72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tastes just like what my mom makes. It's a great squash recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton October 31, 2001

This is the same as my Nanny used to make. She never seeded the squash. Also her recipe says Ritz or any other cracker. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robinjoy October 07, 2003

I can definitely tell that this had potential, but something didn't quite work well with mine. It came out too mushy and oily. I melted the butter so maybe that was the problem. Or maybe I didn't drain the squash well enough after boiling it. In the end, it just seemed like there was too much butter. I may try it again or read through more reviews to see if there is a solution to my problem because I can tell that otherwise the taste would be very yummy, reminiscent a bit of butternut squash bisque. Also, I see that some people say the onion wasn't cooked well enough - that wasn't a problem for me. I used my slap chop to make it really fine, perhaps they just need to be really tiny pieces in order to be cooked all the way through.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alecia Pearl July 08, 2010

This is a great recipe. I didn't saute the onions, like some people suggested, but anyone one doesn't like strong onions, should saute them first. I also added half of a small can of chopped chilies, it turned our great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hippie Girl March 27, 2010

This recpie was great!! I followed others advise and sauteed the onions then added them. I also added some garlic powder and 4 slices of crumbled bacon. Excellant recipe. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope2day July 26, 2009

OMG this is awesome! We love squash anyway but this casserole it delicious. I used a whole sleeve of crackers and also subbed 1/2 cup of milk in place of the butter. We will definitely be having this alot in the summer. Thank you for the recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis August 11, 2008

This is a great squash casserole. I really liked the use of the Ritz crackers. Next time I will use less cheese on top, I actually liked it without the cheese but the family liked it so I will just use less next time. Thank you for this yummy casserole.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 24, 2011

This was a great recipe. I fixed this recipe for lunch. The children and I really enjoyed it (there was none left). I used a combination of yellow squash, zucchini, and patty pan squash. I used a steamer to cook the squash. I added seasoned salt to the squash as I cooked it. The onions were not cooked completely, but we liked them that way. I will definitely fix the dish again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelleg June 10, 2011

This was so delicious! I added 1 1.2 tsp. of sugar and did not peel or de-seed the squash. I just diced it using my onion chopper. I'll definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun June 23, 2010

Wife and I tried this tonight and it was delicious (and oh so easy). I added a little chopped green pepper that I had on hand for some more taste. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebbtide May 18, 2010
Summer Squash Casserole