ritz or any other cracker. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      I can definitely tell that this had potential, but something didn't quite work well with mine. It came out too mushy and oily. I melted the butter so maybe that was the problem. Or maybe I didn't drain the squash well enough after boiling it. In the end, it just seemed like there was too much butter. I may try it again or read through more reviews to see if there is a solution to my problem because I can tell that otherwise the taste would be very yummy, reminiscent a bit of butternut squash bisque. Also, I see that some people say the onion wasn't cooked well enough - that wasn't a problem for me. I used my slap chop to make it really fine, perhaps they just need to be really tiny pieces in order to be cooked all the way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I didn't saute the onions, like some people suggested, but anyone one doesn't like strong onions, should saute them first. I also added half of a small can of chopped chilies, it turned our great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      This is a great squash casserole. I really liked the use of the Ritz crackers. Next time I will use less cheese on top, I actually liked it without the cheese but the family liked it so I will just use less next time. Thank you for this yummy casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      This was a great recipe. I fixed this recipe for lunch. The children and I really enjoyed it (there was none left). I used a combination of yellow squash, zucchini, and patty pan squash. I used a steamer to cook the squash. I added seasoned salt to the squash as I cooked it. The onions were not cooked completely, but we liked them that way. I will definitely fix the dish again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      This was so delicious! I added 1 1.2 tsp. of sugar and did not peel or de-seed the squash. I just diced it using my onion chopper. I'll definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Wife and I tried this tonight and it was delicious (and oh so easy). I added a little chopped green pepper that I had on hand for some more taste. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I had a request for squash for Thanksgiving dinner so I made this. And it was really delicious! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This recpie was great!! I followed others advise and sauteed the onions then added them. I also added some garlic powder and 4 slices of crumbled bacon. Excellant recipe. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Delicious squash casserole! Simple and uncomplicated and no cream of whatever soup. The only reason I am giving four stars is I think it needs more cracker crumbs to bind it a little tighter. I used a little cheddar in the mixture in addition to what was sprinkled on top but it was still a little runny for my tastes but that is just me. Great recipe and it deserves all of the accolades it has received.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      OMG this is awesome! We love squash anyway but this casserole it delicious. I used a whole sleeve of crackers and also subbed 1/2 cup of milk in place of the butter. We will definitely be having this alot in the summer. Thank you for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Wonderful, I love the simplicity. When making a casserole with cheese on top I always bake with a lid up until the last five minutes, then remove the lid so the cheese can get browned. Otherwise sometimes I have issues with the cheese getting hard and rubbery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Such a great recipe, two things I did different, sauteed the onions and as other reviewers mentioned, added some cheese to casserole as I mixed it. Very easy to prepare. Done in exactly 25 minutes. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Yummy, my family loved it! I did not mash up the squash, but cut it in small cubes, steamed it, then added the rest and baked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      I agree with jennifer78 as to great tasting. I only rinsed the squash and did not bother to peel or de-seed and you might want to add a few more crackers to soak up the butter. Will for sure be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I made this 2 nights ago for a family cookout & everyone RAVED about it - it was SO SO GOOD! I think the crackers really add a lot to it. I didn't peel or seed the squash though & it was just fine. I used zuchini b/c that's all I had & it was DELICIOUS! :) Thanks so much for a keeper recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      My family really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to prepare and the taste was so good. I used cheddar cheese and will use another reviewer's suggestion and add bacon next time I make this. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      Yum, i didn't use ritz crackers but i used club crackers instead and added in some bacon. I used sharp cheddar cheese but I would like to try this with some colby cheese too. This turned out very good for thanksgiving dinner and everyone raved about how good it was. I will be making it again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      I HATE SQUASH...or so that's what they thought until they tasted this casserole. My brother is getting married and is having a pre-wedding dinner party on the 4th. He actually specifically asked his non-cooking sister for this dish. Oh, by the way...us Georgians use young squash, so, there is no need for the peeling and seeding. I also mix the cheese with the casserole mixture of Step 3 as well as sprinkling on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Summer Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.6
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    77%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 129.7 mg
    43%
    Sodium 443.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites